We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing surprise nestled on 142 acres with delicious meals”
Review of Murphin Ridge Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Union
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Murphin Ridge Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 West Union B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2017

We wanted to visit Serpent Mound and one site recommended this as the place to stay; we thank them. The winding roads up to the Inn are Car and Driver road test material and the few people we saw along the drive, waved to us; it was so friendly :). We stayed in the guest house which is a short walk from the parking area and dining house. Our room had its own porch overlooking an enormous meadow. The rooms are clean and smartly finished with local Amish furniture. We loved hiking the trails and walking to a delicious dinner and breakfast on the patio. We will be back.

Room Tip: The 1st floor guest rooms avoid a staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jmod77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphinRidgeInn, Manager at Murphin Ridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Thank you so much for the kind words. We look forward to you both coming back, just a joy to meet you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2017

We were on a long vacation, and one of our stops was to see Serpent Mound. This place came up as the closest location, so we stayed for two nights. We were very glad we did since the countryside setting was so relaxing and peaceful. They have two cats named Jack and Roberta who mingle with the guests outside. Roberta sat on my lap around the fire pit in the evening, and Jack accompanied us on our entire walk through the trails that have been laid out. We were pleased to see that the place offers a charging station for electric cars (EV), with both a Tesla charger and a J1772 available. We stayed in the guest house; each room has the beds and a private bathroom; the TV is in the common area. There really wasn't much TV watching while we were there. The breakfasts seem to be a different menu each day; they were wonderful both days. Supper is optional and an additional charge; we had it the second evening. It was also very good. We also opted for the fresh fruit and cheese plate delivered to our room the first day. Also in the area are a couple covered bridges which we went to see as well as the Miller's Amish bakery and bulk foods. We will definitely stay here again when we are in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Heartlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphinRidgeInn, Manager at Murphin Ridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Thank you for your kind words and we are happy you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

My wife and I spent a long weekend at Murphin Ridge Inn. We will most certainly return in the near future. The cabin we stayed in was comfortable, the fire pit was comfy at night, the hospitality warm, and the meals were spectacular. We even purchased some of the bacon jam to bring home with us! Don't miss Saturday night when Jerry smokes ribs or the Sunday morning pancakes.

As to what to do in the area, we spent a day fishing at Adams Lake and a day hiking in the Edge of Appalachia Preserve. If you are into birding at all, the entire region is spectacular (per my wife who is the bird aficionado.)

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017

Hubby and I spent a Friday and Saturday night at the Inn to get a way from daily distractions and tasks. No TV and limited internet was a great escape from constant demands for my attention. After a quick trip to Miller's Amish store so I could stock up on some vanilla peaches and other unique foods, we read, walked, and slept. For the first time in months, I had a chance to draw and did a sketch of the old barn near the lodge.

The meals at Murphin Ridge are worth the trip. Friday night I had Jerry's special broasted chicken. I had a choice of white meat, dark meat, or combination. I chose all dark. Four pieces of delicious, juicy chicken. Hubby had a hamburger made from filet mignon. Incredible. Sides included fresh bread from Miller's Amish bakery, roasted Brussells sprouts, and rice. For dessert Hubby had the Amaretto bread pudding. I had Graeter's black raspberry chocolate chip ice cream.

Saturday breakfast was chocolate chip muffin, Jerry's homemade smoked sausage, and a cheese and spinach pie with potatoes, coffee and juice. The wonderful breakfasts are included.

Saturday night dinner was our favorite - Jerry's smoked pork ribs. They are the meatiest, most delicious ribs I've ever had.

Sunday breakfast featured pancakes and bacon.

The best recommendation I can give is that we've been going to Murphin Ridge a couple of times a year. Sometimes friends join us. We've played dominoes on the dining room patio well into the night and enjoyed sitting around the fire pit with other guests. Other times we've just relaxed. This is the place to do it.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TriStateGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurphinRidgeInn, Manager at Murphin Ridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Thank you, it was a prefect weekend to relax and enjoy the peace and quit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

More Inn than B&B, the place has a lovely, quiet, farmland setting and good foot. I had wine, not sure about the beer and liquor. This is only important because it is a drive away from anything, and it folks up after dinner. OK to bring some of your own items if you want to hang out into the evening with a nite cap. Not a lot of people here, so great for groups and couples. Have a car available, doubt Uber is here!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Thank RLH1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Murphin Ridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphin Ridge Inn

Address: 750 Murphin Ridge Rd, West Union, OH 45693-9734
Region: United States > Ohio > West Union
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in West Union
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Murphin Ridge Hotel West Union

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing