We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real find in our way to the West Coast from Hobart”
Review of Hamilton Inn Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hamilton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hamilton Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hamilton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 March 2015

Do yourself a favour and spend a night at this quirky, relaxed, 19th century, clean and comfy Hotel when heading west from Hobart. John is a lovely guy who serves good food, even better coffee and likes a chat . Hope we get the chance to call in again. Jan and Bruce

Room Tip: No distinction - quaint and comfortable with a good shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2015

Friendly warm and accomodating. Great antique furniture and memorabilia to browse through and purchase of you desire. Fresh cosy clean linen and a comfy bed. Rooms are small but goes with the era. We were very spoilt with plenty of attention. A great place to stay while padding through rural Tassie

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Redstar14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2015

Lovely old building in small quiet village. Our room was clean and comfortable. The owners were very friendly and helpful. We had two dogs with us and we left them in the car but dogs are welcome in their huge backyard. As the town is so small there is little to do but there is a pleasant walk along the creek. A great stop between the west and east coast of Tasmania. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Aussiebacchus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2015

We were not fortunate enough to stay at the inn but we did have dinner in the pub/restaurant. I have no idea what the other reviewers were talking about but I fell in love with this place. The service was exceptional and the food was magnificent, we have been in Tas almost a week and it was the best meal by far.

  • Stayed: February 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelGirl2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2015

This is an eccentric hotel. The virtues are John & Gina, the welcoming patrons; the vices are the too many shabby parts of the old hotel, for example the mess around the fireplace in the bar/dining area. It is eccentric because it contains too many elements of Fawlty Towers, the menu is haphazard and the booking system is erratic, but it is an interesting historical hotel. It won’t suit everybody, particularly if you’re looking for five star accommodation and service. Hamilton is a convenient stopover spot between arriving in Hobart airport and travelling to the west coast. And the choice of accommodation in Hamilton is limited. The Hamilton Inn is an early 19th century building, but it now needs a serious makeover, a lot of work. The rooms are under the eaves, but the beds are comfortable; the food if you stick to the plate of the day not bad. But it is a very disappointing experience overall.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hamilton Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Inn Hotel

Address: 10 Tarleton St, Hamilton, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hamilton
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing