We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
eDreams
Agoda.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
nutbagloh
Singapore, Singapore

Great accommodation in beautiful surroundings

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Aug 2019via mobile
Came here to trek and wanted to stay in a lodge nearby. It’s just across the road from the visitor’s center of Cradle Mt National Park. It was beyond expectation as I expect it to be more spartan and smaller since it was for 2 adults. Instead, for the price we paid for 2 nights, we got a little house that could sleep 6 with 2 bedrooms, large living room and bathroom. It was winter yet the cabin heating was efficient and pleasant to return to after a cold hike. The on-site restaurant for dinner was good and while the menu isn’t large the chef is creative and cooks well albeit a little heavy on the salt. All in, this is a great place to stay to experience the beauty of Cradle Mountain
Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
S$222
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Free parking
Exterior
Tripadvisor
S$392
S$314
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
2.0 km from Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Free parking
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
S$293
S$283
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
64.2 km from Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Free parking
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    S$182
  • Algotels
0.6 km from Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Free parking
Restaurant
General
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    S$129
  • Priceline
4.2 km from Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
62.7 km from Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
Free parking
Restaurant
Deepest freshwater lake in Australia. Only stopped there for lunch, but there were many hikers, a shop and coffee shop as well as many trail possibilities.
StayForLong
    64.2 km from Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
    Free parking
    Tripadvisor
    S$278
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Expedia.com
      S$278
    17.5 km from Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    Gumnut queensize bedroom
    Tripadvisor
    S$140
    S$136
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    27.2 km from Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
    Free parking
    Spa
    Tripadvisor
    S$125
    S$123
    Fully refundable
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      S$123
    32.2 km from Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    View more hotels in Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park
    Reviews (1,090)
    Filter reviews
    1,090 results
    Traveller rating
    532
    439
    82
    24
    13
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    532
    439
    82
    24
    13
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews spa cottage cradle mountain national park premium spa electric blankets on site restaurant stove top living room cooking facilities down the road visitor center short drive shuttle buses stayed for nights gas fireplace lounge area heating
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    125 - 130 of 1,090 reviews
    Reviewed 18 August 2019

    Beautiful natural setting, close to National Park Visitor center, large 2 bedroom apartment with quality extras. Walkable to the visitor center depending on which cabin you have. no negatives whatsoevcer

    Date of stay: August 2019
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank Steve D
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 14 August 2019 via mobile

    We stayed for 3 nights in a premium spa cabin. We loved the privacy of the deck surrounded by Pepperberry shrubs, the king bed, and the spa! The bathroom has had a recent fit out and was lovely. The kitchen has most things you need to cook a basic meal. Only instant coffee is provided so we took our stove top percolator.
    The couch was a little dated and wasn't that comfortable! A small gripe!
    Also the gas heater provides lovely ambience with the flames, but it's too hot even set on low so we turned it off and used the panel heater.
    We ate at Hellyers restaurant and enjoyed all the shared plates. It was the best restaurant experience we've had at Cradle over all our visits over the years, well done!
    Overall we really enjoyed our time and hope to return to the wilderness village one day.

    Date of stay: August 2019
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank EsmeBunny
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 11 August 2019 via mobile

    Lodge is comfortable, well equipped kitchen, big veranda, good heating and shower facilities. Possum and wallaby came to visit at dusk and nighttime, and it is interesting to see them so close. Visitor center is near to the lodge, and so is the bus shuttle which located at the visitor center. Had visited the nearby Tasmanian devil sanctuary on morning, as not join the nighttime tour in search of tether, as not enough time to search for a tour, only having one day stay at the lodge. Would be great if the lodge could offer nighttime tour so that those short stay guest could make good use of time at the mountain.

    Date of stay: August 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    2  Thank Joyfultraveller88
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 23 July 2019

    I was tossing up between staying here and at the Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, but after speaking to a few friends who had been disappointed with their stay (for the price) at the Lodge we decided on the Wilderness Village and we were so glad we did.

    Our family cottage was very clean and warm. The beds were comfortable and we loved how quiet it was in the bush. The tv worked well and we enjoyed watching some movies.

    We ate dinner one night at the Helleyers restaurant and we all enjoyed that. The kids also loved playing pool and using the wifi in the guest lounge!! As no wifi or phone reception in our cottage...bit that was not such a bad thing!

    One night I cooked a simple dinner, and the kitchen was adequate for what I was preparing (stove top only, no oven).

    On the last night we ate in the tavern at the Lodge. Our meals were great, but the whole complex looks a little tired compared to the Wilderness Village. And it was so busy, cars going everywhere and not as private and tucked away as the Wilderness Village is.

    My only very small inconvenience was that on two mornings they had a sick staff member so we were unable to get our morning coffee at the little cafe/convenience store they have. This meant we had to drive to the Visitors Centre (I mean, we had to drive there anyway to get the shuttle bus. I’m only complaining as the coffee we had at the Wilderness Village was GOOD!! As opposed to the Visitor Centre where it was very average haha)

    Date of stay: July 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    1  Thank BeePee235
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 18 July 2019

    We spent two nights at Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village in a Chalet. The Wilderness Village is really well located (about a five minute walk from the visitor centre and a 2km walk from the interpretation centre), between the hotel and the caravan park. The chalet was really clean and well maintained, and the heaters kept the place lovely and warm despite the freezing conditions outside. The beds had electric blankets, but we didn't need to use them. The hot water in the shower was impressive. We had a lovely outlook from the living room and veranda, and a very cute possum visited us one night in the hope of getting some food (note to other guests: please do not feed the wildlife - it is not good for them!). The TV had a good selection of Foxtel channels, although due to the weather conditions, they stopped working shortly after we arrived (the free-to-air channels worked the whole time though).

    The onsite restaurant is only open five nights per week, and unfortunately it was closed on the two nights we stayed. There are three restaurants located only a short drive away (all open seven nights per week), but there was so much snowfall while we were there, we didn't want to risk driving anywhere at night.

    We were really glad to have hired a 4wd, as although the village has a snow plough, the area near our chalet had fairly deep snow and I needed to put the car into 4wd mode in order to make it all the way to our chalet. Other vehicles were having to park at the reception area, and some were getting stuck (and subsequently towed).

    My only suggestions to improve this place would be:
    1. Open the restaurant seven nights per week
    2. Better equip the kitchen (e.g. the knife was quite blunt, there wasn't any glad wrap / foil).

    I'd definitely choose to stay at Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village again if returning to Cradle Mountain, and I would recommend it to others who are looking for clean, cosy, comfortable and well-located accommodation.

    Date of stay: July 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    4  Thank Ezra44
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews