We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“True Tassie Culture” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Huon Bush Retreats

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Huon Bush Retreats
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Katoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“True Tassie Culture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Huon Bush Retreats impresses as a destination of quintessential Tasmanian culture to those who know a bit about Tassie. Not afraid to extend the environmental habits of human beings to be a bit more earth friendly, one gets the sense that you are participating in a project that was born of vision before it was the thing to do. For a start, apparently it was built on farmland and reclaimed through planting and planning and hard yakka the like of which many areas of our country are in desperate need of. Michael and Paul have overseen this green reconstruction while also building an excellent walking track through many terrains including rainforest on the way to Mt Misery. Signs instruct on the interpretations of aboriginal and settler experience alike and the retreat begins to ask you to be inclusive and respectful in your language. Before long you are pondering the continental drifts, the aboriginal history, the climate and it’s current dilemmas, the time for recovery of rainforests and the beauty of the Huon. The camping areas are a treat with camp cooking facilities available under a shared cover of excellent standard. Your hosts are as sensitive as the local fauna and only interact as much as you seek out as they allow you to retreat with a capital R. Each cabin and camp site is made for a sense of private wilderness and throw you into a world of your own, and of nature. However, if you do seek assistance Michael will sell you untold varieties of jams, chutneys and the like at an amazing price. He will even provide dinner to have with the wine in your cabin which you can soak up while having an outdoor bath in the intense Tassie weather! Retreats do not have to be boring! The Huon Bush Retreats are grounded in the earth we need to get to know how to reconnect with, how to heal. We stayed four nights in summer, two camping and two in a cabin, but the cabins have great slow combustion heaters so winter should be snug too.

Dan M

Room Tip: You can book a camp site away from the track if you want. There are teepees for those so inclined an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielM358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    50
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
28
115
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

My partner and I have stayed here twice - December 2009 and December 2011 - camping with our tent in the Car Camp South site. Our experience in 2009 was so good that we jumped at the chance to return this Christmas for another, longer stay. We were attracted originally by the availability of wheelchair accessible bathroom facilities, but the privacy and solitude of campsites, plus the sheer beauty of the site, brought us back.

The campsites are private and secluded, without being isolated. You know there are other campers nearby, but you won't necessarily see them unless your paths cross in common areas. Signs encourage respecting each others' privacy. Non-human residents, however, are less observant of signage - you can expect plenty of visits from rufus wallabies and possums.

The wheelchair accessible bathroom facilities are excellent - best I have seen at a campsite - roll-in shower, toilet with handrails and a sink with easy access. The only missing element is a seat or chair for the shower. A plastic garden chair is available for the shower, but this won't suit everyone. It is a steep walk from the Car Camp South site to the bathroom, so we drove up to the bathroom each morning to save my partner's legs and back. There are campsites closer to the bathroom facilities, but these are more suited to camper vans. The toilets are of the composting variety and power comes from solar panels plus gas for hot water and cooking at the camp kitchen. The hosts will, however, charge mobile phones etc at reception. Surprisingly, I found that I got reasonable wireless broadband connectivity on site with Telstra 3G for my iPad.

The Huon Bush Retreats feel like a world away from civilisation - the steep, windy 4km drive from the 'main' road through dense forest certainly encourages a feeling that you are leaving civilisation behind. However, Huonville is only 15-20 minutes drive away (at least half of which is spent navigating the steep, windy 4km drive to the main road), and has supermarkets, a bakery, butcher, petrol stations etc, so it's easy to replenish supplies. Cafes and restaurants in Cygnet and Franklin provide options for eating out when you get tired of self-catering.

We love camping here and hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulHBR, Owner at Huon Bush Retreats, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
It is always nice when people return to us at Huon Bush Retreats. About 1/3rd of our guests are either repeat or word of mouth referrals. So thank you for your two visits (so far...).

Also glad that you found the wheelchair facilities suitable. During the design stage, we struggled with the dilemma of making the site completely wheelchair accessible or having private, nature focused campsites. Looks like we got the mix about right :)

Dont forget that we do have one full wheelchair standard cabin as well. It is a large 2 bedroom cabin, but for our wheelchair guests Sunday to Thursday, we only charge the studio cabin rate if there are just 2 people.

Hoping to see you again next Tassie trip.

Cheers

Michael and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

We headed off from Hobart after a week of work and got exactly what we wanted. A very comfortable modern cabin nestled very privately in the trees. A great potbelly fire that we needed one cold morning and nice walks in the fresh air of the forest.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeq2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robina, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

an amazing place very very well organised. bush walking magic in the middle of the rainforest. you must go if you are in Hobart area. p.s. Matt the maintenance guy is gorgeous...

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mariodambrosio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

We felt a little ripped off, after arriving for a nights accommodation. Charged $175 for the night, in September. Normally I ask to view accommodation, before committing, but unfortunately relied on the brochures. No one else booked in any of the cabins that we knew of. Overpriced for this time of the year. Can imagine paying that in peak season! Would be a rip off if paying any more than that even in peak season tho for a studio cabin! Yes it was clean, and yes the guys have put in a fair amount of work in establishing the surroundings. A long steep drive on gravel, heading up to retreat! Disappointed I couldn't plug in to a hair dryer or charge the mobile in the cabin, as there were no powerpoints. I think the brochures look great, but we were a bit disappointed. Understand it is "eco" but it lacked what I think are some basics! We have stayed in many retreats, including eco, and found this to be overpriced, even for Tassie. Sorry to say.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 545LOU50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huonville
29.0 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
37.1 km away
Driftwood Cottages
Driftwood Cottages
#1 of 5 in Dover
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
6.3 km away
Huonville Guesthouse
Huonville Guesthouse
#4 of 5 in Huonville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Walton House Bed and Breakfast
21.0 km away
Tahune Air Walk Lodge
Tahune Air Walk Lodge
#1 of 3 in Geeveston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
7.4 km away
Huon Valley Eco Wilderness Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huon Bush Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huon Bush Retreats

Property: Huon Bush Retreats
Address: 300 Browns Rd | Ranelagh, Huonville, Tasmania 7109, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Huonville
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Huonville
Price range (per night): $122 - $488
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Huon Bush Retreats 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self contained cabins, tipees and campground in an extensive private habitat reserve, 50 minutes south from Hobart. Relax, explore, experience, nature. We live up to our name as a true retreat. Privacy is protected by 4km winding gravel road, 12 volt solar electricity, interpreted bushwalks and wildlife onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Huon Bush Retreats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing