We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good access to the Tamar”
Review of Tamar Cove Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tamar Cove Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beauty Point
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Tamar Cove Motel is dated. It's ready for a complete overhaul. Having said that we found the rooms clean and livable. Very handy to every part of Beauty Point. The staff were friendly and helpful and there's a restaurant on the property.

Room Tip: Have a look at your room first. Don't take the room next to the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diandray50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2017

My wife does a lot of cooking and doesnt put up with rubbish food! The scallop pie was excellent (according to her), which is praise indeed. I tried a taste and I agree!

I had the seafood chowder. It was served tepid, to put it nicely, but as it had taken a short while to arrive I was putting up with it. However the chowder was that good, it was a shame not to have it served at the proper temperature. So I got it heated up without any problem.

The chowder was as close to perfect as you could get. It was thick and tasty, but not overpowering. Plenty of seafood, in fact it seems to have been made with the end result in mind (rather than perhaps saving a penny or two and cutting corners). Im making myself hungry just writing about it!

The last seafood chowder I had that was this good was around 10 years ago in San Francisco.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank WiserOul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We booked a table for 4 Sunday lunch time and three of us had good meals but the vegetarian......not even "not so good". She was served over cooked spaghetti with what appeared to be tomato sauce straight from a jar with 4 small slices of tasteless parmesan on it. to begin with it actually looked like a tin of spaghetti tipped into a plate.
Thank heaven the poor girl had some dips and house fries because the only vegetarian dish on the menu was frankly appalling.

I hate bagging a great venue but that was worse than poor.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jamespikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

The accommodation is fine for the money you pay. The rooms are not huge, but clean and comfortable. Very convenient for a short stay. The best part is the restaurant located about 20 meters from your room. Here you can experience the true Tassie produce prepared both traditional or modern way. The chef knows what people like, the staff is very friendly, helpful and accommodation. Only the breakfast is little expensive and it would be nice to have a choice of simple continental breakfast too.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

Booked this property after seeing reviews on trip advisor. Number 2 in the area apparently.

Unfortunately I think the ranking of the accommodation has been falsely calculated as it's mainly the restaurant reviews that are positive which gives a totally false ranking. The actual accommodation was well below what was expected.

The rooms are basically tiny hot boxes with no air con. Absolutely no room to move. Approximately 12 inches of room around the bed and a tiny coffee making area. Zero privacy as rooms are situated in direct view of the restaurant. Had to sit in the dark as the window coverings are black vertical blinds.

Bed very uncomfortable with flat pillows.

Tiny bathroom with small shower. No room to move.

Backpacker standard at best. $129 per night is extortion.

Be warned.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PeterCam72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan R, Owner at Tamar Cove Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Hi Peter, To say our rooms are similar to a tiny tin box is as ridiculous as the exaggeration of the 12 inches around the bed.
No, the rooms are not air conditioned, however, we get very few days here that require that and find the room fans are usually sufficient. Contrary to your experience, most guests enjoy the new Queen mattresses and find them very comfortable.
Unfortunately, if your discomfort is not bought to our attention, we cant possibly know and have the opportunity to rectify the situation. After all, we do strive to ensure all our guests enjoy their experience with us!
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beauty Point
6.7 km away
Comfort Inn The Pier
Comfort Inn The Pier
#3 of 4 in George Town
59 reviews
6.7 km away
The Charles Robbins
The Charles Robbins
#2 of 4 in George Town
69 reviews
39.5 km away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.4 km away
Tamar River Villas
Tamar River Villas
#2 of 2 in Riverside
135 reviews
6.4 km away
Peppers York Cove
Peppers York Cove
#1 of 4 in George Town
361 reviews
25.5 km away
Aspect Tamar Valley Resort
Aspect Tamar Valley Resort
#1 of 1 in Grindelwald
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamar Cove Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamar Cove Motel

Address: 4421 West Tamar Hwy, Beauty Point, Tasmania 7270, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Beauty Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beauty Point
Price Range: $126 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamar Cove Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tastefully decorated restaurant with modern styling - an up-market yet casual dinner venue transforms into a relaxed café-style lunch venue during daylight hours wiith two levels of dining including a spacious al-fresco deck on the upper level for the warmer months. Our modern Australian/Asian/seafood menu presents the best of Tasmanian flavors using local produce. Motel rooms with queen and family rooms, a beautifully maintained solar heated in-ground pool, BBQ area, and a fully licensed restaurant, Tamar Cove is a great place to base a Northern Tasmanian holiday. Relax on the sundeck, rest your eyes on the mountains, reflect on the tranquillity. Take an early morning walk in the garden and begin your day - perhaps a fishing expedition, a tour of the fruit farms or wine tasting at some of the nearby vineyards. General Facilities: Bar, BBQ Facilities, Breakfast, Solar Heated Pool, Licensed Room Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Tamar Cove Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing