We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The King's Head Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa(Stow-on-the-Wold)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fosse Manor Hotel(Stow-on-the-Wold)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheep on Sheep Street(Stow-on-the-Wold)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stag Lodge(Stow-on-the-Wold)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
The Old Stocks Inn(Stow-on-the-Wold)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Unicorn Hotel(Stow-on-the-Wold)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stow Lodge Hotel(Stow-on-the-Wold)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lamb Inn(Shipton under Wychwood)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Slaughters Manor House(Lower Slaughter)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (400)
Filter reviews
400 results
Traveller rating
230
116
39
12
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
230
116
39
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubvillage greencourtyard roomhand heldlovely cotswoldinglenook fireplaceboth nightsselection of beersopen firelow ceilingskipperscomfortable roomsvaried menurisottolovely locationwine listshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 400 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

We have stayed several times and it ticks all the boxes. Quiet comfortable bedrooms, nicely equipped ( e.g. a nespresso machine) and plenty of home made products in the bathroom
The bar has a good selection of unusual food fare very well presented. Real ale and good choice of whisky and gins
Staff cheerful and welcoming
Close to Stow and good base for the Cotswolds

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank ADean19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingshead100, General Manager at The King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Dear Adean19

It was great to see you here again at The Kings Head, and I am really pleased that we made another stay so pleasurable for you! I will pass your comments on the team, and look forward to seeing you again soon

warm regards - Rob, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

This hotel is in a beautiful location. Very peaceful and picturesque. My wife and i stayed here for one night during a 5 night break in the Cotswolds. The first thing i would like to say is that the staff were amazing from start to finish. Would like to say a special thanks the girl working in the bar with long blond hair who had not long started, Fabulous!!,,,,,,our room was in the main hotel, our first room was like room in someone's house from1970!! We asked to be moved and our next room was better but the rooms in the main hotel are in drastic need of refurbishment. What are described as family heirlooms look more like old furniture dug out from the garage and the tv yes i think that tiny black thing on the wall was a tv is unacceptable nowadays. The place does have a nice buzz to it, i did find the owner a bit 'aloof'. On a positive note to finish my review, the food was excellent. Top end gastro pub. Also the breakfasts were really lovely..

Room Tip: Book courtyard room
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 1971jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingshead100, General Manager at The King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Dear 1971jc

Many thanks for your feedback - I am really pleased that the atmosphere, dinner, breakfast and service were all of a very high standard - we are getting nothing but great comments on the new additions to our team, so I will make sure they get to see your review. I am naturally disappointed to hear that you thought the rooms have room for improvement. The majority of reviewers find our pub rooms tastefully decorated and comfortable, but I take you comments on board and will review with the team. I hope that all the positives you mentioned will mean you will visit again, and perhaps if you do I would encourage to book one of our more modern 'courtyard' rooms which are not in the 16th century part of the Inn.

warm regards - Rob, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Always had good food. Varied menu. Attentive staff. Overall excellent. Not stayed in hotel but all looks very clean and attractive. Quiet setting. Lovely setting by village green and rear garden seating area.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Thank sallycats2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingshead100, General Manager at The King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Dear sallycats2017,

Thanks for you lovely comments about the great food and attentive staff, and I hope that one day you can make use of our wonderful accommodation too.

warm regards - Rob, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

We really enjoyed our time here - dinner was excellent, breakfast was great as well. Rooms with wheel chair access available. Stuff was very friendly and supportive. We stayed here as a family and can recommend this place for a Cotswolds stay.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinkL3091UR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingshead100, General Manager at The King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Dear martinkl3091UR,

Thanks for your great review. I am pleased we were able to accommodate all your needs, and that you enjoyed the dinner, breakfast, and service. Hopefully you find the time to re-visit in the future

warm regards - Rob, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017

Located in a cute village with a great pub. Very comfortable nights sleep was had after a great meal and drinks in the pub. It oozes the quintessential English charm.that one seeks while visiting the area. The room was equip with everything necessary, including good coffee/ tea, bath products, and a hair dryer. The only problem i encountered was in arranging for a third person to be in our room.. After several emails it was finally settled and arranged.

The rain shower had the best water pressure I've ever encountered!!

Breakfast in the morning was delish! Full English was great.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jambc1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingshead100, General Manager at The King's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Dear Jambc1234

Thanks so much for you wonderful review, and I am pleased we were (eventually) able to arrange an extra guest in your room. We have recently invested in a new shower system in the courtyard rooms, so I am especially pleased that is paying off with the best shower you have ever encountered!

warm regards - Rob, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews