We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for Surbiton/Kingston”
Review of Ditton Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ditton Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Long Ditton
Reviewed 26 January 2012

This is a lovely bed and breakfast set in a quiet road not far from Surbiton. It owned by the same couple who own Villers Lodge, so you have the same excellent service and tasty breakfasts. I would describe Ditton Lodge as country old-worldly charm. Although it isn't as easy to walk into Surbiton from here as Villers Lodge (as its right on the doorstep), it is easy to talk to the River Thames and also Thames Ditton, which is a must-visit for tourists. I would stay here again if I had to be based in and around Kingston/Surbiton and couldn't get in to Villers Lodge. This and Villers Lodge are far better places to stay than anywhere else based in and around Surbiton/Kingston.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissP2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 78 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2012

Lovely place, with a great garden to let small children run around in, and from the deluxe room on the ground floor (Room 15) we stayed in with french windows onto the patio and garden, quite sublimely suburban. But when we stayed in the autumn, from the heating getting going early in the morning (5am'ish) there was a lot of creaking that woke us up, so not as restful a stay as we would have liked.

The breakfast was as perfectly cooked as I have ever had, and was made with top quality ingredients: Margot Ledbetter couldn't have done better after sending Gerry out to F&M.

The bed was quite firm for my liking, but that's probably a personal thing.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonGGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Stayed here with family for one night betwen Christmas and New Year. Very nice hotel and made to feel very welcome, breakfast was lovely and rooms and bathrooms were spotless.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steview555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We returned to Ditton Lodge for our second visit and we were greeted with the same lovely welcome. It is our first place to stay when we fly in from Australia. We are always exhausted from the trip but we are never disappointed with this B & B. The rooms are spotless and well appointed. The breakfasts are a treat and the staff take a genuine interest. We will certainly stay there on our next trip.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sullyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

When you enter the building it's obvious that the B&B is a well kept establishment. Our superior room at the rear of the building was large and clean with a lovely view over the garden. Certainly the room and public areas are spot on.

Not a great deal of parking available but apparently you can park over the road without a problem. Breakfast was OK, although to be honest didn't match expectations given the standard of the rest of the place.

It's a 10 min walk to Surbiton station with frequent trains to Waterloo, 17 mins was the best we managed for the trip but a "stopping" train can take 30 mins.

There are a couple of points that stops me giving it five stars. A minor one is that the TV is half the size it needs to be given the large bedroom it's situated in. The major point though is heating, or lack of it. The bathroom does not even have a heated towel rail, we tried heating it with the hairdryer but it wasn't a great success! The room itself has a radiator but it's up to the management when it's put on. At no point was it operational when we needed it, ie when having a shower and changing prior to an evening meal. Given that we visited in the middle of November that's just not good enough.

I would use the Ditton Lodge again if in the area - but probably not in the middle of winter, unless bringing my own fan heater!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crushertim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Ditton
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
2.8 km away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
1,326 reviews
5.1 km away
Warren House
Warren House
#2 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon T...
#5 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
906 reviews
2.3 km away
Travelodge Chessington Tolworth
Travelodge Chessington Tolworth
#9 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
438 reviews
3.1 km away
Doubletree by Hilton London Kingston Upon Thames
Doubletree by Hilton London King...
#4 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ditton Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ditton Lodge Hotel

Address: 47 Lovelace Road, Long Ditton KT6 6NZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Long Ditton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Long Ditton
Price Range: $195 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ditton Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The staff at Ditton Lodge welcome you to their beautiful Edwardian Hotel set in a quiet location convenient for London sightseeing, airports, all London's main motorways and main routes and many places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ditton Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ditton Hotel Long

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing