We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awarded best DUMP by me”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Best Budget Inn Sandusky
Ranked #32 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Reviewed 22 July 2009

We had two "non smoking" rooms reserved. After a long day at Cedar Point we checked into our rooms. One had two beds and was what would be expected for a place in this price range.

The second room had one room with a bed and a second room with three beds. As we walking in the door the odor overcame us. Walking in the floor had holes with rotten floor boards. If not for the carpet you would fall thur. The bathroom door would open half way then you had to force it over the bump in the floor. Black mold was on nearly every wall. One section of wall covering near the window fell off because of the mold growing behind it. When I turned back the bed I fould sheets that had many wrinkles as if someone had slept on it and was not replace with clean. The sheet had 3 cigerette burns on it and this was a "non smoking room". The best had a very strong ordor of urine.

The breakfeast was small filled pastries that were not fresh. I even notice a hole in the covering of a chair in the lobby.

I have worked consturction and will say I have stayed in some dumps but this is the top of the list and I would NEVER stay there again. When the staff was told our concerns she said if we were to stay another night she would move us into another room.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tim49120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2009

After 3 days of staying at the Rodeway Inn nearest Cedar Point, my girlfriend and I decided to find a new place because, quite frankly, we didn't think it could get worse than that. Well, this place found a way to do it. The place smells of funk, the pool was one of the dirtiest I have ever encountered and the best part- while we were away at Cedar Point for a day, the hotel's room service (which is legitimately 10-12 year old girls) removed our dirty towels, didn't replace them, didn't remake our beds, and went through our belongings and stole my girlfriend's perfume. If they stole other things from us we aren't sure yet. The manager of the hotel took a didn't care attitude about our plight and showed us some fine print that was signed upon check-in that they can't refund the price of our room for such an occurance. So if you want to pay $50 a night for a foul smelling, horribly serviced hotel that allows pre-teen girls to go through your things and steal them while you aren't in your room- Best Budget Inn is the place for you!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jstiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2009

We knew when I booked our reservations that it was no Hilton or anything,so we knew not to expect everything to be perfect there. I'm guessing that's why I had no problem with the hotel. The staff were great,very accomadating for being there(we had the same front desk clerk when we checked IN & OUT,so we just assumed that she'd been there the whole time).The room was average. The hotel itself didn't look too shabby,& I would for sure stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank playfuldaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2008

The most disgusting hotel/homeless shelter I have ever stayed in. If it wasn't 2am and we hadn't been so exhausted, we would have kept drivng but there were no other vacancies. The carpet had ground in glitter and bobby pins. The counters in the bathroom were crusted with goo. The bathtub was covered in pubes. There were literally pimps and hoes fighting downstairs all night, screaming at the top of their lungs. Even though there were two beds, my friend and I slept in the same bed fully clothed with our hoods pulled up so we wouldn't get lice. We stacked chairs and tables up against the door to keep out the hookers. Horrible.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rollingstone1925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2008

When we arrived, we had to wait at the desk for a long time to be helped and the lobby was really dirty and smelled bad. We finally got checked in and went to our room. The hallway was also dirty and smelled of urine and other foul things. When we got to our room the door would not open. We informed the staff and they said that they would help us. We waited for 45 minutes for them to respond to assist. We ended up having to go to another room. After we got in the room it was acceptable....cleaner than the hallway but certainly not super clean......the place is cheap and convenient to Cedar Point.....if you don't mind filth and bad service you might consider staying here....we won't stay here again....

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler5614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
5.8 km away
Magnuson Hotel East Sandusky
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 34 in Sandusky
383 reviews
2.1 km away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#6 of 34 in Sandusky
2,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
0.8 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#5 of 34 in Sandusky
362 reviews
0.1 km away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Budget Inn Sandusky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Budget Inn Sandusky

Address: 5918 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5866 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel Sandusky)
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range: $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Best Budget Inn Sandusky 1.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated for the summer of 2014, the the Best Budget Inn Sandusky is a big savings hotel! Bring the family and friends along to enjoy our selection of larger 1, 2, and 3 bedroom family-style rooms, as well as rooms with a separate two-person Jacuzzi. Your stay includes free wi-fi internet access, HBO and ESPN, free local calls, and an outdoor pool. We also offer a game room, laundry service, and easy access to local restaurants, shopping, and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Budget Inn Sandusky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Budget Inn Sandusky Hotel Sandusky
Budget Inn Sandusky
Sandusky Budget Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing