We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be a lot better with some work and staff training on being courtious.”
Review of AmeriStay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AmeriStay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Was working in the area for a few weeks so this is where the company placed our group. Each Sunday upon check in the clerk was very rude and short spoken.
There is a vacant lot behind building that would be convenient for guest if they would pave it and make a parking lot for the guest staying in the rooms on the back side of building. Instead you have to drag all your belongings down the sidewalk to back of building to your room.
I could not decide if the carpet in my room was suppose to be blue or purple. It was both depending on where the furniture was placed.
Mattress- needed replaced in my room as broken springs were protruding through.
Pillows needed replaced unless you like using a 3-1 ratio.
Air condition unit- would NOT cool properly. Turned it down to 62 upon arriving and still was not cool 3 hours later. Also, housekeeping must adjust it when your not there. I am hot natured and would leave it on med cool while I was at work, but every afternoon when I came in, it was back on heat. Infuriating as I cannot breathe when room is too hot.
Chairs at table in my room were too small for a larger person.
Shower curtain was in attack mode the entire time thru every shower. Mounted too far inward and as soon as you get wet, it is ON YOU !!! I hate that ......
Pool and Fitness center - cannot comment. I was there for work. By the time I got in, showered and ate it was bedtime for me.
Coffee and OJ served 24/7.
Breakfast - adequate. They had breakfast burritos, egg/cheese croissants/muffins; apples, oranges, bananas, Milk and cereals.
Restaurants near by - found a Taco Bell/ KFC duo and a Subway next door. That was it.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on back of building unless you don't mind walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarBur_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2012

The room was okay, but it would have been nice to have some extra blankets. The room had no heat on when I got there. It was below freezing outside and inside. I turned the heat on full blast and the room never heated up all night. After 11 hours it still hadn't heated up. The facets in the bathroom were messed up, but I could live with that if there was heat. Won't stay here again unless I am desperat or it is summer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbdadwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

This hotel deserves to be given a 3.5- to-4-star rating. We stayed the night of May 12, 2012, when it was packed with guests, and we were favorably impressed. Four years ago, Ameristay acquired this older hotel, scrubbed it clean, and refurbished it. Our room was spotless and smelled fresh. The problems cited in old reviews were not present. Front desk personnel were knowledgable, efficient, and pleasant. You could tell that the personnel took pride in their facility, and in their work. Their Continental Breakfast was complimentary, and featured delicious fresh fruit, bagels and cream cheese, specialty breads, breakfast burritos, different types of pre-prepared waffles, cold cereals, milk, juices, and nice hot coffee.

Room Tip: We talked to the General Manager, Linda Hammond, about the specific type of room that we wanted-King...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slickr0ckpeddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Be cautious about staying here. They do have bed bugs which is no surprise with the way that place looks. You don't want to take these little critters home! The place is so old an run down also. The price is too high for the crap u get. This place needs to be torn down! Most the staff is quite rude and unprofessional. Don't waste your time or money on this dump!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gogetem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Last time we were in Portmouth we stayed at the Holiday Inn on 2nd street, it was under construction so this time we stayed at the Ameristay.
Upon arrival i felt this was a bad idea.
The fact that it was an outdoor entrance for the room, i could not sleep a wink all night.
They gave a discount for the room, but it was not worth it still and i was charged an additional $20 for a room deposit, as if, something were to happen. Yeah, Right.
Beds were so low to the ground, not comfortable after a 2 hour drive,
stains in the carpet.
This hotel should not be worthy of the AmeriStay name. Bad smell, could not find ice machine. Breakfast was a joke.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lulu l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
1.4 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 6 in Portsmouth
96 reviews
5.8 km away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown
12.5 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Wheelersburg
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Super 8 Portsmouth
Super 8 Portsmouth
#3 of 6 in Portsmouth
302 reviews
21.5 km away
Franklin Furnace Inn & RV Park
Franklin Furnace Inn & RV Park
#2 of 2 in Franklin Furnace
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmeriStay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmeriStay Hotel

Address: 3762 US Highway 23 North, Portsmouth, OH 45662-8620 (Formerly Days Inn)
Region: United States > Ohio > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: $96 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmeriStay Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your AmeriStay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameristay Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing