We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (476)
Filter reviews
476 results
Traveller rating
373
92
8
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
373
92
8
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews smoked haddock farne islands eggs benedict small hotel fresh fruit friday and saturday fabulous views top floor excellent hotel overlooking the sea two nights holy island full english main building great position hotel is situated a real gem
Filter
Updating list...
233 - 238 of 476 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2015

We again journeyed to St Aidan Hotel hoping that the new owners would be maintaining the high standards set in previous years. We were not disappointed! Rob and Tegan had much to live up to and, although the public rooms and bedrooms had all been given a new look, the standard of accommodation and welcome was just as high. Our only initial regret was that they had turned the former comfortable lounge into part of the new Bistro, but that was more than compensated for by the excellent standard of food and ambience provided on a Thursday, Friday and Saturday evening in that new style Bistro. They have obviously worked very hard in this their first year, and if anyone wants a warm welcome, superb food and outstanding location on the coast overlooking the Farne Islands, Bamburgh Castle and Holy Island in the distance, then make a beeline for St Aidan Hotel, Seahouses.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2015

I was looking for a Hotel on the Coast, with Sea Views, and a base from which to explore the Castles. I found that - and the perfect stay. Just faultless. Rob and Tegan who run Seahouses are just wonderful - completely welcoming and helpful with accommodation changes, sight seeing and restaurant recommendations. The Hotel itself is airy inside with a beach/nautical feel and the views from the windows in the bar/ restaurant and the rooms are breathtaking. The sense of beauty and calm that emanates from every inch of the hotel and its surrounds is amazing. I travelled with two sons and two nephews and they all loved the Hotel too. But also a perfect hotel for couples.Slept really well in the beautiful beds - rooms and bathrooms fresh and spotlessly clean. Love the tea/coffee/biscuits/chocolate facilities,lovely towels and quality bathroom products. Breakfasts are gorgeous and I agree with previous reviewers the - eggs benedict are the best ever ! My son loved the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs as well. Cannot recommend this small beautiful hotel highly enough. Loved every minute. Was very sad to leave !

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 95tiffanyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2015

St Aidan has a suberb location with fantastic views of the Farne Islands or Bamburgh Castle from the bedrooms with binoculars provided.We had a really enjoyable stay, Rob and Tegan were very welcoming and helpful. The choice for breakfast was excellent - I only wish we had been able to be there when the Bistro was open as the menu looks mouthwatering. We will be back!

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Marje P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2015

St Aidan's Hotel, Sea Houses perches on the cliffs overlooking the Farne Islands and has wonderful views. Rob and Tegan, its new young owners, gave us a really warm welcome. The hotel is light and airy with binoculars everywhere for hotel clients to use and enjoy the views. The food in the Bistro restaurant was very good and the service extremely helpful. We particularly enjoyed the sea bass dish. The following morning the breakfast was delicious with lovely fresh fruit and compote. It was a pleasure to eat there.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 303Nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2015

I stayed with my husband at the St Aidan Hotel in Seahouses for three nights having seen it as the No 1 hotel in Seahouses on Tripadvisor – and what a great choice that was! Rob and Tegan only took over this hotel a few months ago and the ongoing transformation is superb. They are very welcoming, as is everyone we met in Seahouses, and very professional in every aspect of running St Aidan. We were lucky enough to be booked in at the Bistro, which is open Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings, and which is unsurprisingly booked up very quickly - the food was sensational with lots of local fresh seafood and a modern twist on the menu choices. A huge bonus are the incomparable sea views from all the rooms, the Bistro and the bar. We stayed in the annex and I couldn’t wait every morning to watch the sun rise – absolute magic We would most definitely stay at the St Aidan Hotel on our next visit to Seahouses – and can’t wait to see all the new features that Rob and Tegan are planning. Our excursions out included an unforgettable trip on the Serenity II boat out to the Farne Islands – we were so lucky to see lots of seal pups – all born just a few days before – and were often surrounded by playful and fascinating seals. We also visited the spectacular Bamburgh Castle and the very interesting Grace Darling Museum in Bamburgh. I’ve used a lot of superlatives in this review – and I could use a lot more! We are already planning a return trip as soon as we can – with Rob and Tegan at the helm the St Aidan Hotel will undoubtedly go on from strength to strength.

Date of stay: October 2015
2  Thank malr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews