We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-kept, exceptionally clean, older motel”
Review of AmeriStay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AmeriStay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed 15 May 2012

This hotel deserves to be given a 3.5- to-4-star rating. We stayed the night of May 12, 2012, when it was packed with guests, and we were favorably impressed. Four years ago, Ameristay acquired this older hotel, scrubbed it clean, and refurbished it. Our room was spotless and smelled fresh. The problems cited in old reviews were not present. Front desk personnel were knowledgable, efficient, and pleasant. You could tell that the personnel took pride in their facility, and in their work. Their Continental Breakfast was complimentary, and featured delicious fresh fruit, bagels and cream cheese, specialty breads, breakfast burritos, different types of pre-prepared waffles, cold cereals, milk, juices, and nice hot coffee.

Room Tip: We talked to the General Manager, Linda Hammond, about the specific type of room that we wanted-King...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slickr0ckpeddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2012

Be cautious about staying here. They do have bed bugs which is no surprise with the way that place looks. You don't want to take these little critters home! The place is so old an run down also. The price is too high for the crap u get. This place needs to be torn down! Most the staff is quite rude and unprofessional. Don't waste your time or money on this dump!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gogetem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Last time we were in Portmouth we stayed at the Holiday Inn on 2nd street, it was under construction so this time we stayed at the Ameristay.
Upon arrival i felt this was a bad idea.
The fact that it was an outdoor entrance for the room, i could not sleep a wink all night.
They gave a discount for the room, but it was not worth it still and i was charged an additional $20 for a room deposit, as if, something were to happen. Yeah, Right.
Beds were so low to the ground, not comfortable after a 2 hour drive,
stains in the carpet.
This hotel should not be worthy of the AmeriStay name. Bad smell, could not find ice machine. Breakfast was a joke.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lulu l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

This MOTEL has filled in the pool with grass...it is a motel with outdoor entrances to each room from the parking lot. Rooms were clean, bathrooms were clean. When I called the front desk to ask for more towels, the women told me to 'send one of your boys down to get them'.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gottalovelife04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

we found the room clean and closed to restaurants and stores

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gubbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
1.4 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 6 in Portsmouth
96 reviews
5.8 km away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.8 km away
Super 8 Portsmouth
Super 8 Portsmouth
#3 of 6 in Portsmouth
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 km away
Franklin Furnace Inn & RV Park
Franklin Furnace Inn & RV Park
#2 of 2 in Franklin Furnace
3 reviews
Show Prices

Been to AmeriStay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmeriStay Hotel

Address: 3762 US Highway 23 North, Portsmouth, OH 45662-8620 (Formerly Days Inn)
Region: United States > Ohio > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: $96 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmeriStay Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your AmeriStay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameristay Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing