We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Huon Bush Retreats
Nearby Hotels
Walton House Bed and Breakfast(Huonville)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Islington Hotel(Hobart)
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mayfair on Cavell(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grosvenor Court Apartments(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$93/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Marquis Hotel Motel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clydesdale Manor(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mayfair Plaza Motel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Motel 429(Hobart)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
143
55
11
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
143
55
11
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor bathwood heatermy partnercd playerida baycomposting toiletssurrounded by naturewalking trailstwo nightsnative animalsbreakfast basketeco experiencecommunal kitchenoff gridbeautiful placegravel roadan amazing experience
Filter
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2012

My partner and I have stayed here twice - December 2009 and December 2011 - camping with our tent in the Car Camp South site. Our experience in 2009 was so good that we jumped at the chance to return this Christmas for another, longer stay. We were attracted originally by the availability of wheelchair accessible bathroom facilities, but the privacy and solitude of campsites, plus the sheer beauty of the site, brought us back.

The campsites are private and secluded, without being isolated. You know there are other campers nearby, but you won't necessarily see them unless your paths cross in common areas. Signs encourage respecting each others' privacy. Non-human residents, however, are less observant of signage - you can expect plenty of visits from rufus wallabies and possums.

The wheelchair accessible bathroom facilities are excellent - best I have seen at a campsite - roll-in shower, toilet with handrails and a sink with easy access. The only missing element is a seat or chair for the shower. A plastic garden chair is available for the shower, but this won't suit everyone. It is a steep walk from the Car Camp South site to the bathroom, so we drove up to the bathroom each morning to save my partner's legs and back. There are campsites closer to the bathroom facilities, but these are more suited to camper vans. The toilets are of the composting variety and power comes from solar panels plus gas for hot water and cooking at the camp kitchen. The hosts will, however, charge mobile phones etc at reception. Surprisingly, I found that I got reasonable wireless broadband connectivity on site with Telstra 3G for my iPad.

The Huon Bush Retreats feel like a world away from civilisation - the steep, windy 4km drive from the 'main' road through dense forest certainly encourages a feeling that you are leaving civilisation behind. However, Huonville is only 15-20 minutes drive away (at least half of which is spent navigating the steep, windy 4km drive to the main road), and has supermarkets, a bakery, butcher, petrol stations etc, so it's easy to replenish supplies. Cafes and restaurants in Cygnet and Franklin provide options for eating out when you get tired of self-catering.

We love camping here and hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulHBR, Owner at Huon Bush Retreats, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

It is always nice when people return to us at Huon Bush Retreats. About 1/3rd of our guests are either repeat or word of mouth referrals. So thank you for your two visits (so far...).

Also glad that you found the wheelchair facilities suitable. During the design stage, we struggled with the dilemma of making the site completely wheelchair accessible or having private, nature focused campsites. Looks like we got the mix about right :)

Dont forget that we do have one full wheelchair standard cabin as well. It is a large 2 bedroom cabin, but for our wheelchair guests Sunday to Thursday, we only charge the studio cabin rate if there are just 2 people.

Hoping to see you again next Tassie trip.

Cheers

Michael and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We headed off from Hobart after a week of work and got exactly what we wanted. A very comfortable modern cabin nestled very privately in the trees. A great potbelly fire that we needed one cold morning and nice walks in the fresh air of the forest.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeq2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

an amazing place very very well organised. bush walking magic in the middle of the rainforest. you must go if you are in Hobart area. p.s. Matt the maintenance guy is gorgeous...

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mariodambrosio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We felt a little ripped off, after arriving for a nights accommodation. Charged $175 for the night, in September. Normally I ask to view accommodation, before committing, but unfortunately relied on the brochures. No one else booked in any of the cabins that we knew of. Overpriced for this time of the year. Can imagine paying that in peak season! Would be a rip off if paying any more than that even in peak season tho for a studio cabin! Yes it was clean, and yes the guys have put in a fair amount of work in establishing the surroundings. A long steep drive on gravel, heading up to retreat! Disappointed I couldn't plug in to a hair dryer or charge the mobile in the cabin, as there were no powerpoints. I think the brochures look great, but we were a bit disappointed. Understand it is "eco" but it lacked what I think are some basics! We have stayed in many retreats, including eco, and found this to be overpriced, even for Tassie. Sorry to say.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 545LOU50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Huon Bush Retreats is a really nice set up. cabins are all spread apart so you have complete privacy. The only other living creatures to see being the possums and wallabies that we hand fed from our door. Cabins are comfortable and spacious.
The downer: the stereos in the room dont have iPod connection and the cd supply wasn't so hot.
This sounds trivial, but when you're on a girls weekend away, there is no music or tv and you're in the wilderness, it's a big deal. Lucky we had a packet of cards!!
All in all, I'd recommend the Retreats for a cosy weekend getaway with your hot boyfriend. I wouldn't take kids there nor would I return for a girls weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elli2427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews