We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lunch bar menu limited ”

The Kingham Plough Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Kingham Plough Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Kingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$55
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: In 2007 Executive chef Emily Watkins and her husband, Miles Lampson, opened The Kingham Plough, a quintessential Cotswold Inn and award winning restaurant. Their aim was to create somewhere that they themselves would like to visit; excellent modern British and comfortable rooms set within a warm and relaxed environment. The food quickly gained critical acclaim and has been awarded numerous accolades including the prestigious third AA Rosette, awarded in 2015. The Kingham Plough regularly features in the UKs Top 100 Restaurants and Top 50 Gastropubs and with six beautiful, individually decorated en-suite bedrooms it is the perfect place for a Cotswold getaway.
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed a ploughmans lunch. Menu otherwise was quite disappointing from our perspective. Would have liked to have some pub sandwich options.

1  Thank JPickers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ploughman08, Manager at The Kingham Plough Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent meal here. I'm glad you enjoyed the Ploughmanss lunch. We do offer an extensive bar menu along side our A la Carte menu with options including delicious burgers, rarebit, pork pies, scotch eggs etc. However, I am sorry that you didn't find anything you were hoping to see and have noted your comments and will of course feed them back to our kitchen team.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review.

Kind regards

The Kingham Plough

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (651)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 651 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2017

For a small village, Kingham has 2 excellent places to eat and drink. The hard working staff at the Plough made sure we understood all aspects of the menu and didn't dodge the question when asked what we should choose. Great Sole was served with a light lemony sauce and my wife's hanger steak was cooked to perfection. Well done the Plough.

Thank Trebor82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ploughman08, Manager at The Kingham Plough Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us so much and very much hope you will visit us again soon.

Kind regards

The Kingham Plough Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Dined on an impulse a couple of weeks ago. Been meaning to for a long time but it's been evading us for no good reason. Great reception from the owner - what a character! Food was delicious although my girlfriend found her main course quite under-seasoned - it was however still very tasty but that's the only reason for the lack of five stars. Lovely staff and can't wait to go back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BJSS1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ploughman08, Manager at The Kingham Plough Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your experience with us. I'm delighted that you enjoyed the reception and your meal with us. I have noted all of your comments accordingly and will of course feed them back.

Thank you once again for providing feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

The Kingham Plough Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Very enjoyable meal at The Kingham Plough. The food was delicious and excellently presented. We had the Cornish Crab and Rabbit Terrine for starters, Trout and Pork for mains followed by the Chocolate Mousse and Strawberry Soufflé for desert. Taste sensations. Everything was top class. I cannot fault a thing. We certainly saved the best until last - most enjoyable.

Thank Conor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ploughman08, Manager at The Kingham Plough Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you so much for such a fantastic review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal and we very much hope you will return to see us again soon!

Kind regards
The Kingham Plough Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

We were in the restaurant. I'd been hoping for something special but this missed. Individual components of dishes tasted lovely but they didn't necessarily go together to make something special. Dishes looked pretty, again nothing special. The goat cheesecake was nice but the biscuit base was, perhaps, a little sweet.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Vivien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ploughman08, Manager at The Kingham Plough Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit. We are always disappointed to hear that a customer has not enjoyed their experience with us, especially as we have received so many wonderful reviews recently. I have noted all of your comments and we will of course feed them back to the relevant teams.

Kind regards

The Kingham Plough Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kingham Plough Restaurant also viewed

Kingham, Oxfordshire
Bledington, Oxfordshire
 
Churchill, Chipping Norton
 

Been to The Kingham Plough Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing