We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth”
Review of House on Metolius

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Camp Sherman
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
House on Metolius
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Camp Sherman
Reviewed 21 March 2017

Got that butterfly feeling walking out onto this property more than any other step of the wedding process... besides meeting my now husband of course. This place really is something special. It feels remote and far away from the rest of the world but is only a 30-minute drive from town. Both Mark and Penny were an absolute joy to work with - treating our entire families like extensions of their own, making sure everything was taken care of and made the process as carefree as possible when it comes to planning a wedding. The entire staff was wonderful, accommodations were exquisite, and views were out of this world. If you want a venue that guests won't be able to stop talking about, where you don't have to spend a single dollar on decorations because the natural beauty is the biggest distraction... House On Metolius is the spot! We can't wait to come back for many anniversaries to come!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any room on the property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2017

This is one of those places that on one hand you want to rave about and on the other hand you want to not say anything so it stays a best kept secret. So I'll just leave my 5-star rating right there and you can book to see for yourself.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Upon seeing House on Metolius for the first time, we quickly canceled all the other appointments we had to see other venues. The property itself is unimaginably beautiful, with the stunning Metolius River running through it and Mt. Jefferson perfectly framed in the background. Being a person very nervous about planning a wedding, I could tell from first meeting that Penny was going to be easy to work with. Throughout the past year, she struck the perfect balance between being accommodating and giving us great tips about what tends to work best out there for weddings.

We rented out the Main House, Eleanor's cabin, and the Powerhouse for our family and wedding party to stay. The accommodations were wonderful and we were happy to have our closest friends and family on site.

We arrived on Thursday before our Saturday wedding and we were glad to have the extra day to enjoy the property and prep for the wedding. My mother fully utilized the industrial-sized kitchen while baking all the cakes for the wedding. My step-father officiated our ceremony and needed help printing some documents from his laptop that was breaking down. Penny took on his project wholeheartedly and helped him retrieve the documents and print them out over several hours time. Every project we worked on during the several days out there and every hiccup that came up, Mark and Penny helped troubleshoot and ensure that everything went smoothly.

The day of the wedding, we experienced high winds in the morning and unexpected rain and chilly temperatures in the evening. The staff at House on Metolius worked hard to make a smooth transition indoors after dinner and build a cozy fire. While I was disappointed about the weather, our guests were unfazed. We had a wonderful reception inside afterwards. Our guests have raved about the House on Metolius since the wedding, from the views on the property to the entire herd of cows that meandered over to attend the wedding (our favorite part!) :)

Mark, Penny, and the rest of the staff at House on Metolius are personable, easy-going, and genuine. I almost felt like I was working on a giant project with friends....very professional friends.

If I have any complaints, it's that our time at House on Metolius was too short and that we had to put together a wedding while we were there. We will definitely be back, with goals of relaxation, knowing that House on Metolius can most certainly deliver. There is also talk of a family reunion in the future. I imagine that House on Metolius is a place one cannot only visit once...

-Meredith and Luke

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mhalling10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016

OUR wedding and guests' stay was the best ever! Guests from across the country for an August weekend event under a full moon. If you have visited the majesty of House on Metolius you know it speaks for itself. While the house, grounds and lodging at House on Metolius are a great value (if price can be put on such uniqueness and beauty), our review focuses on the other half of the equation - the staff.

Like many couples planning a wedding we were feeling overwhelmed by the "Marriage Industrial Complex,” including the politely rigid, one size fits all, and at times “gougey” parameters offered by typical venues during the busy season. Then we found House on Metolius, and just knew...

Penny, Mark, and the rest of the HoM staff are accommodating, enthusiastic, and themselves a great value! They worked harder for us than we could have ever imagined both in preparation for and during our weekend. Nearly every guest commented on this and remains astonished many months and weddings later. The staff was also so organized and familiar with our caterers and vendors that we had no need for a separate coordinator. Their sincerity in our experience was so evident that they truly felt like family by the end. (Perhaps because they in fact treated each of us as family!)

Just as vows cannot adequately express the sentiment between those at the alter, neither can a three paragraph review capture all HoM offers. Simply said - We will be back, but not soon enough…

Jeff & Lindsay

Room Tip: lQuaint + Luxury = House on Metolius
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank therealm2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016

This past May my wife and I got married. Of the 20 different venues we looked at in four different states this was the only one where the second we walked on the property we knew it was perfect. House on Metolius is probably one of the most gorgeous get-aways in the world. With a big house on hill overlooking a little open valley with the Metolius River running through and only 5 other cabins around the property this truly is a magical location. Having our wedding here only made things that much better. The staff was amazing and helpful with everything the accommodations where wonderful. It's not easy to put into word how amazing it was. Words don't do it justice. You have to see it and experience it to believe it.

Room Tip: The best get-away on the Metolius possibly in the world.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keegan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to House on Metolius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House on Metolius

Address: Road 980, Camp Sherman, OR 97730
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Camp Sherman
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Camp Sherman
Price Range: $174 - $2,702 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — House on Metolius 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House on Metolius, located in the heart of Central Oregon, has served as a private estate and retreat for over a hundred years. This beautiful two-hundred acre estate sits astride the Metolius River, with its magnificent view of Mt. Jefferson and Three Finger Jack.At House on Metolius, we focus on a small number of guests, and your family gathering, wedding reception or company planning session will have our full attention.Experience this private stretch of river with your family or share the experience with a group as a corporate retreat. Take in the crisp mountain air, relax and experience Central Oregon with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
House On The Metolius Hotel Camp Sherman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing