We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Joe Rowe zula grill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2018

Hotel was excellent, nice friendly people lots of things to do especially enjoyed inside water park. Joe Rowe at Zulu Grill assisted my family with dinner. All seven of us agree the food was good and the service was prompt. We will return in the summer. Overall great!

Room Tip: Queen Safari room, beautiful kitchen, fireplace balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank thisismegigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,865)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

55 - 59 of 3,865 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2018

Overpriced resort.... Not clean as you expect.... Staff is rude and not helpful! The bathrooms weren't clean. Seems like every time i take my family there it's overcrowded. I would rather spend 200.00 - 400.00 at a location that has pleasant staff and hospitality.

Stayed: February 2017
1  Thank sclar67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kassie R, other at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2018

Hi sclar67,

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear about your experience at our beautiful resort and can assure you this is not typical. We strive to exceed our guests' expectations for cleanliness and guest service each and every day. When we don't meet that expectation we do what we can to make it right. Please do reach out to our resort staff if you have questions or concerns during your stay, they are able and eager to assist you in turning things around.

I hope to see you again someday for the chance to give you the Kalahari experience you not only expect, but deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

We all had a good time from the 4 year old to the 53 year old the only negative is that the food and drinks are VERY pricy and no outside food allowed most of the staff were friendly and helpful We hope to make this a yearly family time event as a great way to spend time with our grandkids. It was a awesome day for the cousins to enjoy the water fun .They all had their favorite from the wave pool to the toilet bowl as they called it

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018

We reserved a one bedroom suite with full kitchen. We spent the first hour of our trip cleaning the room! YUCK! There were dried drops of ketchup on the table. The chairs had food all over them which required scrubbing. The kitchen had sticky stuff all over the counters and on the refrigerator. Food on many of the dishes. The fold out bed had dirty sheets on them and there was food in the bed! The coffee pot was not clean and it was full of old water. The nightstands in the bedroom were sticky. There was red sticky stuff in the tub too. The towels are so thin you can see through them and they frayed material onto us. There is beautiful artwork in the room that is mounted very crooked. The outlets in the wall were crooked. The blinds in the room were broken and parts of them missing which did nothing for eliminating light. There was a "clean" card in our room, proving they cleaned it. We called to get new sheets and housekeeping took the card to report it. There is no excuse for this disgusting mess.
Why is there no recycling at this mammoth facility? Plastic cups everywhere and no recycling! They conserve on laundry but don't care about plastics.
The park and game room are fun. We did notice a lot of dirt and mold growing in the water park. The candy shop is wonderful! Check in/out was fast and easy. The convention center is very nice and clean.
Everything here is very expensive and that is understandable but to have such a filthy room was a great disappointment.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sherry131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kassie R, other at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Hi Sherry,

I'm so sorry to hear about your experience and can assure you this is not up to our standard. We strive to provide an exceptional level of cleanliness and guest service to our guests. When we do not meet that standard we do all we can to make it right. Can you please email us at OHConnect@kalahariresorts.com with a copy of your review and contact information?

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018

We run a four day conference called CodeMash, with over 2800 people involved. All of our staff are unpaid volunteers. We would simply not be able to run this event without the partnership of the Kalahari. ALL of the staff are amazing, and really help us pull off a great event. They have great ideas to share, predict our needs, and make some great food.
We sell out the Kalahari, as well as four other hotels in the area. Our attendees want to be in the hotel attached to the conference center, so there is quite a rush of people to get reservations. In years past this has swamped the phone system, with our attendees waiting for hours. Both the Kalahari and us knew this wasn’t a great experience. They helped us change the process this year to getting a room reservation with their event ticket purchase. This was a great experience for our attendees. Our hotel group coordinator, Esther, is a super hero. She got all of the staff and speakers in, as well as many of the attendees, and handled lots of room changes with two pending winter storms. With just an email she was able to extend the check-in for all of our staff coming from Chicago, so they could travel in a day earlier to avoid a storm. When our event was closing out a week later, we had another pending storm. We had many staffers request to stay to avoid the storm. In all cases, Esther would work her magic, move rooms around, and make room for everyone, all without breaking a sweat.
People rave about the food at our conference, and frankly it is all due to Chef and his staff. It is hard to make that much great food for so many. They work really hard to handle the special dietary and allergic needs of all of our attendees, even making sugar free desserts for our diabetic and keto attendees.
It’s hard not to rave about everyone at the Kalahari, including Leslie, Jerry, Josh, Mary, Josh, Erin, Nicole, Deric, Bonnie and many others. They all work so well as a team to help our complicated event go off without a hitch.
This was our 12th year hosting our event at the Kalahari, and it gets better every year. The Kalahari staff have been great partners from the beginning, even when we were a very small conference with only 180 attendees over two days. We are truly made to feel at home while at the Kalahari, and it is a pleasure each year. We only wish we could visit when there isn’t a snow storming outside, we hear they even have outdoor water slides.
Their team isn’t just trained in hospitality, you can tell it is a true partnership, and it is a part of their culture of how they work as a team.

Room Tip: Decide if you want to be close to the waterpark or not when selecting your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
2.5 km away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
1.9 km away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#5 of 34 in Sandusky
390 reviews
2.6 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 34 in Sandusky
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
1.7 km away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
1.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalahari Resorts & Conventions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Address: 7000 Kalahari Drive, Sandusky, OH 44870-8628
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Family Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range: $170 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kalahari Resorts & Conventions 3.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalahari Resorts Sandusky provides water parks, Safari Outdoor Adventure Park, indoor/outdoor water park, catering/wedding facilities, spa, salon, fitness training in fitness center, dining options, and more.Over 850 beautifully appointed authentic African-themed guest rooms and suites offer coffeemaker, vacation sized refrigerator, microwave, free high speed Internet access, voice mail, TV, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, pay per view movies, and much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kalahari Waterpark Resort
Kalahari Hotel Ohio
Kalahari Waterpark Sandusky
Kalahari Resort Sandusky Oh
Kalahari Waterpark Hotel Sandusky
Kalahari Water Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing