We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great! Definitely would stay again!”
Review of South Shore Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
South Shore Inn
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

We got the 3 room family suite it was very clean. The only thing that was wrong it should have more lights in the living area maybe a lamp. Other than that we enjoyed our stay for 2 nights. The pool was awesome kids loved the slides. The front desk employees were amazing very nice! Good job South Shore!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinesh P, Guest Relations Manager at South Shore Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you for the five star review. We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and were able to utilize all that we have to offer. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

I knew that we would be spending a long day at Cedar Point and needed somewhere to stay. This place fit that requirement. Entryway, wallpaper, and stairs are dated looking. We stayed in a room with 2 double beds. The room truly could be used for sleeping in. I am glad that we did not leave the park earlier with intentions of hanging out in the room. The drops do not quite meet & close entirely in the middle. So our out the window awning light was shining it the room into the wee morning hours. Also expect to hear the train whistles . In the morning before checkout the adults each had showers about in an hour apart. I only take about a 10 minute shower and had issues not having hot water.
Breakfast area was not organized flow. The food area was tight and congested. Also, I would recommend that a sign be posted, manners should be that you have shoes and a shirt on in a public area but there was a gentleman in the dining food area without a shirt.
I would have to see or hear of significant improvements to return stay here.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Misty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinesh P, Guest Relations Manager at South Shore Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

We appreciate your honest feedback, and we very disappointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We take your comments very seriously and are looking into the issues that you mentioned and will be making the needed changes to improve our overall guest experience.
We hope that you will consider staying with us in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

What a wonderful little place to stay if going to cedar point for the weekend. We had a room within a mile of the amusement park, right by the pool and steps away from an outdoor grill and picnic table. Room was clean and newly renovated and the murphys bed was awesome. Don't waste your money on a fancy room at the castaway, save it for a fast pass on the rides and stay here!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank warren1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinesh P, Guest Relations Manager at South Shore Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you for the five star review. We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and were able to utilize all that we have to offer. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

This is a great option for a stay near Cedar Point. The staff were so nice, and having breakfast included was a major bonus.

We found the rooms to be great, including cleanliness and WiFi strength. The rooms are nicer than what the exterior of the Inn would lead you to believe.

We stayed there the same time as a previous reviewer mentioned, with a very large group of adults and loud kids using the outdoor pool and hot tub. They kind of just took over the area, and had beer and food. While in the hot tub, chunks of pizza crust (at least I hope it was just pizza crust) were drifting into me in the water. We could also hear some loud kids indoors while trying to sleep at night.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank product-of-canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinesh P, Guest Relations Manager at South Shore Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to submit your review. We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that our staff was able to make your experience extra special. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

The four of us stayed for two nights at this hotel. Although it is not a five-star hotel, it is excellent value for what you had. Rooms are incredibly clean, and the beds are very comfortable. Air-conditioning works perfectly, and the TV also has many stations. The water pressure is also fantastic. I was impressed with the excellent customer service as well. It is a nice touch that they give each guest bottled water when you arrive. There is also a water cooler in the reception area. The breakfast was a huge bonus. There's definitely something for everyone to start the day with a full stomach. The carpets are dated, however they are kept extremely clean. The only complaint I had is some noise from the other guests in the hotel. I do not think that the walls are very thick in the hotel…However, I would recommend this place for anyone on a budget. The proximity to Cedar point is a huge bonus.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tara510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinesh P, Manager at South Shore Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thank you for the five star review and kind words. We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and were able to utilize all that we have to offer. We are currently working on updating our property inside and out. We have already replaced all the bedding and are in the process of new furniture and carpets. As we are a family owned, independent motel, customer satisfaction is a top priority for us! We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
4.6 km away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
5.2 km away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
1.5 km away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#5 of 34 in Sandusky
363 reviews
1.2 km away
Knights Inn Sandusky OH
Knights Inn Sandusky OH
#14 of 34 in Sandusky
304 reviews
5.1 km away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 34 in Sandusky
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Shore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Shore Inn

Address: 2047 Cleveland Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-4406
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range: $82 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Shore Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The South Shore Inn is a family friendly hotel conveniently located minutes away from the world-famous Cedar Point Amusement Park and downtown Sandusky. This Sandusky hotel is committed to excellent customer satisfaction! Our longstanding custom of providing supreme comfort and enjoyment has earned us a stellar reputation in the lodging industry. We’re sure you’ll find that our distinctive service, exceptional value and warm hospitality make us the ideal location to accommodate you and your family or group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your South Shore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Shore Hotel Sandusky
South Shore Sandusky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing