We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, clean room, comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Reviewed 16 July 2016

To start and sum things up, yes we absolutely would stay here again, for those who just want a yes or no. Coming up to the building, it looks sketchy and dated....but don't judge the book from the cover here! The staff was friendly, around the clock, the room was clean, 2 bottles of water are waiting for you which is a nice touch, we asked for another set of towels as only two sets came with the room, no issues. Rooms have been updated, great selection on the TV, and overall the beds were not as uncomfortable as other motels/hotels. Full size safe (we didnt use it/have a reason to). Bonus for the pool being open til 11:00 as well, so time to swim after Cedar Point!
Issue? A couple, the pool could have been clean, just need to take the net and skim the surface...just a warning the pool is not heated, but it's not advertised as one either. The bathroom itself is VERY small. Breakfast could have been a little better, but for the price we paid for the room, it was a great deal!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank radze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billy C, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Thank you for your feedback. We love hearing that our guests had a pleasant stay with us!
I will share your kind words with my staff.

We hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2016

My biggest thing anywhere I stay is cleanliness. I was worried when I got to my room as the exterior smelled of urine, but my worries were unfounded. The interior of the room was very clean and I was pleased with the updated decor. The staff was friendly and the pool was clean. Continental breakfast was minimal, but good for a snack. Denny's was within walking distances as was Ghostly Manor which is a nice way to spend an evening. The price was the best for any of the Choice hotel options in the area and the location was perfect for our needs. The negatives: Wifi was spotty, at best, really didn't work well for us. Also, only two towels in the room- standard, in my opinion, should be four. No deal breakers here for us! We will likely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Carebear0826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billy C, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Thank you for you feedback. We appreciate hearing our guests had a pleasant experience at our hotel.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

I booked this motel just to basically have somewhere to sleep due to visiting kellys island and taking the Goodtime cruises. We were a little skeptical at first but used it only for sleeping purposes. It's by no means fancy but for the price is a great place to stay if your going out and having a good time and need somewhere to crash. Didn't try the breakfast. The pool was clean and looked refreshing but due to time didn't swim. Staff was friendly although some professionalism is needed. They are renovating so it may seem are little messy but our room was great. We had their new King bed and we slept great. I recommend drinking your own toiletries and towels. Motel is located behind a Mexican restaurant with good reviews and the ghostly Manor amusement center.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016

Affordable hotel and clean rooms. Friendly staff. The building is a little outdated, but they are in the process of updating. Only problem was the air conditioning did not quite work properly. It was stuck on "eco" and it would not turn on unless the temperature outside was higher even though the room was muggy and warm. I think that once they update the hotel, maybe they will fix this.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

After some cosmetic upgrades (inside and outside) this hotel would be great. The room itself was clean and spacious. Near Sandusky mall and a lot of restaurants. The hotel itself was quite all one floor. About 10 minutes to and from Cedar Point. I liked that due to the fact families were not at the hotel. Would stay again, the staff is very helpful, knowledgeable about the area, and very friendly.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
3.3 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#5 of 34 in Sandusky
363 reviews
4 km away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 34 in Sandusky
390 reviews
3.4 km away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
0.1 km away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
4.1 km away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South

Address: 3309 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5614
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range: $64 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South is located in the heart of Sandusky Ohio on Milan Road. With 75% of rooms completely renovated in 2016-18, we are just minutes from Cedar Point or the water parks of Kalahari, Great Wolf Lodge, Maui Sands & Cast Away Bay. 33 rooms with external access: 4 Suites located on the second floor (2 Full XL beds with sofabed), 23 Rooms with 2 Full XL beds, 5 Rooms with a single King bed and 1 Room with a Full XL bed & a jacuzzi. A Mexican restaurant, Casa Real, is located on the premises. Ming's Garden, a Chinese restaurant, and Denny's are within walking distance. And, Ghostly Manor Thrill Center, a Family Entertainment Center with roller skating, bounce houses, arcade, mini golf, motion theater, walk thru haunted house and jungle gym, is located on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Sandusky
Sandusky Econo Lodge
Econolodge Cedar Point South

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing