We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only thing good about the place is the food.”
Review of The Old Vicarage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Vicarage
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Worfield
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The only thing good about the place is the food.”
Reviewed 21 May 2011

First of all, the service was brilliant. We were there for a family member's wedding and everything was spot-on. The restaurant food was the best!!

However, when we got to our room (the Cressage room) we were most disappointed. The bath was a bit dirty. The TV didn't work. There was no full length mirror (there was one further down the hall which I had to use). There was no shower cap. Generally just horribly dated rooms. I looked in two other rooms which my family members were staying in. One of them being the Coalport. Improvements had been attempted to try and bring the rooms up to date, such as chandeliers/lamps - but they were tacky and did not fit in with the rest of the dated furniture in the room. Our room was also quite small. It was £100 a night and I would say that it was worth less than half of that.
It was definitely the Cressage room we stayed in but I have just been on their website to discover their photo of the Cressage room shows a different room.

The breakfast was good and was included in the room price. On offer were things such as full English, or Continental.. eggs with smoked salmon/kippers. A friend had the smoked salmon which was a very small portion so I'm glad I had the full English!

You will need a car during your stay due to the location - it has free parking though. There are goats in the field next to the hotel which is cool if you are with a family. There is also a rooster which rises early!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philly50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    47
    22
    13
    2
See reviews for
48
78
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2011

sun 10th fantastic setting for wedding, good weather. family run exellent hosts. sarah and husband,nothing too mutch trouble. beer good reasonable prices for such a high quolity hotel slill cant do my wast coat up. hehe thanks again sarah reg. wilf 7x

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrwopit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights over the new year period with two other couples. We all stayed in the Superior Doubles rooms in the main hotel and found them to be a really high standard. Complimentary fruit and sherry, fresh milk in the fridge and the biggest and thickest towels I've ever had in any hotel! It was also good to have the fluffy bathrobes and Molten and Brown products.
The food is outstanding both at Dinner and Breakfast, wonderful fresh local ingredients and a good wine list, and so nice to have the dining room in the huge conservatory with views over the countryside. We also enjoyed having lots of space in the lounge where we could relax at any time of day with the newspapers.
David and Sarah are excellent hosts and have lovely old antique furniture and pictures all around the hotel which gives such character and warmth, all the staff are very friendly and helpful as well.
The only criticism any of us had is that we think coffee should be included and not charged extra - it does come with very tasty petit fours but after the wonderful food they aren't really appreciated.
We will definitely be returning in the future.
Val Reed

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireValR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

We stayed 2 nights. On first night we tried the restaurant which was very high quality, but be prepared that it is not cheap. We spent almost £100 for 2 and didn't have 3 courses. The room was pleasant and spacious with an excellent separate lounge area with good outlook. The bathrooms and bedrooms were looking tired and not impressed with overall quality of cleanliness. The rooms need a thorough cleaning and bathroom a good scrub we thought. Attention to detail e.g an empty bowl left which we assume was for fruit which didn't materialise. Breakfast was good. Overall the restuarant is the highlight.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mint44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We spent one night at the Old Vicarage in September 2010. The hotel is set on the outskirts of Worfield, with views across the countryside.

On arrival, we waited ages to check in and then were shown to our room. It was of a reasonable size, with complimentary milk to accompany tea / coffee, a few complimentary sweets (and the wrappers left by the previous occupants) and the dregs of some free sherry. When we looked closer, there was a warm yogurt on the bedside cabinet and a half eaten biscuit on the bedspread. Attention to detail obviously isn't their strong point! The free wifi did compensate to some degree, but both wifi and a clean room would have been even better!

The bathroom was clean with a large shower and Molton Brown toiletries. Unfortunatley it was spoilt slightly as the bathroom door didn't shut fully (let alone lock!) and the towels had seen better days, being very frayed around the edges.

The bed was firm and comfortable, unfortunately even with the window wide open and bed clothes discarded the room was so hot it was virtually impossible to sleep. My frustration with the heat was exacerbated by the noise from the heating pump which ran throughout the night, waking me up everytime I nearly dropped off to sleep. Breakfast the following day was good, but again there was a wait for service.

The hotel has a lot of promise, but is let down by lack of attention to detail.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blondie247772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worfield
5.8 km away
Patshull Park Hotel Golf & Country Club
12.1 km away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
922 reviews
12.5 km away
Haughton Hall
Haughton Hall
#1 of 4 in Shifnal
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 km away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#3 of 21 in Wolverhampton
757 reviews
13.8 km away
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Much Wenlock
415 reviews
8.9 km away
The Down Inn
The Down Inn
#3 of 29 in Bridgnorth
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Vicarage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage

Property: The Old Vicarage
Address: Hallon | Nr Bridgnorth, Worfield, Bridgnorth WV15 5JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bridgnorth > Worfield
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Worfield
Price range (per night): $103 - $146
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Vicarage 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Vicarage is a located some 3 miles from Bridgnorth in the hamlet of Worfield, we have a lovelly Orangery restaurant overlooking some wonderful Shropshire countryside. The are many interesting things to do in the area, such as Ironbridge George, Severn Valley Railway, Numerous National Trust properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Old Vicarage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Vicarage Hotel And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing