We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cold Springs Resort(Camp Sherman)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
37
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscan't wait to come backweddinghomaccommodationsproperty
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2017

This is one of those places that on one hand you want to rave about and on the other hand you want to not say anything so it stays a best kept secret. So I'll just leave my 5-star rating right there and you can book to see for yourself.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank shyne77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Upon seeing House on Metolius for the first time, we quickly canceled all the other appointments we had to see other venues. The property itself is unimaginably beautiful, with the stunning Metolius River running through it and Mt. Jefferson perfectly framed in the background. Being a person very nervous about planning a wedding, I could tell from first meeting that Penny was going to be easy to work with. Throughout the past year, she struck the perfect balance between being accommodating and giving us great tips about what tends to work best out there for weddings.

We rented out the Main House, Eleanor's cabin, and the Powerhouse for our family and wedding party to stay. The accommodations were wonderful and we were happy to have our closest friends and family on site.

We arrived on Thursday before our Saturday wedding and we were glad to have the extra day to enjoy the property and prep for the wedding. My mother fully utilized the industrial-sized kitchen while baking all the cakes for the wedding. My step-father officiated our ceremony and needed help printing some documents from his laptop that was breaking down. Penny took on his project wholeheartedly and helped him retrieve the documents and print them out over several hours time. Every project we worked on during the several days out there and every hiccup that came up, Mark and Penny helped troubleshoot and ensure that everything went smoothly.

The day of the wedding, we experienced high winds in the morning and unexpected rain and chilly temperatures in the evening. The staff at House on Metolius worked hard to make a smooth transition indoors after dinner and build a cozy fire. While I was disappointed about the weather, our guests were unfazed. We had a wonderful reception inside afterwards. Our guests have raved about the House on Metolius since the wedding, from the views on the property to the entire herd of cows that meandered over to attend the wedding (our favorite part!) :)

Mark, Penny, and the rest of the staff at House on Metolius are personable, easy-going, and genuine. I almost felt like I was working on a giant project with friends....very professional friends.

If I have any complaints, it's that our time at House on Metolius was too short and that we had to put together a wedding while we were there. We will definitely be back, with goals of relaxation, knowing that House on Metolius can most certainly deliver. There is also talk of a family reunion in the future. I imagine that House on Metolius is a place one cannot only visit once...

-Meredith and Luke

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mhalling10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016

OUR wedding and guests' stay was the best ever! Guests from across the country for an August weekend event under a full moon. If you have visited the majesty of House on Metolius you know it speaks for itself. While the house, grounds and lodging at House on Metolius are a great value (if price can be put on such uniqueness and beauty), our review focuses on the other half of the equation - the staff.

Like many couples planning a wedding we were feeling overwhelmed by the "Marriage Industrial Complex,” including the politely rigid, one size fits all, and at times “gougey” parameters offered by typical venues during the busy season. Then we found House on Metolius, and just knew...

Penny, Mark, and the rest of the HoM staff are accommodating, enthusiastic, and themselves a great value! They worked harder for us than we could have ever imagined both in preparation for and during our weekend. Nearly every guest commented on this and remains astonished many months and weddings later. The staff was also so organized and familiar with our caterers and vendors that we had no need for a separate coordinator. Their sincerity in our experience was so evident that they truly felt like family by the end. (Perhaps because they in fact treated each of us as family!)

Just as vows cannot adequately express the sentiment between those at the alter, neither can a three paragraph review capture all HoM offers. Simply said - We will be back, but not soon enough…

Jeff & Lindsay

Room Tip: lQuaint + Luxury = House on Metolius
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank therealm2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016

This past May my wife and I got married. Of the 20 different venues we looked at in four different states this was the only one where the second we walked on the property we knew it was perfect. House on Metolius is probably one of the most gorgeous get-aways in the world. With a big house on hill overlooking a little open valley with the Metolius River running through and only 5 other cabins around the property this truly is a magical location. Having our wedding here only made things that much better. The staff was amazing and helpful with everything the accommodations where wonderful. It's not easy to put into word how amazing it was. Words don't do it justice. You have to see it and experience it to believe it.

Room Tip: The best get-away on the Metolius possibly in the world.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keegan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2016

We had a 3 day corporate retreat at House on Metolius and it couldn't have been more perfect! The location was gorgeous, secluded, and intimate which was exactly what we needed. The staff was so gracious and extremely accommodating. We brought in a lot of external vendors to really make the experience unique. Eight of the guests stayed in the rooms of the Main House (each with its own bathroom and shower) and the remaining guests stayed in the cabins that weren't too far away. I can't say enough about this incredible venue - we hope to come back again soon!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank splutko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews