We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly good food”

Ted's Cafe Escondido- Lawton
Ranked #3 of 197 Restaurants in Lawton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: Serving friend and family a delicious meal in your home is deeply embedded in Mexican culture. With that in mind, Ted Curtis, our founder, set out to create a welcoming restaurant inspired by that experience. We are rooted in serving the best Mexican food, made from the freshest premium-quality ingredients, served with unsurpassed hospitality. Since the first Ted's Café Escondido restaurant opened in 1991, we have stayed true to these founding principles, without compromise. At Ted's, you are not just a customer, but our guest. We strive to make each of our guests feel welcome and special. We are passionate about continuing to prepare our fresh delicious food daily, by hand. We are dedicated to serving you with humility and heart. Our goal is to exceed your expectations on each and every visit!
Restaurant details
Description: Serving friend and family a delicious meal in your home is deeply embedded in Mexican culture. With that in mind, Ted Curtis, our founder, set out to create a welcoming restaurant inspired by that experience. We are rooted in serving the best Mexican food, made from the freshest premium-quality ingredients, served with unsurpassed hospitality. Since the first Ted's Café Escondido restaurant opened in 1991, we have stayed true to these founding principles, without compromise. At Ted's, you are not just a customer, but our guest. We strive to make each of our guests feel welcome and special. We are passionate about continuing to prepare our fresh delicious food daily, by hand. We are dedicated to serving you with humility and heart. Our goal is to exceed your expectations on each and every visit!
Reviewed 14 September 2017

The place was excellent! As soon as a table was empty it was immediately cleaned and floor swept. There was complimentary caeso, salsa, chops, both crispy and soft tortillas, and sopapillas. Our dinners were piping jot and fresh. The rice goos, the beans creamy and tasty, tmales, encliladas, everything excellent!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eileen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David F, Owner at Ted's Cafe Escondido- Lawton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

So glad you had a great meal! We appreciate you coming in and taking the time to leave a review about your experience. We're happy you enjoyed your food and the complimentary items, and we hope you'll be back our way again soon!

Until then,
Ted's Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2017

The Mexican food at home leaves a lot to be desired. Ted's was near are home so was an automatic choice as we're Mexican food fans. We both ordered combinations and enjoyed both. I'd have this place on my regular list as a solid Mexican choice

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wayne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David F, Owner at Ted's Cafe Escondido- Lawton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

So glad we could be a pleasant surprise! It's great to hear you enjoyed your meal, and we hope it won't be too long before you're back our way.

Looking forward to your next visit,
Ted's Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Our family gathered, all twenty-two of us, for dinner. We had two fantastic servers who kept the drinks flowing and the chips coming until dinners were served. All meals came hot, correct and punctual. I am not a fan of Mexican cuisine but dinner was delicious.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ronald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David F, Owner at Ted's Cafe Escondido- Lawton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

It was a pleasure having you all! We're so glad you enjoyed your meal and were impressed with the service. We always want you to have the best possible experience, so let us know if we can do anything else for you the next time around.

Hope to see you again,
Ted's Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Great food, and exceptional service! Our server, Olivia was amazing. We had the fish tacos, can absolutely recommend you try them. Fresh made salsas and flour tortillas that are to die for. Free dessert, not even kidding....delish!

Thank Lance N Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David F, Owner at Ted's Cafe Escondido- Lawton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

We're so glad you had an awesome time! We'll be sure to pass the compliment along to Olivia, and we'll be looking forward to your next visit!

Until then,
Ted's Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

the salsa chips and dip are good, they offer tortillas and a relish dish, also good, the entrees are a little over priced, and could be a little better selection, they do have some good alternative sides to rice and beans,.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank meltonthos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David F, Owner at Ted's Cafe Escondido- Lawton, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thanks for coming in for a meal with us! We're glad you enjoyed all the complimentary options. It's disappointing to hear you weren't as much of a fan of the rest of your meal, though. Hopefully, you found something great and enjoyed your overall experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again for an even better visit!

Until then,
Ted's Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ted's Cafe Escondido- Lawton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing