We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch on a rainy day in Tasi”
Review of Hamilton Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hamilton Inn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hamilton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

We drove to Hamilton for a lunch time treat. The food on offer for lunch are pies salads and sandwiches. We all had a huge pie with salad and chips. Yummy.
The place is historic with quaint rooms full of antiques and objects of interest. We drank our tea from fine bone China cups and the kids had coke.
Friendly warm service and extremely popular. The hostess managed to get everyone a table and was still serving food when we left at 3pm.
Highly recommend a visit.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank anita l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2016

We stopped at Hamilton Inn for lunch. What an interesting place; built in 1826 by a pardoned convict it is an eclectic place that is now home to an assortment of “stuff” collected over the years.
The bar area is a mottled collection of exposed beams, tarps that look like sails wrapped around the ceiling timbers, fairy lights, tables and chairs for diners and bar stools for drinkers; surrounded by an interesting collection of old farm implements and equipment, sort of like a museum within the bar. In the ladies loo (not sure about the gentlemen’s one) there are saucy drawings from the late 1800s. Also there is another large room filled with an assortment of old furniture, the place is jammed packed!!
The cafe section where we ate lunch is equally interesting filled with yet more farming equipment, stacks of vinyl records, books that you can borrow to read while eating but not buy. The kitchen section of the cafe is open so you can watch your food being prepared if you wanted to.
John was our host for lunch and kept us entertained while our lunch was prepared.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank 35yrdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2016

This is a lovely quirky place. we stayed 1 night but could have stayed more John and Gina make you feel so welcome and are very laid back. The historic building is really interesting and they have miniature horses in the field. We had a lovely Dinner and drink from the bar also a very nice cappuccino. Our room and bed were very comfortable with on suite.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2016 via mobile

This place was a destination in its own right. The owners were friendly. The decor not necessarily coherent but definitely interesting. The beds were ok except one which was at risk of collapse. We ate dinner here as well and it was surprisingly good. Not a polished place but fun to have had in our itinerary.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2015

We were supprised in this tiny village to find such warm hospitality after a long drive especially on a Sunday afternoon. Nothing was too much trouble, had a lovely meal and a great nights sleep. Thanks

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hamilton Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Inn Hotel

Address: 10 Tarleton St, Hamilton, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hamilton
Price Range: $123 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hamilton Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing