We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Support the Mom and Pop Businesses!”
Review of Maples Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maples Motel
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Reviewed 13 June 2017

We didn't stay at the Maples last summer because they were closed down for repairs. Steve, the owner's son, took the death of his mother extremely hard. I think he went through quite a rough spot getting things going again. If you had met/known Joan, you would understand! What a lady! We just visited for a night last weekend. Steve seems intent on making this family run business a success again! He was very friendly and welcoming. He was working on various projects the entire time we were there. In the morning, he had Jolly Donuts and coffee waiting. Yes, the motel is outdated...but CLEAN! Yes, there are trains! The property is beautiful and Steve is doing everything he can to make it work again! If you want a unique experience, stop at the Maples! It really is a one of a kind experience!

Room Tip: Rooms #1 and #2 have sleeping room for at least 5 or 6!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Hyesagmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

7 - 11 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2016

It has been several years since I stayed at the motel. The woman who ran the business passed away last year. Her son is attempting to get it back up and running. Please contact him to help support the best family owned business I have ever encountered. Caring people providing services at a reasonable price in an area that usually gouges you for being close to Cedar Point.

Stayed: October 2015
5  Thank laurajhowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2016

Maples Motel is in a good location but what keeps them in business is their low prices. We had driven past this motel many times when we were in Sandusky and it looks very quaint on the exterior with shade trees and a pool out in front. The problems are inside. The bathroom bothered me the most with rotted wood and mold plus a very small sink with a facet that you had to hold on to get water. That was very irritating to me especially when brushing my teeth! The carpet was pretty nasty also. It is in very bad need of a remodel. Big joke, it was rated #4 on Trip Advisor! If you are looking for the cheapest place to stay then you have a winner. The free wifi worked better if you were outside. I will not go back.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Biker2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2015 via mobile

I went with my family and boyfriend and it is absolutely amazing. Each time I go back I will continue to visit this motel. Great brothers who own it and very clean and comfy rooms. The place was very, very clean with bathrooms with plenty of folded towels, soap, and the best part is there was plenty of hot water and it never got cold once. I never sleep under covers at motels/hotels but this was the cleanest I have seen.

Great distance from Cedar Point and owner lets you know back ways to see sights. Also grows his own food behind the motel and had doughnuts each morning for his guests. Perfect place. Definitely recommend!! I do not know why it is any lower than a five. Nice long history and beautiful outdoor view.

Thank you for making our stay the best!!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
3  Thank Taylor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2015

Nice motel, nice family runs the place. The motel is getting a little rundown and could really use updating, new beds would be nice.
The trains across the road come through often and having a crossing right there makes for a tough nights sleep. I just put some music on in the room, the wife uses earplugs that are supplied by the motel upon request.

Stayed: October 2014
Thank JTaylor38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
3.2 km away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
3 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 34 in Sandusky
365 reviews
4.1 km away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#16 of 34 in Sandusky
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Budget Host Inn
Budget Host Inn
#18 of 34 in Sandusky
139 reviews
2.9 km away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#8 of 34 in Sandusky
2,914 reviews
8.2 km away
Cedar Point's Hotel Breakers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maples Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maples Motel

Address: 4409 Cleveland Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-4429
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sandusky
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range: $39 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Maples Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Maples Hotel Sandusky
Maples Motel Sandusky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing