We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early evening menu @ £15.50pp”
Review of Junior Poon

Junior Poon
Ranked #6 of 61 Restaurants in Clevedon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$65
Cuisines: Chinese, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: We are a privately owned restaurant operating since 1992. Junior Poon never been about stars, glitz or gimmicks. It's about the simple old fashion traditional qualities that really matters most to their guests - serving well cooked exquisite classic food with care and attention. It is a venue for people who appreciate fine food, good old fashion friendly service in a stylish yet informal and comfortable elegant surrounding at an affordable price.
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

Our party of four had a really lovely evening, enjoyed our food and beverage choices, the service, ambiance and a chat with the Boss, Junior Poon.

Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Junior P, Owner at Junior Poon, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Thank you for your 5-Star review. It's always our pleasure having you with us.

We look forward to your next visit. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2018 via mobile

Came in for a work colleagues leaving do , great service and food as enjoyable as ever , thanks Junior

Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Junior P, Owner at Junior Poon, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Thank you for your 5-Star review.

Pleased to hear that you all have enjoyed your time with us. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

Bit of a weird entrance - from down below through a wine bar and the decor is very tired, however the staff said it is about to be refurbished.
We ordered crispy duck for starters and then 4 main courses each and mixed.
The quality of the food was very good indeed and the service similarly prompt and helpful.
I haven’t found a better place in the Clevedon / Portishead area to have oriental food in the last 10 years so recommend - especially when they get new decor!

1  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Junior P, Owner at Junior Poon, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased to hear that you have found our food and service very good.

We do close our main front door entrance into our restaurant during cold weather and direct our customers coming in via the wine bar to avoid cold draft into the dining area. Unfortunately, being a Grade II listed building has restricted us to what we can do with the front porch. Hence this is the only option to keep the dining area comfortable and not cold during winter.

We do hope to be of service to you again and hope to see you soon.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile

We were expecting exciting and excellent food after reading the reviews, but left feeling disappointed. Most of the food was rather nice, like most Chinese restaurants turn out, but nothing special. Staff were very good and the service was prompt.

Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Junior P, Owner at Junior Poon, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Please to hear that you found our food rather nice and our staff and service very good.

We do offer the classic dishes in order not to disappoint most customers expecting them (sweet & sour, black bean etc) when visiting a Chinese restaurant hence we may appear to be no different from another Chinese restaurant. But if you wanted something out of the ordinary or amazing, you should try our own signature dishes, like Steam King Prawn with Garlic & Soy, Crispy Shredded Chicken Szechuan Style and our Steam Fresh Scallop with Glass Noodle to name a few are the most popular dishes among our regular.

Perhaps if you do visit us again, please ask for me and I will be more than please to advise you something out of the ordinary.

Thank you and I do hope you will give us another try when you are around the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

We love this family run restaurant - just celebrating 25 years. Always happy with our choices (usually Set C with a few changes with two of the Mains). Was very busy 3 days after the 25th which was surprising) but I guess the cooks needed a rest!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PammyJane24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Junior P, Owner at Junior Poon, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Thank you for your 5-Star review and your support throughout these years.

Pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us. Look forward to be of service to you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Junior Poon also viewed

Clevedon, Somerset
Clevedon, Somerset
 
Clevedon, Somerset
 
Clevedon, Somerset
 

Been to Junior Poon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing