We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money”
Review of AmeriStay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AmeriStay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Portsmouth
Reviewed 24 May 2015

We booked a room at this hotel over a year in advance for a cycling event. Our booking price was less than $60 with tax. However, when we checked in, the amount charged to us was more than double ($139.06) what we booked at. We would have never booked this place for that price. The overcharge was bad enough but there were no bath towels in the room, the ice machine has been removed (by the Fire Marshall according to the desk clerk) and there was no wi-if in our room. I contacted the owner about these issues and he never responded. Don't waste your money on this place. Stay at the Super 8 or Comfort Inn which are located very close.

Room Tip: Be prepared to pay whatever they decide to charge no matter what you book at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2015

I stay here occasionally due to thats were my work puts us. It is an "old" but clean place. Location is close to all the local stuff. The staff is always very nice! Forget their claim of free internet/wifi. It barely works if you're in the 1st two rooms closest to the lobby. 3 rooms or further away & forget using the "free internet". The free breakfast is good "considering" hotel price & type of hotel. Most of its business is from railroaders & some construction workers. Like I said clean but "old". For a few dollars more & you can stay somewhere much nicer. Especially if you'll check prices online. Like I said, clean but "old".

Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
Thank stanleymetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2015

Found a few roaches in the bathroom, carpets weren't clean and looked as if they hadn't been cleaned in months, although the lady up front was nice, it wasn't a good experience at all! No internet, half the lights in the room worked and half didn't, and then they knocked on the door when the do not disturb sign was up. How disrespectful can you be?

  • Stayed: February 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissMandi90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2014

clean old motel but no internet for the 2 nights we stayed there. we called the desk twice about the internet and they couldn't do anything about it. (they advertise free internet) I don't think they have internet anymore if you notice the dates of the previous reviews, they must have gone off the grid in july 2014.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marjorie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adinl, Manager at AmeriStay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2014

I am so sorry to learn you had issues with our wi-fi , we were having problems that weekend due to the high volume of users . We are working to correct this issue . We take all reviews seriously as it helps us improve on our services. Sincerely Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Despite the old horrible reviews on TripAdvisor, in May of 2014 the Ameristay Hotel in Portsmouth was OK. The desk clerk at the filled-up Comfort Inn recommended it over the nearby Motel 8 because of the reports he'd heard from customers.

Ameristay Portsmouth is an old but clean motel that now caters to budget customers and weekly renters. Don't expect luxury. The swimming pool was filled in with dirt and covered with grass. It looks like the motel used to include a restaurant but that was long gone. Some of the outside paint was peeling.

If you are sensitive to noise, you'll want to bring earplugs. The in-room refrigerator rattled so much that I unplugged it. I need to unplug most motel refrigerators because of noise, not just this one. Early in the morning, a flock of amazingly noisy birds started chirping outside the room. This was in a room that faced the pool.

On the plus side, I didn't hear a peep out of the other guests. There weren't many of them!

The staff was friendly and glad to have me there.

I've stayed in much worse places.

The Ameristay Portsmouth is OK.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KetteringTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.4 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Portsmouth
97 reviews
5.8 km away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.8 km away
Super 8 Portsmouth
Super 8 Portsmouth
#3 of 6 in Portsmouth
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmeriStay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmeriStay Hotel

Address: 3762 US Highway 23 North, Portsmouth, OH 45662-8620 (Formerly Days Inn)
Region: United States > Ohio > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range: $94 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmeriStay Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your AmeriStay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameristay Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing