We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to Cedar Point”
Review of Maples Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maples Motel
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

The owner was very nice and helpful. The location was great being so close to cedar point and town. Kids loved the pool. Our room was old but clean and stocked with towels and wash clothes. The trains were a bit noisy but that was anywhere in the area close to the tracks. It was a good room for the price. We were only there to sleep as we were gone all day. I really had no issues. The cool breeze kept room cool and sleeping was easy. We had 3 beds so it was comfortable and not crowded. If I ever venture that way again, I wouldn't mind staying again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

My girlfriend and I do quite a bit of traveling to cedar point in the summer. Always seem to find ourselves staying at different hotels. We figured we would give the maples motel a shot. It ended up being more than perfect. It was really close to the park. The owner was really friendly. Actually took the time to get to know us on a personal level. The doughnuts in the morning are absolutely delicious and the beds are super comfortable! I highly recommend giving it a shot. It won't disappoint you.

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank Zachary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

WARNING, NOT AS ADVERTISED. I booked the family junior suite through booking.com. It is currently falsely advertised as a motel with 3 full beds, a fridge, and says nothing about having NO A/C. The regular motel rooms have 2 beds and these amenities. The family rooms DO NOT. They are run down, dirty cabins. The room had a twin bed (that was rock hard and less comfortable than the floor), and two full beds (he claimed were brand new but very old and uncomfortable). The bathroom was rusty, moldy and dirty. The shower handles were broken and moldy inside. TRAINS RUN EVERY 30 min, and it is next to a crossing so it honks. This would be less annoying if we didn't have to have all the windows open due to having NO A/C, and he did not provide ear plugs in the room. This is advertised as having a flat screen tv, it is not, it's a tube TV. When I addressed this with the owner he blamed it on booking.com for false advertisement (THAT IS HIS FAULT) and saying that we should have expected to "have this experience" with the price we paid. DO NOT STAY HERE, there are motels just as cheap closer to Cedar Points main entrance that are much better quality.

Room Tip: Ensure you do not book a "family" room because it is an over-priced cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

We didn't stay at the Maples last summer because they were closed down for repairs. Steve, the owner's son, took the death of his mother extremely hard. I think he went through quite a rough spot getting things going again. If you had met/known Joan, you would understand! What a lady! We just visited for a night last weekend. Steve seems intent on making this family run business a success again! He was very friendly and welcoming. He was working on various projects the entire time we were there. In the morning, he had Jolly Donuts and coffee waiting. Yes, the motel is outdated...but CLEAN! Yes, there are trains! The property is beautiful and Steve is doing everything he can to make it work again! If you want a unique experience, stop at the Maples! It really is a one of a kind experience!

Room Tip: Rooms #1 and #2 have sleeping room for at least 5 or 6!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Hyesagmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016

It has been several years since I stayed at the motel. The woman who ran the business passed away last year. Her son is attempting to get it back up and running. Please contact him to help support the best family owned business I have ever encountered. Caring people providing services at a reasonable price in an area that usually gouges you for being close to Cedar Point.

Stayed: October 2015
5  Thank laurajhowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
3.2 km away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
4.1 km away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#13 of 34 in Sandusky
241 reviews
2.9 km away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#5 of 34 in Sandusky
2,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#6 of 34 in Sandusky
363 reviews
4.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sandusky
4.3 km away
Cedar Point's Castaway Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maples Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maples Motel

Address: 4409 Cleveland Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-4429
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sandusky
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range: S$40 - S$91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Maples Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Maples Hotel Sandusky
Maples Motel Sandusky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing