We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Jurys Inn London Croydon(Croydon)(Great Value!)
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$40
US$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$41
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$49/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$48
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (2,493)
Filter reviews
2,493 results
Traveller rating
402
586
582
460
463
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
586
582
460
463
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 2,493 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

A lovely building but overly priced terrible food bring down the experience.

Was there for a couple of days so got to sample a couple of dishes off the menu. The sandwiches were very thin of filling for £7 , the peri peri chicken was dry and tiny for the price. The best thing there which still wasn’t great was the fish and chips which probably could have used a little less batter. The breakfasts followed suit with the scrambled eggs being powdery and the bacon looked like it had been boiled. How hard is it to fry bacon ? Avoid the coffee and have tea or ask for a latte or cappuccino as ,again, ain’t great.

The indoor pool is not bad and was quite pleasant as the weather was quite warm.

The staff are polite and helpful but unfortunately still not a great experience overall.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

What a lovely estate that De Vere have failed to exploit. The rooms are pretty old fashioned and the walls are very thin. If you want a quiet night then you will struggle. The swimming pool is pointless unless you are under 12. It’s no size at all and of no use to anyone wanting to swim. There is no air con and the rooms are rather hot whilst you listen to next doors television. One positive was the reception staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel caters for lots of corporate clients and it feels like it. Sadly not a hotel I shall visit again.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank johnjoyce1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

I stayed here for one night on a business basis. I found reception staff lovely and very obliging...my room was wonderful in most respects - incredibly large with a sofa and amazing views (room 408). I was pleased to have a Dyson AC given the heat. The building is very old and they probably cannot replace the mullion style windows but had also done some secondary glazing which rattled for most of the night and I could not close the window securely. I was looking forward to a slight lie in but the grass cutters were on the grounds at 8am! What was disappointing was the breakfast service - beautiful room but all the tables were still dirty from previous guests so I had to wait for table to be cleared (so did others), then coffee service was so slow ...so had finished breakfast by the time coffee had arrived and it wasnt that busy ...just staff not being on the ball. I would stay there again if working in the area because the ambiance of the hotel is amazing.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank dottylotty48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

As per the heading this hotel has had a long overdue refurb, which I am sure if you had visited this hotel in the past you would agree.
Staff efficient and friendly,bar and food good. A great improvement to this lovely old distinguished mansion

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
3  Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPHGC, General Manager at De Vere Selsdon Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear James S
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I am delighted that you are enjoyed your stay and are happy with the refurbishment works we have carried out. We look forward to welcoming you back to De Vere Selsdon Estate in the future.
Matt Brierley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

9 of us went on a golf break for 4 days. The course was challenging and in quite good condition though the rough was very long in places. The hotel was quite good overall. Having booked a while ago I was concerned that some reports on Tripadvisor were critical of the rooms so I made a point of asking for refurbished rooms and we were all happy with their condition. The food was good but drinks were a little expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank billjoyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews