We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cisswood House(Lower Beeding)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$86
US$83
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$293
US$284
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hickstead(Bolney)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$54
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$109/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,775)
Filter reviews
1,775 results
Traveller rating
1,293
295
115
47
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,293
295
115
47
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscamellia restaurantsouth downsjunior suitepass restaurantafternoon teapillow menuspecial occasioncakebeautiful hotelsandwicheswalk in showertake homewine cellardrawing roomout of this worldlovely touchhuge bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 1,775 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2017

I booked a private afternoon tea to celebrate my mother's birthday. There were ten of us and two dogs! The staff were wonderfully hospitable and the private room was sumptuous with a lovely views to the Downs in the South. The tea was outstanding with cake boxes supplied for those all important cakes and scones we were not able to eat for us to take home. One of our party was vegan and gluten free and we were all amazed at how lovely her individual tea was with every element replicated the full tea we all enjoyed. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank splodge289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your recent Afternoon Tea at South Lodge to celebrate your mothers birthday. I am delighted to read that you all had such an enjoyable afternoon with us and very much look forward to your return.

Best regards

Kerra Byrne
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Having driven past this hotel countless times we made a spontaneous visit today to try their traditional afternoon tea.

On arrival it Initially looked like they were fully booked but a late cancellation meant they were able to accommodate us.

They offer a range of options we went for the non-alcoholic option! There's a great range of teas and they have options for all dietary requirements. I'm pescatarian and my wife is vegetarian do our sandwich selection reflected this and I heard one of the other guests being served a gluten-free option.

There was a nice selection of savouries and cakes plus the scones. We devoured them all and were offered more sandwiches and as a nice final touch you even get some cake to take home (if you can't manage to eat on site).

Outside of the tea the setting both in the hotel and grounds are great with the opportunity to have a walk in the 70 plus acres.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank davidmbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 September 2017

Dear David,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent Afternoon Tea at South Lodge. I am thrilled to read that you had a lovely afternoon and very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards

Kerra Byrne
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Having returned to have an afternoon tea for the third time in three year as a Christmas present from our daughter we were very disappointed ,with a place like this you expect very high standards . For the price my daughter paid, it was very mediocre no finger sandwiches no fresh salmon sandwiches they were just criss cross the type the ends turn up . I don't think we will go there again .

Stayed: May 2017
Thank bwlewis2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 September 2017

May I thank you for taking the time to review your recent Afternoon Tea at South Lodge. I am naturally very disappointed to read that your experience did not meet your expectations as of previous occasions. I would like to take this opportunity to offer you my sincere apologies and ask if you would contact our Bar, Lounge & Terrace Manager James Brackley as he would like to personally discuss your feedback in more detail. His email address is James.Brackley@exclusive.co.uk. We very much look forward to hearing from you in due course.

Best regards

Kerra Byrne
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

This was an overnight treat by our children for my wife and I to savour the elite. The building appears modern in build but on an old theme with furniture to compliment. On arrival, we were told by reception that this was the best Hotel in the area, no doubt true. Our room was enormous, probably too big with a king sized bed that barely figured in all the available space. Suprisingly, the TV was rather small relative to the room. All fittings in the room were of very high quality with a shower in wet room hitting you from every possible angle. Breakfast was buffet stlye with everything to please the most choosy eater. Staff very pleasant, helpful and well presented. A new Spa,Fitness Centre etc... is in the process of being built. On paper, this will provide everything required of the discerning public using such facilities. Overall a very pleasant stay and a treat for us in celebrating a special occasion.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terrypquirke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 September 2017

Dear Terry,

I am absolutely delighted to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us celebrating your 25th Wedding Anniversary and very much hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards

Kerra Byrne
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Came here for a Conference earlier in the year and saw the flyer for "Dinner & a Movie" so booked up for Notting Hill and an early birthday treat.

Excellent evening, lovely venue, attentive friendly service and blankets for the al fresco setting. Food great (not huge portions but not left hungry) and film started as coffee served, together with popcorn and candy floss!

A pretty expensive evening (£50 a head to start and then £40 on the evening for two gins and a bottle of water) but a welcome evening of slight indulgence.

Will definitely look out for this again next year.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 September 2017

Dear Chris,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to South Lodge. I am absolutely delighted to read that you enjoyed the experience of Dinner and a Movie and very much look forward to welcoming you back next year to repeat the experience.

Best regards

Kerra Byrne
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews