We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$97
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$97
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/12/22
Vio.com
US$94
View deal
PricelineUS$97
HIExpress.comUS$97
AlgotelsUS$104
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,717)
Filter reviews
1,717 results
Traveller rating
962
424
196
93
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
962
424
196
93
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk pool and hot tub room was clean great stay catawba island cedar point the breakfast area miller ferry hot breakfast parking lot free breakfast hie bay marblehead mcdonalds ohio
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,717 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2022

The front desk is the best, especially Valerie, who is so friendly and helpful. The problem is that this is an older hotel and it shows. It is not horrible, it is average. But Port Clinton is also an average place.. unless you treat yourself to eat at the Gideon Owen winery ( 1/4 mile away) or the brewery (Twin Oasts), then food is average or worse. It is just a run down area. And yes this hotel is expensive...very much so... for what it is, but there are few options. And yes, the price varies.

It was fine and the manager and Valerie made is better... thanks!

Room tip: Few good rooms. Rooms with a "view" look over a pond with invasive plants.
Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kim Bartish, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton-Catawba Island, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2022

Hello Lisa P,
Thank you for the review about your recent stay with us. We are so happy that you received excellent service from our superstar Valerie. We hope you will comeback and stay with us again. Enjoy the rest of your summer.
Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2022 via mobile

Checked into our hotel. Was informed our room wouldn't be cleaned for the 4 nights we were staying. Room has no soap, tissues, body wash, or lotion. Breakfast was nasty unless you like powder eggs and dried bagels. By the end of the stay, the towels were all soaked and had to ask for more and the trash overflowed. The ac smelled moldy. Not impressed.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank inlovewithJesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kim Bartish, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton-Catawba Island, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2022

Hello InlovewithJesus,
We would have serviced your room upon request. It would have been our pleasure to assist you. I am so sorry that you had a horrible experience. We hope you will come back and give us a second try. May Jesus bless us all with positivity and enlightenment.
Sincerely,
Kim Bartish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2022

Had horrible experience. Within 1 hour of checking in we received notification that the roomrate dropped $100. Immediately went to front desk and both women claimed that they are new and don’t know how to make adjustments. Then late at night came back to room and took a shower and looked up and saw the ceiling was full of black mold. I took pictures and showed it to the front desk. Explained I have allergies to mold. Nothing was done to remedy the situation. I will never stay in that horrible hotel

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivian751
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kim Bartish, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton-Catawba Island, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2022

Hello Vivian751,
I am so sorry for the issues you had during your recent stay with us. Our rates will change depending on the demand and supply. When making a reservation you are guaranteed that rate whether the rate goes up or down. That rate is your set price point. We hope you will come back and give us another chance to prove to you we are an excellent facility and take pride in our cleanliness and service.
Sincerely,
Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2022 via mobile

We checked in and left right after putting things in room for evening.I took a shower in morning. When getting out of shower looked up and noticed mold all over bathroom ceiling.I was whizzing for 2 days. Called twice to talk to manager but have need unsuccessful.

Room tip: Avoid room 109. Make sure to check bathrooms for mold
Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank cathy569
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kim Bartish, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton-Catawba Island, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2022

Hello Cathy569,
We are so sorry for your recent experience. The General Manager has been in and out of office due to family emergencies and deaths. Our corporate office has been notified to contact you.
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2022 via mobile

We had such a nice time at this hotel! Valerie was absolutely amazing and very accommodating! Thank you Valerie, we will definitely be back! Rooms were clean and breakfast was great ☺️ the pool was nice and the hot tub was nice and hot!

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank I6203ZZallisonw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kim Bartish, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton-Catawba Island, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2022

Hello 16203ZZallisonw,
Thank you for the review about your recent stay. We so much appreciate you and your wonderful words of praise. Valerie is our hidden gem and we are lucky to have her as a part of our team. Once again thank you for the wonderful review.
Sincerely,
Kim Bartish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews