We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,038)
Filter reviews
1,038 results
Traveller rating
503
424
77
22
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
503
424
77
22
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa cottage cradle mountain premium chalet national park bedroom cabin dove lake electric blankets stove top self cater food supplies living area down the road information centre reception area small kitchen short drive shuttle buses
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 1,038 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2019

Beautiful natural setting, close to National Park Visitor center, large 2 bedroom apartment with quality extras. Walkable to the visitor center depending on which cabin you have. no negatives whatsoevcer

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 August 2019 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in a premium spa cabin. We loved the privacy of the deck surrounded by Pepperberry shrubs, the king bed, and the spa! The bathroom has had a recent fit out and was lovely. The kitchen has most things you need to cook a basic meal. Only instant coffee is provided so we took our stove top percolator.
The couch was a little dated and wasn't that comfortable! A small gripe!
Also the gas heater provides lovely ambience with the flames, but it's too hot even set on low so we turned it off and used the panel heater.
We ate at Hellyers restaurant and enjoyed all the shared plates. It was the best restaurant experience we've had at Cradle over all our visits over the years, well done!
Overall we really enjoyed our time and hope to return to the wilderness village one day.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank EsmeBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 August 2019 via mobile

Lodge is comfortable, well equipped kitchen, big veranda, good heating and shower facilities. Possum and wallaby came to visit at dusk and nighttime, and it is interesting to see them so close. Visitor center is near to the lodge, and so is the bus shuttle which located at the visitor center. Had visited the nearby Tasmanian devil sanctuary on morning, as not join the nighttime tour in search of tether, as not enough time to search for a tour, only having one day stay at the lodge. Would be great if the lodge could offer nighttime tour so that those short stay guest could make good use of time at the mountain.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Joyfultraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 July 2019

I was tossing up between staying here and at the Peppers Cradle Mountain Lodge, but after speaking to a few friends who had been disappointed with their stay (for the price) at the Lodge we decided on the Wilderness Village and we were so glad we did.

Our family cottage was very clean and warm. The beds were comfortable and we loved how quiet it was in the bush. The tv worked well and we enjoyed watching some movies.

We ate dinner one night at the Helleyers restaurant and we all enjoyed that. The kids also loved playing pool and using the wifi in the guest lounge!! As no wifi or phone reception in our cottage...bit that was not such a bad thing!

One night I cooked a simple dinner, and the kitchen was adequate for what I was preparing (stove top only, no oven).

On the last night we ate in the tavern at the Lodge. Our meals were great, but the whole complex looks a little tired compared to the Wilderness Village. And it was so busy, cars going everywhere and not as private and tucked away as the Wilderness Village is.

My only very small inconvenience was that on two mornings they had a sick staff member so we were unable to get our morning coffee at the little cafe/convenience store they have. This meant we had to drive to the Visitors Centre (I mean, we had to drive there anyway to get the shuttle bus. I’m only complaining as the coffee we had at the Wilderness Village was GOOD!! As opposed to the Visitor Centre where it was very average haha)

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BeePee235
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 July 2019

We spent two nights at Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village in a Chalet. The Wilderness Village is really well located (about a five minute walk from the visitor centre and a 2km walk from the interpretation centre), between the hotel and the caravan park. The chalet was really clean and well maintained, and the heaters kept the place lovely and warm despite the freezing conditions outside. The beds had electric blankets, but we didn't need to use them. The hot water in the shower was impressive. We had a lovely outlook from the living room and veranda, and a very cute possum visited us one night in the hope of getting some food (note to other guests: please do not feed the wildlife - it is not good for them!). The TV had a good selection of Foxtel channels, although due to the weather conditions, they stopped working shortly after we arrived (the free-to-air channels worked the whole time though).

The onsite restaurant is only open five nights per week, and unfortunately it was closed on the two nights we stayed. There are three restaurants located only a short drive away (all open seven nights per week), but there was so much snowfall while we were there, we didn't want to risk driving anywhere at night.

We were really glad to have hired a 4wd, as although the village has a snow plough, the area near our chalet had fairly deep snow and I needed to put the car into 4wd mode in order to make it all the way to our chalet. Other vehicles were having to park at the reception area, and some were getting stuck (and subsequently towed).

My only suggestions to improve this place would be:
1. Open the restaurant seven nights per week
2. Better equip the kitchen (e.g. the knife was quite blunt, there wasn't any glad wrap / foil).

I'd definitely choose to stay at Cradle Mountain Wilderness Village again if returning to Cradle Mountain, and I would recommend it to others who are looking for clean, cosy, comfortable and well-located accommodation.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Ezra44
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews