We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overwhelming air freshener smell in room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wheeling-St. Clairsville, OH
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Saint Clairsville
Reviewed 31 March 2017

Not up to Marriott standards. The entire place looks like it needs cleaned , painted and updated. There was dirt all over the entryway. I will not stay here again. Staff was friendly but not professional.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank koolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wheeling-St. Clairsville, OH, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2017

Dear koolady, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate it. Please accept our apologies for the less than satisfactory stay. Your comments are appreciated and helps us focus on the areas that need our attention. Cleanliness and Comfort are standards that we should be meeting and we can absolutely do better. We hope you will give us another opportunity to provide the experience you expect and deserve from our brand whenever your travels bring you this way.

Yours In Hospitality,
Ray Hunt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2017

If there was an option for Zero i would have chosen it. There are many issues with this hotel.

It is dirty, scuff marks all over the doors.
Mud on the floors
Unfinished work in the hallways
The rooms have a musty odor to them
The breakfast is served at whatever time is convenient for them
They often place the "Assisting a customer" sign on desk but can be heard giggling in the back while people wait for assistance.
Kids run wildly down the halls screaming and playing at all hours
The Heat / AC works in the rooms when it wants to and never gets fixed
Even if you put the do not disturb sign on room they come in anyway

When asked to address any of the above issues you are given lip service with no results

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Benny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wheeling-St. Clairsville, OH, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017


Dear Benny M, thank you for being our guest and for the feedback. Please accept our apology for the lack of attention you received from our staff members in regards to your inquiries and requests. Guest service is our number one amenity and we are sorry we did not deliver during your stay. What you described is not the level of hospitality we are trained to provide and we are disappointed to hear how you were treated. This has been addressed as we pride ourselves in offering an exceptional stay for our guests, and we hope you will give us the opportunity to make it up to you on your next trip to the area.

Yours In Hospitality,
Ray Hunt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Greeted warmly by Ray, the manager, and appreciated his friendliness. Room was spacious and clean, and the breakfast had an excellent selection, and the food was hot and fresh even toward the end of serving period. Staff went above and beyond in providing a wine bottle opener when we inquired about wine glasses. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank jnielsen0044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wheeling-St. Clairsville, OH, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Dear jnielsen0044,

Thank you for taking a minute from your day to leave us a review. We appreciate it. It’s our pleasure knowing you loved all the aspects of your stay, especially your spotless room and our complimentary hot breakfast. Thanks again, we look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.

Yours In Hospitality,
Ray Hunt
General Manager
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wheeling-St. Clairsville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017

We have stayed here before and are Marriott reward members, so what we encountered on this stay was most disappointing. I will say that the staff was friendly. However,our room looked like it was in the middle of renovations. Patched, spotty ceiling, patched door to bathroom, mirror with silvering all off around the basin. We should have been given a room that was already completed being "updated", not in the middle of it as the hotel was not that busy. Breakfast at 8:30 am with only one other person eating and the orange juice was coming out as water. That should have been checked the night before or that morning and ready to go if breakfast opens at 8:00. The hostess did change it after I asked. Trash can in the dining area was overflowing , again at 8:30 in the morning. No one else seemed to have eaten, except one person. For a non smoking facility, there were cigarette butts all over the grass and sidewalk leading up to the front door, guests sitting on the patio smoking, which meant we had to walk through the smoke to get to the lobby. The next morning, workers were standing at the back door, actually blocking the door smoking and one drinking beer at 9 am that we had to walk through to get to our car. Extremely disappointing. We will not be back to this Fairfield.

Room Tip: Ask for one not being renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dawncart2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wheeling-St. Clairsville, OH, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Thank you for taking a minute from your day to leave us a review. We appreciate it. As a Marriott Rewards member, you are correct to expect only the best from us and we are sorry we let you down. We apologize for what appeared to be an incomplete room. We appreciate your feedback so the problems you experienced can be more quickly identified and fixed. It was our pleasure accommodating you, and we hope you will reconsider and make plans to stay with us again.

Yours In Hospitality,
Ray Hunt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016

From the warm greeting of Rashad to the early breakfast, the staff here made the whole trip worthwhile. There were the "little things" like the note from the maids, welcoming us to this property and wishing us a good stay. The beds were super comfortable, the bathrooms clean and modern and check in process without a hiccup. I didn't get to use the spa/pool or exercise room, but it was adequately provided for. Located just off the freeway and close to restaurants and shopping, it was easy to find and had plenty of room for the Penske truck used in our relocation.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cm K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerX1, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wheeling-St. Clairsville, OH, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

Thank you for taking a minute from your day to leave us a review. We appreciate it. It is so nice to see you recognizing our staff and the excellent service you received from Rashad. We enjoyed reading about the highlights of your stay, and are glad that our location and facilities made your experience a memorable one. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we hope to see you again soon!

Yours In Hospitality,
Ray Hunt
General Manager
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wheeling-St. Clairsville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Clairsville
1.9 km away
Comfort Inn Saint Clairsville
Comfort Inn Saint Clairsville
#6 of 15 in Saint Clairsville
105 reviews
1.1 km away
Residence Inn Wheeling-St. Clairsville, OH
Residence Inn Wheeling-St. Clair...
#5 of 15 in Saint Clairsville
43 reviews
22.2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Wheeling Triadelphia at the Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn St. Clairsville
Hampton Inn St. Clairsville
#2 of 15 in Saint Clairsville
438 reviews
0.7 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham St. Clairsville
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham...
#1 of 15 in Saint Clairsville
493 reviews
0.2 km away
Candlewood Suites St. Clairsville
Candlewood Suites St. Clairsvill...
#8 of 15 in Saint Clairsville
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Wheeling-St. Clairsville, OH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Wheeling-St. Clairsville, OH

Address: 67731 Mall Rd, Saint Clairsville, OH 43950-1701
Region: United States > Ohio > Saint Clairsville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Saint Clairsville
Price Range: $131 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Wheeling-St. Clairsville, OH 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Wheeling-St. Clairsville, OH reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott Wheeling St Clairsville Hotel
Fairfield Saint Clairsville
Marriott Saint Clairsville
Fairfield Inn Saint Clairsville
Saint Clairsville Fairfield Inn
Saint Clairsville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing