We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cute”
Review of Jailhouse Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jailhouse Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2017

My husband and I just wanted to get away for a day trip to Yellow Springs and happened upon the Jailhouse Suites. The Loft was a spacious room, decorated very nicely and very clean. So close to uptown that we always walked to visit the shops or get a bite to eat. Great view from the upper level and lovely patio with interesting landscaping and birdhouses. I would highly recommend this property to anyone.

Room Tip: Says it can accommodate 3 adults but would be smarter to stick to 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, Owner at Jailhouse Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Thank you for taking time to post these kind remarks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2017

There were 10 of us traveling to the Yellow Springs area for a bowling tourney. Trying to find enough room for 3 couples to have their own space away from the rest of us girls is always a challenge. When I found the Jailhouse suites they sounded perfect for what we needed and boy were they. Very spacious, extremely well set up and stocked. The area was close to everything we were doing and the garden space as well as the back parking area gave us room to sit in the evenings without being crowded. Being seperate units worked perfect for us. Divided space but a couple minute walk from one set of suits to the other. Thank you Bob for sharing your space with the public. I would highly recommend them to anyone wanting to stay in the area. There are steps to 2 of them but 2 are on the ground floor. Loved our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, Owner at Jailhouse Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

Thank you for your kind remarks. Please consider us for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the Tower Suite; the rest of our group stayed in the accommodations around the corner. All were excellent. Tower Suite was immaculate with excellent kitchen facilities. Easy walk to downtown restaurants if you don't want to cook. The host is readily available by text, so it's easy to get your questions answered (e.g., "Where are the extra pillows?). Highly recommend.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lionel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

Once again during my visit to YS, stayed at Jailhouse Suites. Very short visit, but suites as usual were very clean and nicely decorated. Owner does as excellent job of keeping units clean and nicely decorated. Will definitely stay at Jailhouse Suites during my next visit later this summer.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Dorothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, Owner at Jailhouse Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

We stayed in the Tower Suite and rented the Master Suite for our parents. Both rooms exceeded expectations. Everything is clean and fresh. You can tell that someone has put a lot of thought into what a guest may need. From the premium coffee and tea supplies to the plush bathroom towels, you will find yourself relaxing in this cozy space.

The Tower Suite has a nice living space that was a great visiting space for the whole group of us.

If you are vising one of the many small colleges in the area, this is a perfect location with restaurants in walking distance. Cute town!

Do not hesitate to stay here, you won't be disapointed!

Room Tip: Be sure you can navigate stairs if you are staying in the Tower or Loft Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ann e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, Owner at Jailhouse Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yellow Springs
10.5 km away
Hearthstone Inn & Suites
Hearthstone Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Cedarville
296 reviews
0.4 km away
Mills Park Hotel
Mills Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Yellow Springs
79 reviews
0.4 km away
Arthur Morgan House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jailhouse Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jailhouse Suites

Address: 111 North Winter Street, Yellow Springs, OH 45387
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Yellow Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Yellow Springs
Price Range: $123 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jailhouse Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jailhouse Suites is available for short-term and over-night stays in Yellow Springs, Ohio. Each suite features a kitchen or mini-kitchen, private entrance, private bath, central air, Cable TV, DVD Player and WiFi. Just one "cell" block from downtown and everything Yellow Springs. This historic jailhouse was built in 1878 and in use as the town jail until 1929. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing