We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family meal”

The Valiant Soldier
Ranked #5 of 24 Restaurants in Watchet
Price range: US$8 - US$20
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We are ideally placed for exploring Exmoor, the Brendon & Quantock Hills or just 10 minutes drive away from the coast at Watchet. Inside, you will find all the character and atmosphere expected including wooden beams, an inglenook fireplace and log fires in the colder months. We serve traditional, local real ales, wines and spirits. We also have excellent catering facilities offering a full a la carte menu, and wine list, or alternatively select from our snack menu. The emphasis is on tasty home cooking, available 7 days a week.
Reviewed 4 October 2021 via mobile

Excellent meal and service, the homemade pie was delicious as was the fish and chips, would definitely return, everything was spotless

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank mandyaroyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2021 via mobile

We booked the Valient Soldier for a Monday evening meal and it was a good job we did, lots of people eating. The pub still has covid protacals in place which makes for a secure evening. Four meals my mum had a jacket potato which was impressive in size and quality, my dad had the gammon which was huge and he couldn't finish which was a bonus for our two dogs, the white had a sizzler steak and my duck was cooked to perfection. As always great service and great food at this pub, can only recommend

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank glassmen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 September 2021

Arrived at property to see COVID precautions were being taken seriously which was good
Good selection of ales available, service was good, wide range of food on the menu, and the meals were outstanding on both visits.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Prodengwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 September 2021 via mobile

Lovely little pub with great service. The waiter was really good and incredibly polite. Dog friendly. Real local feel and welcoming

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Audiman134
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 August 2021

Not the easiest of locations to get to by car, but it was worth the trip, this very traditional Inn/restaurant has a warm feel. The food was very well presented and the staff were very friendly too. We did enjoy it here and would recommend others to try, although we probably would not make a second visit. Dog friendly too.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank eurodiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Valiant Soldier also viewed

 

Been to The Valiant Soldier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.