We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
67
4
8
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
4
8
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverthree nightsmain coursedining roomroad noisesalmonderwentluxurysalonballroomhistoryporthobartgardenwonderstimpots
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2017

1825 renovated mansion, only eight rooms, on the river, with all rooms enjoying a view.
Stayed three nights for my 60th birthday and it was a truly wonderful few days, Tim looked after us magnificently and even organised the local Platypus to gambol in the river below us as we breakfasted. Lucky to have had the place to ourselves for two nights, we were spoiled rotten by Tim and the Chef.

Really can't speak too highly of Woodbridge. Lucky enough to meet the owner and she was just as welcoming and lovely as every other person involved.

When you stay make sure you utilize the rooms for everyone's use, ballroom, coffee and tea, honesty system bar ridge, complimentary port and sherry, the list goes on.

Room Tip: make sure you book the breakfast and dinner package, Woodbridge provide a small dinner or an option of 4 courses. Both are brilliant.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john g, Owner at Woodbridge on the Derwent, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Dear Paul G

If only we could get the platypus to perform on cue! Unfortunately they are not on the payroll, so are not as reliable as our wonderful staff.
I will pass on your comments to Tim, Chefs Celia and Michelle, and I also the lovely Alona - 'spoiling you rotten' is our aim.

Delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Woodbridge and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Regards
Laurelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017

We stayed at Woodbrige for one night as we had been in Hobart for 4 days since this was our 40th Anniversary,it was the highlight of the trip but to our disapointment was not up to expectation the breakfast was very poor considereing we had come from a B.B in Hobart that was outstanding no bathroom amenities ,the history of the house is very interesting,and is in a beautiful location on the Derwent with a lovely view from the rooms.Tim was a nice host when we arrived.In our room not even a congratulations note or chocolates considering the price is very expensive.Also as the town is very small with not many eataries we were not sent an email to tell us the house chef will not be their so we can make other dinner arrangements very misleading.

Room Tip: Very Disappointed!!!!
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ciantar2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john g, Owner at Woodbridge on the Derwent, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2017

Dear ciantar2017
We are delighted that you enjoyed our beautiful location and the lovely views from your room as well as Woodbridge's amazing history.
We were also delighted to read your glowing comment in our Guest Book which says how much you had enjoyed your stay.
We were therefore surprised to read this review and your email of complaint yesterday. Very confusing.
We are pleased that you thought that Tim, our Guest Services Manager, was a good host. Tim is also surprised to read your review and email because there was no indication to him during your stay, or at checkout, that there was any complaint. If Tim had been made aware of any issue, he could have addressed same and attempted to rectify immediately.

I understand that, at Checkin, Tim wished you a Happy Anniversary but was advised that the day that you were staying with us was not your anniversary.
Our Welcome email sent 2 weeks prior to arrival, asks if guests would like any special arrangements made if they are coming for a special occasion, and we are guided by any advice received (or not in this case).
Thank you for the opportunity to clarify about dinners. We do attempt to give guests every opportunity to make dinner reservations, and guests are advised repeatedly that 'dinner is not necessarily available without prior reservation'. This is stated on our website, on the reservation platform (which invites guests to book dinner), and again on the welcome email sent 2 weeks prior to arrival (which again invites guests to book dinner). As ours is private dining, and not open to the public, chef is obviously not scheduled to cook dinner if none of the guests have indicated that they want dinner.
We use Moulton Brown toiletries which I believe were in your room. Your email yesterday said that you were missing earbuds and face wipes, and, of course, we would have rectified this immediately had we been informed.
Our breakfast is advertised as a Continental Breakfast, and is generally very well received. You booked a Continental Breakfast on your reservation but if you were expecting a Continental Breakfast to be a cooked breakfast, this may have been a disappointment.
Regards
Laurelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Woodbridge for a couple of nights around New Year's Eve.
The hotel is very welcoming per se with a wonderful garden and an incredible staff, very kind and accomodating.
However given the price you pay you expect more. This both in terms of room quality (a refurbishment is required), cleanliness (spidernets outside the windows and dust) and breakfast.
If you are using the hotel as a point to visit Hobart be aware that you are 40 minutes outside the city centre and that you cannot almost drive at night due to the number of animals that cross the road.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Ele A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john g, Owner at Woodbridge on the Derwent, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

Thank you, Ele A for you kind words, and we will pass on your compliments to our 'incredible' staff. It is that personal care and attention that makes a place special, don't you agree? I understand that you slept in and missed breakfast, and that a small platter was prepared and sent to your room.

We are glad that you enjoyed the gardens. Unfortunately the spiders also love beautiful gardens, as all windows were cleaned inside and out, in the week before Christmas.
We are in the process of a four year refurbishment plan, and, as you observe, some rooms are yet to be completed.
New Year is Peak Season and of course, rates reflect this. Our Breakfasts, advertised as Continental Breakfasts but in fact much more than such, are usually highly complimented by our guests, so I would be grateful to know your thoughts.

We advertise that we are 30minutes from Hobart Centre, but indeed we had not allowed for animal delays at night! Our guests love that they can see so many native animals on an evening drive, and how fortunate you were to see so many!

Regards
Laurelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017

Well, what can I say about our experience at Woodbridge...? Delightful? Magical? Warm and inviting? Each year my son (13) and I go on a Mother/son trip and this year we decided that Woodbridge would be our base. We were so delighted with our choice.

The mansion itself is beautiful. Our room, lovely. Location, perfect. But what made our stay so wonderful was the warm, inviting feel of Woodbridge that owners John and Laurelle have worked hard to create. As soon as we arrived we were greeted by Tim who walked us into the pavilion for afternoon tea and a chance to relax and absorb our surroundings. Then a lovely tour of the Mansion. Our room (Academy) was lovely, on the 2nd floor, with a stunning view of the Derwent.

My son and I loved the inhouse dining for guests only (which made it doubly special). We upgraded to the Chefs menu for dinner, which did not disappoint! The food was elegant yet homely full of delicious flavors and textures. My son rated each night 10/10! Tim was there serving each evening and was attentive to our every need. On the first evening I spilt some oil on my white dress (!), within a moment John was by our table with a napkin and some soda to sponge it off. It was this kind of attention to detail that made our stay so delightful, our needs were anticipated which is such a refreshing change. Although whenever we did need anything, we simply asked and Tim was quick to respond. He graciously set up a table in our room so my son could comfortably use his computer.

Our favorite day was when we stayed in at Woodbridge. We booked a picnic hamper in advance, spending the day in the garden. It was delightful! Compliments to John for his great hamper selection! Fresh bread, lovely salad, fresh baked goods from the bakery, tasmania apple juice and a few treats. We spent the afternoon laying on the bank, playing games and swimming in the lovely Derwent river - a little cold to begin with but once in so beautiful, a must for anyone staying.

John and Laurelle were always about, ready to share a story and pass on history of the area and of course, Woodbridge. So warm and friendly. They certainly set the tone for Woodbridge. I thoroughly enjoyed all our interactions. You have done a marvellous job and should feel very proud of what you have created. I can't wait to see what you create next!

Thank you such a delightful stay. Hakeem and I are looking forward to our next visit, we are hoping to try the Three Bridges suit on our next stay - or maybe the whole estate!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kymberlie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john g, Owner at Woodbridge on the Derwent, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2017

Dear Kymberlie D

We are delighted that you both had such a wonderful time at Woodbridge, and we all very much enjoyed watching mother and son having such fun together, from wooden puzzles in the Ballroom (thank you for road testing the new ones for us) to bocce beside the river and the final big plunge! My only regret is that I did not think to race to the other side of the river to get a great, albeit long distance, photo of that.

It has been our pleasure indeed to share Woodbridge with you, and we happily await your return ... and I promise to have the little wooden rowboat (with motor) on the water by then.
Regards
Laurelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2016

The staff were very nice and welcoming and the room was clean. I was disappointed because I had booked there based on their website, which is very misleading.The photo they don't show you is that of the busy bridge just 1/2 block west of the property. You can walk out of the property to the east for about 1/2 kilometer along the river, but that is about it. We stayed in the Alloway Suite. The website states that it opens out onto the river. The reality is that there is a small window and door (no screen) that you can open. One night was enough as there are places to stay closer to the national parks and downtown.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank gs396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john g, Owner at Woodbridge on the Derwent, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2016

Thank you, gs396, for taking the time to review our 'Lovely' hotel and our welcoming staff.

How disappointing that you did not have a full picture of what you were booking. Thank you for the opportunity to address several matters:
- Your room is described on the website as opening onto the 'garden terrace overlooking the river'. As several web images show, none of the rooms 'open onto the river'.
- The website image showing your garden terrace also shows the Georgian character and size of the windows. With regard to the lack of screens, you may not be aware that one cannot attach screens to a Heritage Listed building like Woodbridge.
- As you have observed, New Norfolk is not an exciting or glitzy tourism construct, but it is an authentic and historic Tasmanian country town. As our name suggests, and our website explains, bridges have been integral to the history of Woodbridge and the area. The bridge shows on all location maps.

For many guests, our central location between Hobart and the national parks makes Woodbridge an ideal base for exploring all of Southern Tasmania. Unfortunately an overnight transit does not offer enough opportunity for our staff to help guests become aware of all that we have to offer - regretfully, you did not realise that the river walks continued beyond the cliff steps for several more kilometres.

It is a pity that you had a different picture in your mind. We are disappointed that you are disappointed, and hope that we may have the opportunity to show you a fuller Woodbridge experience sometime in the future.
Regards
Laurelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews