We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Colony Inn B&B
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Junction Motel(New Norfolk)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Willow Court Motel(New Norfolk)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Mona Pavilions(Berriedale)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Graham Apartments(Hobart)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
25
13
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
13
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold buildinglamb shankthree roomsquiet streetold world charmshort walkappointed roomsbreakfast supplieseach morninggood sizeone night staythe rivertwo nightsyogurtlydiaantiquesconvict
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2017

Despite many B&Bs closing over the winter months, Lydia and James welcomed a couple of visitors for a one-night stay. A superb dinner of lamb-shanks for one and a beaut steak for the other was also provided at a delightfully 'old-fashioned' setting in front of a warming fire. The veges provided were terrific (yes, even the Brussel Sprouts!). Complimentary sherry or port in our warm en-suite room was also much appreciated. Lydia was a charming host and happy to share her knowledge of the area to inform our visit.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank CommodoreBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia G, Owner at Old Colony Inn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Sorry for delay in reply. owing to chest infection. Your review lifted my spirit it was so kind of you to take the time to do this. Lovely you enjoyed the Dinner & especially the fire.

Sincerely Lydia & James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

We spend two nights in this unusual B&B in a quiet street off the New Norfolk to Hobart Road. The town itself oozes history and is ideally located overlooking the Derwent River.The building itself was built in 1815 and over many years converted by convicts to a colonial house. There is adequate parking outside and access to the accommodation is via a private walkway/path. The owners compliment the inn which houses a plethora of antiques - definitely browse through the rooms which will bring back memories of days gone by!! Evening meals have a limited menu but each dish is cooked with passion to one's requirements-hope you like your vegetables! as you eat well from the owners veggie garden. The rooms are a good size but there is a little clutter with so much furniture - accommodation includes a continental breakfast but there is minimal space to sit and eat comfortably. This is a must stay quaint & historic inn and the owners treat you like family-a great experience.

Room Tip: Each room is individual and different and easily accessible from the walkway/path.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AussieDiver53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia G, Owner at Old Colony Inn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Thank you so much for your comments.
The reason for Breakfast in rooms at the moment ,as I explained owing to a recently broken Collarbone am unable to carry Trays etc. over Courtyard which is a fair way from Kitchen. However soon to be changed back to Dining room.
So lovely to hear your other comments, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. It is lovely to cook & have it so much appreciated. Thanks again.

Sincerlely Lydia & James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

So nice to escape the hotel/motel same same experience. This is a welcoming quirky B&B steeped in history, which had an orginal Oust house. The gem is, not just the ability to buy an antique or two, but, the delightfully moreish home cooking (lamb shanks!!).

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Fleur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia G, Owner at Old Colony Inn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thank you Fleur. It was our pleasure to serve & cook for you.Thank you so much for your lovely comments Sincerely Lydia & James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

This was definitely the most amazingly unique B & B we have ever stayed in. The owners are just charming and despite the place being out of yesteryear it was like stepping back into a bygone era. Lydia is a collector of beautiful old china, photos and lots more. The antique doll's house was just amazing. Our room was different to what you would expect but it was comfortable and we had a great nights sleep. We had dinner there which was beautifully cooked with heaps of vegetables and so hot. The breakfast supplies were plentiful especially after a big dinner.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adventurous56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia G, Owner at Old Colony Inn B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a nice review, We try to be different from others & are so fortunate to live in such a historic home. We love to share with others & so gratifiying to be appreciated for our efforts

Sincerely Lydia & James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017

Very interesting old building - room was clean and very comfortable with everything we needed. Breakfast was adequate for us with a good variety of cereal - we had an evening meal which was lovely, service was good with our steaks cooked how we asked . Owners very very friendly and helpful. Parking was in quiet street next to hotel. Some interesting antiques around the building.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews