We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going back tomorrow”

Freycinet Marine Farm
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Coles Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: Freycinet marine farm is a Oyster and Mussel farm located on the Freycinet peninsula. As part of their farm they have a farm gate produce stall where they sell their Oysters and Mussels freshly harvested. They also sell Local Rock lobster, Scallops, Abalone and Local wine and Beer. They have a simple hot food menu to eat on there picnic tables.They are open daily 9-5pm and Finish cooking at 4.30pm daily. You can buy fresh seafood to take away or eat on the deck.In winter June, July and August we are open 10-4pm daily.
Restaurant details
Description: Freycinet marine farm is a Oyster and Mussel farm located on the Freycinet peninsula. As part of their farm they have a farm gate produce stall where they sell their Oysters and Mussels freshly harvested. They also sell Local Rock lobster, Scallops, Abalone and Local wine and Beer. They have a simple hot food menu to eat on there picnic tables.They are open daily 9-5pm and Finish cooking at 4.30pm daily. You can buy fresh seafood to take away or eat on the deck.In winter June, July and August we are open 10-4pm daily.
A TripAdvisor Member
33
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

Washed down delicious and fresh tasting oysters and garlic scallops with a cold tassie beer. Can't wait to stop in after we've worked up an appetite on our Wine Glass Bay walk tomorrow.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia F, Owner at Freycinet Marine Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Hello, Thank you so much for your kind review. Yes you cant beat a cold glass of wine and beer with fresh seafood. So happy you enjoyed our seafood. Have a great time in Tasmania
Kind Regards Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2017

This place is a must if you want to have fresh and delicious oysters/seafood. They have plenty of choices to choose from. We took the natural ones and ones with the salmon and they were very good. This place is conveniently situated on the way to the Freycinet National Park. It is an outdoor “restaurant” (kiosk) with tables outside, so if you are waiting to have a fancy dinner in fancy surroundings, forget this place. For us it was perfect at that moment.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MiaFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia F, Owner at Freycinet Marine Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Hello Mia, Thank you so much for your review. So happy you enjoyed our seafood. We love it when people understand our farm gate cafe. We aim to deliver fresh seafood in a humble way. Wishing you the best time on your travels in Tasmania
Kind regards
Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

We stopped in on the way to our accommodation to get take-away. Even though it looks like this business has a high volume of visitors, the ladies were great and packed up our oysters and abalone so we could travel 50km without spoiling the product. Most businesses wouldn't go to that level of service when they are busy, so well done and thank you. Everything tasted amazing when we sat down with some sparkling wine and tucked into our seafood. Recommend.

Thank TVTraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia F, Owner at Freycinet Marine Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so happy it was a great time. Our team are the most amazing people. Have a great holiday in Tasmania.
Kind Regards
Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

As visitors to Tasmania we were keen to enjoy fresh local scallops and salmon wherever possible and our lunch at Freycinet Marine Farm was a great place for this. It operates café style, ordering and collecting meals from the counter. Our food was cooked fresh to order.We were fortunate to visit on a fine, sunny day as we were able to eat alfresco surrounded by interesting landscaping. We shared two dishes and found the seafood to be fresh, well presented and reasonably priced. Altogether an most enjoyable experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John and Lynett... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia F, Owner at Freycinet Marine Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Hello John and Lynette,
We are so happy you enjoyed our seafood. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Freshness is one of our main priorities. Having the farm down the road makes this so easy. Have a great time in Tasmania
Kind Regards
Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

We came here as part of our trip around the Freycinet region. We were aware it was probably a bit of a tourist trap based on previous reviews but thought we'd give it a go all the same. Oysters were nice but not as fresh as straight off the farm in Dolphin Sands (tho move expensive here) and the soy ginger salmon was simply grilled salmon - not sure what happened to the soy & ginger. Not bad but not great and at those prices wouldn't recommend.

Thank Ham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia F, Owner at Freycinet Marine Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Hi Sam,
Thank you for taking the time to review our place. Always wonder about the tourist trap call. Not sure how a family business aiming to sell there oysters and other local seafood to the people passing by makes us a tourist trap. But all good. We just try to farm our oysters and mussels, open them fresh every day for people to enjoy. Have a great time in Tassie
cheers Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Freycinet Marine Farm also viewed

 
Coles Bay, Freycinet
 

Been to Freycinet Marine Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing