We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
35
35
31
18
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
35
31
18
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

My spouse has been staying here 2 wks at a time & as I visit I see how unpleasant or helpful the staff are. No interest in doing their jobs correctly especially when it comes to cleaning the rooms as shift changes or rotation. The men who stay there should strive to do better about keeping their oily boots in truck (as my spouse does) he makes his guys do the same. However the staff that he's dealt with are rude & don't seem to want to be there (no interest in their jobs). Other hotels go above & beyond for the gas & oil companys by having breakfast out for the odd early hrs & soup/cookies etc. for those that come in later. They get the business bc they strive to make it worth paying. The staff is what makes this hotel & from first hand experience & hearing the other men talk this place needs a new start. Ex: when someone ask to have sheets change for new people coming into the room, response shouldn't be "sheet change wasn't on my list" it should be "we will take care of it" meaning if not you then someone will asap! Customer service not it's not my job, you go above to make sure someone does the job correctly.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank amber l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymond E H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wheeling-St. Clairsville, OH, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

I'm concerned about the challenges you expressed with your hotel. I know how frustrating it must be for you when you visit!

We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay
An amazing one! The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service
to all of our guests at reasonable prices.

Some of the things we do to make sure all of our guests are happy including all of our crews include breakfast and hot, fresh coffee is ready for our guests at 3am each day. Although we do not offer all of the hot food on our rotational breakfast, none of our guests leave for the day hungry!

We also offer our gazebo and grilling area that our guests just LOVE! We also offer the equipment needed to enjoy a nice cookout.

The other thing we do for all of our guests, including our crews is our flexible housekeeping. We have one crew that needs housekeeping done on their rooms between 4pm and 7pm each day. Our housekeeping department is onsite much later than your typical hotel. Although we attempt to accommodate all special housekeeping requests, sometimes we are just not able to. We apologize if this is the issue you are having at your hotel.

Another item we offer, is our highly trained Front Office team. They are here 24 hours a day ready, willing and able to assist with whatever the need may be. This system is used quite a bit to inform everybody (including housekeeping) of any changed or requests a guest may have.

The last thing we do to ensure the comfort of our crew guests is to require a room list from the company or the dispatch office 24 hours before a scheduled change out. This way we can ensure we have the proper amount of staff on hand to help guests. Like every other business, we are staffed in accordance with need for the day. It sounds as if your hotel is not made aware of change outs ahead of time and therefore not staffed to handle the unexpected increase in guest needs.

Please accept my sincere apology for any issues your spouse may be having.

I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our
guests are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're
doing wrong and what we may need to adjust to improve the experience for all of our guests.
Please be assured that our entire team has spoken about the issues you've raised to ensure that they do not occur here!

Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us.

We look forward to serving your future lodging needs.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

Not up to Marriott standards. The entire place looks like it needs cleaned , painted and updated. There was dirt all over the entryway. I will not stay here again. Staff was friendly but not professional.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank koolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wheeling-St. Clairsville, OH, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2017

Dear koolady, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate it. Please accept our apologies for the less than satisfactory stay. Your comments are appreciated and helps us focus on the areas that need our attention. Cleanliness and Comfort are standards that we should be meeting and we can absolutely do better. We hope you will give us another opportunity to provide the experience you expect and deserve from our brand whenever your travels bring you this way.

Yours In Hospitality,
Ray Hunt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

If there was an option for Zero i would have chosen it. There are many issues with this hotel.

It is dirty, scuff marks all over the doors.
Mud on the floors
Unfinished work in the hallways
The rooms have a musty odor to them
The breakfast is served at whatever time is convenient for them
They often place the "Assisting a customer" sign on desk but can be heard giggling in the back while people wait for assistance.
Kids run wildly down the halls screaming and playing at all hours
The Heat / AC works in the rooms when it wants to and never gets fixed
Even if you put the do not disturb sign on room they come in anyway

When asked to address any of the above issues you are given lip service with no results

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Benny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wheeling-St. Clairsville, OH, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017


Dear Benny M, thank you for being our guest and for the feedback. Please accept our apology for the lack of attention you received from our staff members in regards to your inquiries and requests. Guest service is our number one amenity and we are sorry we did not deliver during your stay. What you described is not the level of hospitality we are trained to provide and we are disappointed to hear how you were treated. This has been addressed as we pride ourselves in offering an exceptional stay for our guests, and we hope you will give us the opportunity to make it up to you on your next trip to the area.

Yours In Hospitality,
Ray Hunt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Greeted warmly by Ray, the manager, and appreciated his friendliness. Room was spacious and clean, and the breakfast had an excellent selection, and the food was hot and fresh even toward the end of serving period. Staff went above and beyond in providing a wine bottle opener when we inquired about wine glasses. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank jnielsen0044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wheeling-St. Clairsville, OH, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Dear jnielsen0044,

Thank you for taking a minute from your day to leave us a review. We appreciate it. It’s our pleasure knowing you loved all the aspects of your stay, especially your spotless room and our complimentary hot breakfast. Thanks again, we look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.

Yours In Hospitality,
Ray Hunt
General Manager
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wheeling-St. Clairsville

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017

We have stayed here before and are Marriott reward members, so what we encountered on this stay was most disappointing. I will say that the staff was friendly. However,our room looked like it was in the middle of renovations. Patched, spotty ceiling, patched door to bathroom, mirror with silvering all off around the basin. We should have been given a room that was already completed being "updated", not in the middle of it as the hotel was not that busy. Breakfast at 8:30 am with only one other person eating and the orange juice was coming out as water. That should have been checked the night before or that morning and ready to go if breakfast opens at 8:00. The hostess did change it after I asked. Trash can in the dining area was overflowing , again at 8:30 in the morning. No one else seemed to have eaten, except one person. For a non smoking facility, there were cigarette butts all over the grass and sidewalk leading up to the front door, guests sitting on the patio smoking, which meant we had to walk through the smoke to get to the lobby. The next morning, workers were standing at the back door, actually blocking the door smoking and one drinking beer at 9 am that we had to walk through to get to our car. Extremely disappointing. We will not be back to this Fairfield.

Room Tip: Ask for one not being renovated.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dawncart2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00gc, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Wheeling-St. Clairsville, OH, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Thank you for taking a minute from your day to leave us a review. We appreciate it. As a Marriott Rewards member, you are correct to expect only the best from us and we are sorry we let you down. We apologize for what appeared to be an incomplete room. We appreciate your feedback so the problems you experienced can be more quickly identified and fixed. It was our pleasure accommodating you, and we hope you will reconsider and make plans to stay with us again.

Yours In Hospitality,
Ray Hunt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews