We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (629)
Filter reviews
629 results
Traveller rating
153
193
156
66
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
193
156
66
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aston marina sunday lunch pool and sauna leisure facilities black pudding bar menu the ground floor afternoon tea breakfast was excellent friendly hotel an evening meal a lovely stay alton towers town centre full english good nights sleep wedding
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 629 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night to attend a wedding at a nearby venue ,
Didn't eat there or use the facilities so can't comment.
The room we had was very dated, chipped paint And alot of stains around the room
Hotel has potential if they consider renovating.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank piglet1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

Beautiful place in the Staffs countryside.
Michelin grade food at not Michelin prices!
Nice rooms, clean, room service in this not 4/5 star hotel, WOW!
Nice pool, gym, sauna for relaxation.
Staff very friendly and courteous at all times.
Great place to rejuvenate from busy city life!
Go there regularly to get away from London now.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Al A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

We visited this hotel for a family catch up and this was a central location before we went to Alton Towers the next day.

On arrival the hotel and grounds looked great, we parked up and then headed to the reception.

On arrival, we noticed a sign to say we are having a make over. Which there wasn’t any sign of any works happening. We headed over the the nightclub, sorry I mean reception. I had all these flashing lights which made the reception look very tacky. We asked to checked in, and the guy just looked at us as if we have disturb him from serving the internet.

We then paid for our room and went to our room, the room was nice and big but very dated.

The staff in the bar where friendly.

In the evening we tired to get to the bar and the lower ground was over taken by an external party, who thought that they owned to place along with a stuck up mayor. The staff didn’t what they cold for this party and forgot about the paying guests

The food is very overpriced for a 3 star, and if you plan on eating here be prepared to go out for another meal else where

We don’t be staying in this below standard hotel.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Disappointed when entering our room to find the bed was not made correctly... all the furniture had chips and knocks on them, there was also a coffee stain down the wall... the bedroom was shabby in appearance.. the bathroom on the other hand I cannot fault.. large bath, very modern and fresh appearance.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed for one night here in mid October. This place is a good budget hotel, offering a good breakfast.

Our bedroom was clean and tidy. Unfortunately only four teabags, a few coffee sachets and some milk was left quite untidily for us to use. Instead, a wider range of fruit teas, herbal teas and coffees would have been good. Even though we had booked a ‘newly refurbished’ room, our bedroom window was old, wooden and could’ve done with a double-glazing upgrade as it was a little drafty and noisy at night.

Our bathroom was tidy. There was ample hand soap and body wash which is good. However, the bin was rather dirty and could’ve been cleaned more thoroughly.

Breakfast was good, with continental and cooked breakfasts available at self-serve tables. However, the small pots of jam on our tables were half used, which seemed a little unhygienic. As these jars of Tiptree jam are so small, it would be nice for staff to replace them when setting the table, so that guests can enjoy a full pot of jam rather than a half-used one!

There is generally ample parking, however we struggled to find a space at around 10pm at night when we returned from dinner. Therefore, we had to bump up onto the grass and leave our car there overnight. The spaces in the car park are unusually small and narrow!

Check-in and check-out was quick and efficient.

In conclusion, at a quick glance, this hotel is a good, classic hotel. However, smaller details need to be addressed in order to improve standards. Having said this, we found our stay pleasant.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank JasminReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews