We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth(Tamworth)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$60/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle Hotel(Tamworth)(Great Value!)
US$45
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$66/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$112
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Tamworth Central(Tamworth)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
50
11
7
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
11
7
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach housethe wi fimain buildingon arrivalexcellent breakfastcooked breakfastwithin walking distanceample parkingbeds were comfortablegood nights sleephot waterdrayton manor parkyogurtcar parksueannexcorridor
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Had a business meeting at the Gungate, which was very well presented by the host, with nice surrounding and good food and easy parking and ideally located Room was ideal for our needs. would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Very clean and excellent breakfast very friendly welcome when we arrived ,excellent location for anyone who wants to visit tamworth or the local area.went up to visit family
but ideal for anyone who wants to go skiing indoors or local site seeing.would definitely stay again if up this way many thanks

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1913
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Very basic hotel but staff excellent more suited for family on a budget that been said close to centre of Tamworth and staff went out of way to try and make sure that you would be welcome. Biggest drawback would have to be smell from what appeared to be Owners dog, would be best kept outside.

Stayed: October 2017
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the Gungate with my partner. Had a family party to attend not far away so it was conveniently within walking distance.

Room was basic, comfy bed, tea and coffee making facilities and was tastefully decorated. Sue showed us to our room and explained all about the hot water etc. We were the furthest away from the boiler so it took a little time for the shower to heat up. Complimentary toiletries were provided and appreciated and some thoughtful finishing touches.

My only comment for improvement would be that we would have appreciated being in a different room. We did contact Sue to inform her that we would be back late due to the party. Sue kindly gave us a room within the coach house so we had our own keys and could come and go as we pleased. We did not require breakfast as we were booked elsewhere therefore we decided to have a lay in. Unfortunately due to our room location we were woken by other guests walking past our room heading to breakfast, talking, making the floorboards outside our room squeak and the fire door slamming. If you are intending to have a lay in do request a room where you will not be disturbed! We know for next time!!

I would recommend staying here as it is within walking distance of town and Tamworth Castle and park. Well worth a visit!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank demir423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

We had chosen to stay here as a family group as it was close to Drayton Manor Theme Park and seemed to have good reviews.We had originally booked via a third party website but were contacted by Sue the owner and advised that if the booking was made direct with the hotel we would receive complimentary Continental breakfasts. Sue was also able to arrange the rooms for our party more efficiently than the website allowed us to. On arrival, we found the car park to be busy but Sue soon arrived on the scene and arranged the parking. Check-in was without issue and our party was split between the main building and the coach house at the rear. We were offered recommendations of where to eat and I was pleased to hear that our planned evening meal venue was included. The beds were comfortable, the rooms clean and pleasant and we had a fairly good nights sleep in the Coach House although there was some noise from other guests walking back along the corridor to their room from a night out and then talking loudly in their room. Thankfully, this did not go on for long so it was not necessary to advise the owner, although I have no doubt at all that this would have been dealt with as there is a policy in place to cover this eventuality. We also had an issue getting hot water from the shower but this turned out to be operator error as we had not allowed enough time for the hot water to reach the annexed Coach House. I feel that this might have been better explained on being shown to the room or in the guest's information binder.
Breakfast the following morning in the pleasant dining room was a choice of the complimentary Continental breakfast consisting of toast, croissant, yogurt and cereals or a full cooked breakfast for an extra £5. We were asked to order any full breakfasts in advance the previous evening which was a little strange, but this did speed things up in the morning, The cooked breakfast was very nice using good quality local bacon and sausage.
Overall, we all had a pleasant stay here and would come again if we were looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews