We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
AmeriStay Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Inn(Portsmouth)
US$50
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Four Keys Motel(Portsmouth)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Comfort Inn(Wheelersburg)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Piketon)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
0
2
6
6
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
0
2
6
6
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2012

The room was okay, but it would have been nice to have some extra blankets. The room had no heat on when I got there. It was below freezing outside and inside. I turned the heat on full blast and the room never heated up all night. After 11 hours it still hadn't heated up. The facets in the bathroom were messed up, but I could live with that if there was heat. Won't stay here again unless I am desperat or it is summer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbdadwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

This hotel deserves to be given a 3.5- to-4-star rating. We stayed the night of May 12, 2012, when it was packed with guests, and we were favorably impressed. Four years ago, Ameristay acquired this older hotel, scrubbed it clean, and refurbished it. Our room was spotless and smelled fresh. The problems cited in old reviews were not present. Front desk personnel were knowledgable, efficient, and pleasant. You could tell that the personnel took pride in their facility, and in their work. Their Continental Breakfast was complimentary, and featured delicious fresh fruit, bagels and cream cheese, specialty breads, breakfast burritos, different types of pre-prepared waffles, cold cereals, milk, juices, and nice hot coffee.

Room Tip: We talked to the General Manager, Linda Hammond, about the specific type of room that we wanted-King and NS-and she made sure that we got it. We had a lower floor room off of the courtyard, and it was peaceful and quiet. Every room that night was filled for a bicycle event!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slickr0ckpeddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Be cautious about staying here. They do have bed bugs which is no surprise with the way that place looks. You don't want to take these little critters home! The place is so old an run down also. The price is too high for the crap u get. This place needs to be torn down! Most the staff is quite rude and unprofessional. Don't waste your time or money on this dump!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gogetem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Last time we were in Portmouth we stayed at the Holiday Inn on 2nd street, it was under construction so this time we stayed at the Ameristay.
Upon arrival i felt this was a bad idea.
The fact that it was an outdoor entrance for the room, i could not sleep a wink all night.
They gave a discount for the room, but it was not worth it still and i was charged an additional $20 for a room deposit, as if, something were to happen. Yeah, Right.
Beds were so low to the ground, not comfortable after a 2 hour drive,
stains in the carpet.
This hotel should not be worthy of the AmeriStay name. Bad smell, could not find ice machine. Breakfast was a joke.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lulu l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

This MOTEL has filled in the pool with grass...it is a motel with outdoor entrances to each room from the parking lot. Rooms were clean, bathrooms were clean. When I called the front desk to ask for more towels, the women told me to 'send one of your boys down to get them'.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gottalovelife04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews