We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of Cheals of Henley

Cheals of Henley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$41 - US$69
Description: Fine Dinning in a relaxed atmosphere. This family owned restaurant opened on Saturday 3rd October 2015 after extensive renovations. Open - Wednesday to Sunday 12.30pm-14.30pm, Wednesday to Saturday 6.30pm - 21.00pm
Restaurant details
Description: Fine Dinning in a relaxed atmosphere. This family owned restaurant opened on Saturday 3rd October 2015 after extensive renovations. Open - Wednesday to Sunday 12.30pm-14.30pm, Wednesday to Saturday 6.30pm - 21.00pm
Reviewed 14 August 2021

Our lunch at Cheal's of Henley yesterday ranks up there with the best meals I have ever enjoyed. From the moment we arrived the standard of everything was absolutely first class. The food was superb and the wine pairings were sublime. the overall experience was worth far more than the actual cost.
If anyone is looking for that special meal, in a restaurant with a great atmosphere, superb food and excellent service Cheal's needs to be high up on your list.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank V2127JYpaulc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2021 via mobile

What a top class lunch.6 course taster menu and wine pairiing.Service from Liam was unbelievable.Worth the visit 100%

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Dreamer64881862970
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 August 2021 via mobile

From entering to leaving a perfect evening. Service was great & food perfect. We chose from the 55 menu & for me the souffle was the ideal end to the meal. The veal was cooked perfectly, so tasty & tender. As with the whole meal, including the amuse bouche & petit fours, the duck egg starter was great. As each course was brought to the table we didn't think we would have enough to eat but portions were plenty. Since it was my 66th birthday the staff had signed a birthday card & my partner had arranged a birthday cake but that's to eat tomorrow. I highly recommend this restaurant & we will be back soon.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank iansphipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 August 2021 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic evening, food, service, everything was exemplary. The quality of the food, service, presentation was absolutely amazing.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank lovesfood60
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 August 2021

We had our first Cheals experience yesterday lunchtime. There is no car park and daytime on-street parking has a two hour limit in Henley which you need to factor in as you might well wish to stay longer than two hours!

There are two set three-course lunch menus as well as a taster menu. The cheaper set menu offers excellent value and you can switch between that and its counterpart pro rata. The menu changes every six to eight weeks.

We "trialled" both set menus. My wife had a salmon starter and sea bream main while I had a duck yolk starter and Aberdeen Angus main.

Prior to that we had a delicious warm beef canape and an intriguing Amuse Bouche - we've never tried chorizo jam in a dish before but it worked really well. Bread was restricted to two types served with a pat of salted French and another of beef dripping. Dripping may not be the most glamorous food but, as they would have said in Star Trek,"this is dripping Jim, but not as we know it!"

The mains had the coating /crumb element that featured in various elements usually very well executed. We thought that the sea bream needed less, the fish was delicious as it was ditto the leeks and sauce. Saying that, the potato terrine sticks I had with my fillet were exceptional. Lichfield strawberries and banoffee souffle for desserts rounded the meal off splendidly.
The carafe of wine was also extremely good value for money. The service was first class, the ambience comfortable and relaxed. You can see why people rate Cheals.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Cheals of Henley also viewed

Henley in Arden, Warwickshire
Henley in Arden, Warwickshire
 
Henley in Arden, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Cheals of Henley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.