We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and Informative”

A La Carte Food Tours
Ranked #4 of 20 things to do in Worthington
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Culinary tours in Columbus, OH, show you what makes Columbus' hopping food scene. You'll go into back-of-the-house operations, kitchens, farms, gardens, and workshops where you'll learn about foods, ingredients, and preparation through interactive experience, hands-on activities, and, of course, tasting! Visit bakeries, ice cream shops and dairies, ethnic markets, canneries, vegan food venues, and more.
Reviewed 7 December 2017

We had so much fun. We learned interesting facts and stories related to the Victorian Christmas and where traditions came from. I learned there are no Plumbs in Plumb Pudding, and it's DELICIOUS! We also had hands on time decorating a Gingerbread House

Thank Kas31361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila C, Owner at A La Carte Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

I'm glad you got to taste Plum Pudding. It is a rare treat here in the US

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cake"
in 2 reviews
"great job"
in 2 reviews
"clinic"
in 4 reviews
"chocolate"
in 5 reviews
"knowledge"
in 6 reviews
"chef"
in 3 reviews
"kitchen"
in 3 reviews
"ingredients"
in 3 reviews
"hands"
in 4 reviews
"informative"
in 2 reviews
"yum"
in 2 reviews
"yesterday"
in 2 reviews
"fun"
in 10 reviews
"dinner"
in 2 reviews
"variety"
in 3 reviews
"customers"
in 2 reviews
"event"
in 3 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2017

My two girlfriends and I took part in Choctoberfest in Worthington yesterday. To say it was a treat would be an understatement. Sheila was knowledgeable and interesting. We learned some history about chocolate and got to eat plenty of different food items that she made where chocolate was an ingredient. The cost was $30 per person and this was well worth the money considering the variety of food and experience we got. She even provided recipes and we were able to take home a meat rub. My friends and I left this experience very full and on a chocolate high. Well worth doing.

Thank Lesdonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila C, Owner at A La Carte Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Spread the word....come prepared to eat a full meal. Bring a container to take some treats home too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Who knew? Chocolate on a salad with chocolate vinaigrette??? Yum! A visit with Sheila is enlightening, fun, and very tasty! She is knowledgeable beyond anyone I know about food origins, thoughtfully attentive to special dietary restrictions and just plain fun to be around. I’ve learned so much from her! Although this review is titled Choctoberfest, I’ve also attended kitchen clinics focused on pie, cake, candy, soup and summer fruits ... and English tea! Visit with Sheila once and you’ll feel you have a friend for life.

Thank 879cathleens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila C, Owner at A La Carte Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Thanks for letting us know we are on the right track! It should always feel like a party!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

Al La Carte Food Tours is all about an in-depth experience of food and food-related themes that makes your mouth water and leaves your appetite more than satisfied-- you'll want to come back for more!! I'm a repeat customer having joined in special clinics on chocolate (who knew you could enjoy chocolate in an entree), pasta (I used the clinic's tasty recipes for a homemade pasta dinner the whole family literally had a hand in making), and high tea (my first experience with clotted cream--yum!) What really makes these events stand out is that Sheila gives a history about the topic, spices it up with opportunities to smell and taste unique ingredients, combines this with hands-on experiences where you have a chance to make something, and then serves a smorgasboard of chef-prepared dishes made just for the clinic. If you're a dietitian, there's an added bonus opportunity for CE credits too. Bring a friend or family member--the great food, fun experience, and knowledge you gain is definitely worth sharing.

Thank GoBucks8193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila C, Owner at A La Carte Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

I am delighted that you have enjoyed your experiences with A La Carte Food Tours Kitchen Clinics. You did a better job of describing Kitchen Clinics than I've managed up to this point. I hope to see you again very soon at another Kitchen Clinic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2017

Sheila is incredibly knowledgeable and does a GREAT job with her food tours! She goes the extra mile for all her guests to make sure they learn and have a good time too!

Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A La Carte Food Tours also viewed

 

Been to A La Carte Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing