We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best oriental food in the area”
Review of Junior Poon

Junior Poon
Ranked #6 of 59 Restaurants in Clevedon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$70
Cuisines: Chinese, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: We are a privately owned restaurant operating since 1992. Junior Poon never been about stars, glitz or gimmicks. It's about the simple old fashion traditional qualities that really matters most to their guests - serving well cooked exquisite classic food with care and attention. It is a venue for people who appreciate fine food, good old fashion friendly service in a stylish yet informal and comfortable elegant surrounding at an affordable price.
Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

Bit of a weird entrance - from down below through a wine bar and the decor is very tired, however the staff said it is about to be refurbished.
We ordered crispy duck for starters and then 4 main courses each and mixed.
The quality of the food was very good indeed and the service similarly prompt and helpful.
I haven’t found a better place in the Clevedon / Portishead area to have oriental food in the last 10 years so recommend - especially when they get new decor!

1  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Junior P, Owner at Junior Poon, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased to hear that you have found our food and service very good.

We do close our main front door entrance into our restaurant during cold weather and direct our customers coming in via the wine bar to avoid cold draft into the dining area. Unfortunately, being a Grade II listed building has restricted us to what we can do with the front porch. Hence this is the only option to keep the dining area comfortable and not cold during winter.

We do hope to be of service to you again and hope to see you soon.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile

We were expecting exciting and excellent food after reading the reviews, but left feeling disappointed. Most of the food was rather nice, like most Chinese restaurants turn out, but nothing special. Staff were very good and the service was prompt.

Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Junior P, Owner at Junior Poon, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Please to hear that you found our food rather nice and our staff and service very good.

We do offer the classic dishes in order not to disappoint most customers expecting them (sweet & sour, black bean etc) when visiting a Chinese restaurant hence we may appear to be no different from another Chinese restaurant. But if you wanted something out of the ordinary or amazing, you should try our own signature dishes, like Steam King Prawn with Garlic & Soy, Crispy Shredded Chicken Szechuan Style and our Steam Fresh Scallop with Glass Noodle to name a few are the most popular dishes among our regular.

Perhaps if you do visit us again, please ask for me and I will be more than please to advise you something out of the ordinary.

Thank you and I do hope you will give us another try when you are around the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

We love this family run restaurant - just celebrating 25 years. Always happy with our choices (usually Set C with a few changes with two of the Mains). Was very busy 3 days after the 25th which was surprising) but I guess the cooks needed a rest!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PammyJane24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Junior P, Owner at Junior Poon, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Thank you for your 5-Star review and your support throughout these years.

Pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us. Look forward to be of service to you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

There are several places to eat on Hill Rd Clevedon, the street where parts on Broadchurch are filmed.

We have been visiting Junior Poon for over 20 years and little changes: good food, a team of people focussed on your experience and Junior always busy in the background.

Last week we went for dry BBQ ribs, sweet and sour pork, Sichuan king prawns and Singapore style vermicelli noodles.

Ribs are just great and not greasy. Share a plate of 4. The best, the noodles, always remind me of Asia.

Sichuan sauce is distinctive and I like it even if a western version.

More than enough food with endless Jasmin tea at £40 for two. We enjoyed ourselves but thought the price a little dear.

(I never buy wines here which are terribly over-priced in the British fashion).
Recommended.

Thank M4zkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Junior P, Owner at Junior Poon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thank you for taking your time to review us and your loyal support throughout all these years.

We look forward towards your next visit. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

Ate here over weekend. We had early bird menu and it was fine. Staff are aways very pleasant. We just can't believe that this place is still so dire in need of a major internal refurbishment and new toilets. Surely you have made enough money now to do this?

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 524ANON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Junior P, Owner at Junior Poon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our early evening menu and found our staff pleasant.

A major refurbishment was scheduled for last year after having the plan drawn up by our interior designer. But due to a slight hiccup we have to postpone the internal work. We have started to do some external work that may not be apparent to most including repointing all the stone work at the rear of our building.

Please be patient with us and we hope to proceed with our internal refurbishment as soon as we are able.

Thank you for your support all these years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Junior Poon also viewed

Clevedon, Somerset
Clevedon, Somerset
 
Clevedon, Somerset
Clevedon, Somerset
 

Been to Junior Poon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing