We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Cradle Mountain
from US$105.17
More Info
from US$100.58
More Info
from US$28.29
More Info
from US$126.93
More Info
Reviews (1,213)
Filter reviews
1,213 results
Traveller rating
998
166
32
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
998
166
32
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shuttle bus national park dove lake ronny creek marion's lookout walking trails ranger station enchanted walk day pass visiting tasmania fitness levels natural beauty wombat pool lake lilla overland track perfect weather visitor center
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 1,213 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2019 via mobile

Weather was average but staff were lovely and friendly. The bus driver was kind enough to stop pn the way back from dove lake for a moment to show us wombats on the side of the road which was great.

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank jessicamD1463HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 August 2019

Cradle Mountain is #32 on the Lonely Planet's Ultimate Travel List. I used McDermott's Coaches to take me from Launceston to the Park.

Cradle Mountain is very beautiful which lots of interesting places to visit within the Park. Dove Lake reminds me of a brown Lake Louise (Alberta Canada). This is due to the tea tree vegetation in this area. The basic walk around the lake would take about 2 hours to do. Since we only had 1.5 hours in this area, some of the other tour members ran around the lake and did it in this time. I walked about 1/4 of the way around the lake and turned back as the path was starting to get rough. There are also no benches on this pathway where you could sit and enjoy the view. (The Grand Canyon had benches and I really enjoyed them). There are some benches at the beginning of the loop around the lake.

The other parts of the park that we got to see were guided by the McDermott's tour guide which added to enjoyment of these areas as he described the history and the vegetation in the areas.

I really enjoyed my visit to this National Park and I would recommend it to others.

Date of experience: March 2019
2  Thank 2torontotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2019 via mobile

Spectacular ...
We did the cradle valley board walk which worked fine for the two kids (9 and 11yr).

We then took the shuttle to dove lake and did some more tracks there.

Can’t really describe it but wow.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank Ilan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 July 2019

This place continues to get better & better but I think that's mostly due to how many hikes I do (aiming for Overland Hike by end of 2019!).

This place has changed since I last visited over 5 years ago - back then getting to Dove Lake you could do on your own but now you've got to go to the Information Centre & Cafe to jump on a shuttle bus that takes you to Ronny Creek and Dove Lake. This does require a parks pass which you'll either pay for a day pass or if you have an annual one, no fee required as long as you can prove your pass.
I like this as it minimises the traffic congestion with having just two buses running at one time but can be a bit of a worry when you arrive a little later than expected (woops!) to do a 3-4 hour hike and knowing you've got to be back at a specific time to catch the last bus instead of having leeway time. Otherwise you have to walk all the way back to the centre to your car which isn't far but after a hike and if it's getting late and dark, can be a bit cold and scary. So make sure to give yourself plenty of time to get there, do a hike and get back on the bus!

The small walks (Wombat Pool, Lake Walks, Enchanted Forest etc) are very good for little people and slow people who want to see a bit of nature and wombats. Dove Lake is great, mostly all boardwalk path, a few steps, one steep bit and easy enough for semi-fit people. Marion's Lookout is great as a return trip in itself but take your time and be prepared for steepness.

All other walks, make sure you have ENOUGH experience, enough time and the right gear to do it. The face track up Hansons Peak, across the mountain and to Marion's Lookout was just amazing, super cool views, loved it! Can't wait fort the Summit!

The weather did change on us quite quickly from good to rainy and windy within minutes and there are warnings everywhere about the quick changes of weather at Cradle so be smart.

I love Cradle it has so much to offer, the lodge is great for overnight and weekend getaways with everything in one place.

Date of experience: May 2019
7  Thank Larissa_Gray
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 July 2019

Well organised national park where shuttles are used to transport you down to Dove Lake where the scenery is spectacular. Many different and varied walks available however can still get cold in October when we were there.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank beno2028
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews