We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We made a mistake ....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tynwald Willow Bend Estate
Ranked #7 of 12 New Norfolk B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 November 2017

Our mistake was staying with Pat and Gary at the beginning of our trip instead of at the end, we are sure that none of our other accommodation will come up to their standard.Our room was lovely with a very comfortable bed and good linen. The expertise of our hosts was impressive and the food was outstanding. Gary tempted our taste buds with some delicious food but I think the blue eye was our favourite.Have never been a big fish eater but I didn't leave a scrap on my plate. The breakfasts were amazing a wide selection of stewed rhubarb, yoghurt, fresh fruit, several cereals, juices and a hot meal cooked to order. The gardens were impressive and there was a good walking track. I hope we will return one day and I hope Pat and Gary will still be there as we don't think it would be the same without them.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2017

What an amazing place - old world character and charm, perfectly presented with everything you would expect of a mansion built in the 1830's, appropriately adapted to ensure no compromise to comfort. Our room was just perfect. We also dined in the restaurant and were treated to a magnificent meal. The breakfast choices were varied and generous, served in the original mansion kitchen. From the minute we arrived, our hosts were welcoming, engaging, and we enjoyed every minute we spent with them.
Absolutely loved it - Thank you Pat and Gary.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Araluen_Park_Cottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Tynwald in New Norfolk for 2 nights, we have stayed at many B& Bs over the years but this is easily the best.
Reasonably priced rooms but very spacious with ensuite.
Tynwald offers not only a great breakfast but a 5 star restaurant dinner at night which is partly home grown and prepared by a top chef. The restaurant itself has a great old world atmosphere.
The hosts Pat and Garry are very friendly and accommodating and have a very broad knowledge of the local area and Tasmania in general, it is only 30 minutes from Hobart and in a beautiful area with lots to explore.
Highly recommend Tynwald.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Damon_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

Set in a great location from which to tour the area, this beautiful house has been cared for and kept in it's traditional style. Pat and Gary were extremely welcoming hosts and dinner was a lovely relaxed affair with a varied menu to suit all tastes. Dinner was excellent, as was breakfast, with a gluten free diet catered for. Our rooms were very well appointed and the beds comfortable. I will be back!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank DalesDiary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

This style of accommodation may suit some people but unfortunately not us. We found the quaint old place a bit run down and full of clutter that carried heaps of dust. We stayed in the spa suite which was fortunate as others had to share bathrooms whereas ours was exclusively for us. The bathroom is tacked on into the balcony space of the old house and while functional was very dangerous getting in and out of the shower over the bath as you straddle across the sharp edged tiles.

You have to hand it to Pat and Garry though, I don't know how they do the b&b thing at their ages however I can understand where some of the comments of rudeness of the hosts comes from. I'm sure they're not rude, just a little set in their ways and expect the guests to behave in a certain way. We also had dinner there which was a little bit hit and miss, my lamb shank stew was tasty but my wife's salmon was far too oily and over the top in garlic which we normally really enjoy. Meal prices are fairly expensive, as are the wine prices but you can ask for house glasses of wine but not sure what you would be charged as they weren't on the price list.

Not a cheap place to stay, but if you are into an old style experience then it may be for you. Probably not for us though.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Aussie_Tourer_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Norfolk hotels
1.6 km away
Woodbridge on the Derwent
Woodbridge on the Derwent
#2 of 3 in New Norfolk
81 reviews
1.6 km away
Rosie's Inn
Rosie's Inn
#2 of 12 in New Norfolk
70 reviews
0.7 km away
Junction Motel
Junction Motel
#1 of 3 in New Norfolk
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Glen Derwent
Glen Derwent
#5 of 12 in New Norfolk
13 reviews
1.1 km away
Explorers Lodge
Explorers Lodge
#4 of 12 in New Norfolk
69 reviews
1 km away
Old Colony Inn B&B
Old Colony Inn B&B
#6 of 12 in New Norfolk
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tynwald Willow Bend Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tynwald Willow Bend Estate

Address: 1 Tynwald Rd, New Norfolk, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > New Norfolk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in New Norfolk
Price Range: S$150 - S$202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tynwald Willow Bend Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1830 Country mansion on the river Derwent. With a stone cottage 1822 Licensed restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Tynwald Willow Bend Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing