We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (661)
Filter reviews
661 results
Traveller rating
549
101
5
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
549
101
5
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews waiting room pullman carriage station house ticket office on arrival badgers pub cream tea station platform booking hall homemade shortbread breakfast is served roaring log fire unique place to stay quirky hotel full english fresh fruit breakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 661 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

We went to The Old Railway Station for two nights, it was perfect. On arrival we were taken to our railway carriage, it was lovely like stepping back in time but in a very good way. Everything was spotlessly clean tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits all provided, even a wind up torch should we want to walk down the lane after dark a lot of attention to detail had been made. We then were invited to go along to the booking hall , which has a great colonial feel to it, for tea and shortbread. This was also used as a lounge during the evening with a log fire and for breakfast in the morning. The breakfast was one of the best that we have had in England, freshly cooked to order, and beautifully presented. If I had to find a complaint it would have to be that the mattress did not fit the bed frame, although the bed was very comfortable but a double mattress on a kingsize frame seems a waste of room. We really had a marvellous time and will no doubt be returning.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pinkdimond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

Stayed for 1 night (Christmas present to me from my wife). From arriving at reception, been shown our carriage accommodation, welcoming tea and shortbread, nightcap from the bar after our evening meal at the Badgers (2 mins walk away) good nights sleep and a great breakfast, we could not have asked for more.

Everything was spotless in the accommodation. Immaculate bathroom and instant hot water. Comfortable bed and excellent reception on the TV. All staff were accommodating and friendly.

Cannot say more it was faultless.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank teenager65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

After a recommendation from a friend, my wife arranged a night at The Old Railway Station in Petworth. Staying the night in a preserved Pullman Car was absolutely fantastic and the actual station building with it's large "Waiting Room" with a blazing log fire being served with tea and biscuits sitting in comfortable armchairs on our arrival in the afternoon in November was great. Breakfast is included in the package. Just up the station approach is The Badger public house which serves excellent meals at lunchtime and in the evenings. We have recommended it to other friends and so far two more couples have visited based on our experience.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank patrickdD8095FQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

Arrived in the snow, warm welcome, log fire in the booking hall, which becomes the breakfast room. Full of period features, rail and station memorabilia, music from the time, breakfast cooked to order and delicious.
We were in Flora 2, surprisingly toastie given the weather, high quality finishes, tea and coffee, flat screen tv, sympatheticially restored.
Though no evening meals served information available on local eateries. We went to Badgers a 2 min walk away which was lovely, good beer, great food, roaring fire.
Perfect for a romantic break, couldn't fault it.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Global560116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

Stay in a Pullman Carriage and pretend it is the Orient Express, all it needs is the noise of the train and you imagine! Wonderful experience, staff great We went in February when the weather was cold and the log fire in the lounge/waiting room was cosy with plenty to read and indulge in the leather chairs and a glass of something! Great pub within walking distance for dinner and / or lunch Petworth House near bye for a visit and plenty of other things to do locally

Room Tip: Not exactly a hotel, an experience
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sammie267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews