We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Travelodge Oswestry(Oswestry)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
The West Arms Hotel(Llanarmon DC)
US$94
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Hand at Llanarmon(Llanarmon DC)
US$122
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lion Quays(Weston Rhyn)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bryn Howel Hotel(Llangollen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (592)
Filter reviews
592 results
Traveller rating
453
107
25
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
453
107
25
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschampagne roomsconescoach houselocal walkson arrivalweather forecastold rectoryspa bathwelsh borderupper courtdouble jacuzziowners and staffdog friendly hotelprivate patioexcellent foodbeautiful locationmain building
Filter
Updating list...
446 - 451 of 592 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I do not generally write reviews but feel the need to do so in this instance. We have recently returned from a two day break at Pen-y-Dyffryn having had a great time. The food was excellent, the wine choice just as good and the hotel had a very nice cosy feel about it. The service was very friendly and professional and the rooms above average I would say.
The location of the Hotel is perfect, offering a host of choices on how to spend your daytime. We managed Chester, Iron bridge and a local a local walk then sadly ran out of time. We look forward to returning soon and have already sent many recommendations to friends all promising to give it a try. They will not re disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We found Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel quite by mistake browsing the internet but what a find.
In all the reviews I post on Tripadvisor I always start by saying that they are my personal opinions and therefore cant be responsible for how readers interpret them and given the recent media interest in the accuracy of reviews posted I would confirm that my thoughts are my own and are true reflection of our stay.

From the moment we arrived the staff couldnt have been more helpful. Everything was explained clearly and any question answered promptly. Complimentary afternoon tea including scones and homemade jam was taken in one of the very comfortable lounges complete with log fire. Pre dinner drinks were taken in the small but cosy bar and we were given plenty of time to study the dinner menu. Dinner was excellent, the chef obviously knows whats he`s doing and it was lovely to see as much use as possible of locally sourced ingredients. A comprehensive wine list is available with something for everybody.

We stayed in one of the "Lower Court" cottages which had obviously just been redecorated to a good standard and was very comfortable. If I only have one negative comment it is that there was a considerable gap around the door and its frame and as the wind was howling on the night we stayed there was quite a draft blowing in.

Overall our stay was extremely comfortable, welcoming and helpful staff (a rarity these days), with lovely lounge areas and bar. Restaurant was very good as was the standard and cleanliness of our room.

All in all the ideal weekend retreat or longer if you wish.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DeuceCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Went for a long weekend. Was absolutely brilliant. Lovely welcome with tea and scones. Brilliant dinner with local produce from a small but ever changing menu. Good strong wine list as well. If you're into you walking there are brilliant routes with spectacular scenery. The owner will help you plan where you want to go over a cracking breakfast. The staff can't do more for you and the ambiance is the right side of homely with out being stuffy. If you like a chain hotel with health spar and loyalty card scheme I wouldn't bother. If you're looking for the personal touch with good food, friendly and helpful staff along with a treck through the countryside then get yourself there.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed at the Pen Y Dyffryn Hotel on our journey back home from a weekend in S Wales. Ths was to be a belated christmas present for my husband as the restaurant seemed very highly rated.
The overall ambiance of the hotel was good, welcoming staff, lounge areas with log fires, afternoon tea and scones on arrival.
The evening meal was nicely presented, the menu was interesting, however it just seemed to lack something to make it that little bit special. The final dissapointment of the meal was the price of the coffee, seemed fairly steep, after all the whole package for bed and breakfast and 4 course evening meal was not cheap by any means. Breakfast again was nicely presented, good food, but again lacking in that extra something...maybe we expected too much?
Bedroom very nice, clean, comfortable bed, lovely linen. Bathroom had a spa bath, the shower was rather a dissapointment as the power was very low. Towels were a treat, very white, very fluffy and excellent quality.
Overall a positive stay, but would not go out of our way to recommend it to family and friends.
.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m55w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I am not sure as to how many times my wife & myself have stayed here, at the "Lower Court", which is one of the four cottages at the back of the hotel, is very, very relaxing, and without telphone contact ( though this is only a few meters away ) we had the usual fantastic solution. Of course the food & views are up to the high standard, as expected. For us this is a great place to stay, but, min 2 nights. Thanks again.

Room Tip: Book one of the cottages.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil03091947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews