We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MIxed review - lovely hotel but poor sevice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Camberley
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We booked for a one night stay as a special treat. Upon arrival the staff member on reception was friendly and asked about our journey. He then simply gave us our room key and advised us where go to to our room then started serving someone else. We were not told anything about the hotel or amenities, where breakfast was served and what time. When we got in our room my first impression was how tiny it was! (we booked the classic double). However on closer inspection the room was beautifully furnished, the en suite was lovely and the bed very comfortable with lovely feather pillows and nice linen. No mini bar or fridge sadly which I've always had even in cheaper hotels. We asked for more tea bags to be sent to our room whilst we were out for the evening and whilst hey did provide all different types of tea they didn't replenish the good old English breakfast tea which was what we had used and wanted more of! Breakfast service Sunday morning was dreadful. There was a huge queue and this queue went halfway down the narrow hallway outside the dining room. The problem with this was as rather bizarrely you had to walk from the dining room across this hallway to get to the hot food and then carry it back to the dining room. We watched many guests carrying hot plates of food trying to dodge and weave their way through the many people queuing outside. Having waited approx 15 minutes just to get a table we weren't then even shown to our table, the staff member just pointed it out to us. No staff member asked us if we wanted toast or to order anything from the menu so we gave up waiting and went to get a hot breakfast. After the wait we were then very disappointed to discover all the hot food had gone! Had to then wait standing around for more food to come out. After finishing breakfast still no staff member had even approached us at all to ask if we wanted or needed anything. I appreciate they were extremely busy and the staff looked run off their feet. However perhaps the hotel should therefore think about higher staffing levels? When you consider that breakfast is £19.50 per person (unless you've booked B&B) then this is very poor service indeed. I've received far better service at cheaper hotels and would not return to Macdonald Frimley Hotel and Spa again

Room Tip: If you're planning on spending time in the room consider that the classic rooms are lovely but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HampshireCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,092)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 2,092 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017

We held our wedding here in September and had such a wonderful day which we and all our friends and family really enjoyed. It was such a fun day.
From the original viewing of the hotel until the morning after the wedding we were very impressed with the service and the attention to detail.
Everyone we dealt with made our day all the more special. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone and it made us more relaxed to know that everything was being taken care of.
Thank you so much to everyone at Frimley Hall Hotel for a wonderful wedding.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJFarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Treated the wife and myself to a weekend away, we were a bit disappointed that we couldn’t use the spa due to it being booked, however the hotel is amazing, the staff are incredibly friendly and accommodating , we have since booked the hotel in Edinburgh month end to stay at whilst attending to a wedding. We can’t wait.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Russ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst we attended a family wedding nearby, it was a nice hotel with pleasant staff, didn't eat here so can't comment on the food, apart from the breakfast which was fine, bar was a bit small and cramped, rooms were pleasant and at £90 per room was good value. The hotel does look a lot more impressive on the outside than it is inside so don't expect a wow. Some other guests appear to have been double booked so were offered a room at a different hotel which would make me a bit nervous but there were 5 of us staying and had no complaints.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

I have to say we had a fabulous experience, we found the spa amazing, my wife and I had a massage each, used the gym and all the spa facilities, it was so relaxing, tranquil and professional

We had a meal at the hotel, three courses with two bottles of wine, the staff were so attentive and courteous. The manager Justine could not have done enough for us, they were very busy but her professionalism felt like we were the only couple there. While we were eating we asked for the chefs name as the food was stunning, we were told Chris, so thanks Chris for a stunning evening.

The receptionists were very professional and friendly, the place was just fantastic, a present bought for me from my wife and she couldn't have picked better.

Thanks to all the staff we will definitely be back.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camberley
7.6 km away
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
2.2 km away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
15.3 km away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 3 in Egham
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27 km away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
243 reviews
21.4 km away
Frensham Pond Country House Hotel & Spa
17 km away
The Runnymede on Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa

Address: Lime Avenue | off Portsmouth Rd, Camberley GU15 2BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Camberley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Camberley
Price Range: $152 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Victorian Manor House, on the Surrey/Berkshire border, just 15 minutes away from the M3 Motorway, Ascot Racecourse and Farnborough Airfield, boasting landscaped grounds, 98 bedrooms with every modern facility and a Vital Leisure Club with 5 Beauty Treatment Rooms. The ideal venue for all occasions whether it be business,conference or a Wedding, Macdonald Frimley Hall is Surrey's premiere Wedding venue. This Victorian Hotel is the perfect stayover for trips to Legoland, Windsor Castle, Ascot Racecourse and Virginia Water. The award winning 2 AA Rosette Linden Restaurant offers a sumptuous Menu,using the highest quality produce available to our Chef. Macdonald Frimley Hall's Spa facilities include a 17 metre swimming pool, technogym, sauna and steam room plus beauty treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel Camberley
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel And Spa
Macdonald Frimley Hall Camberley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing