We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot!”
Review of The Waves

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Waves
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely spot!”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed at the flagship and LOVED it! The first 4 days we were on the second floor with a great balcony looking out onto the beach. Unfortunately we had to move to the main floor which was very nice but a bit noisier. All in all great spot. Nice kitchenette. We have already booked our summer vacation there again

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor. Much quieter and stunning panoramic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diesel1632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    900
    303
    44
    22
    16
See reviews for
385
667
70
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Waves in May of 2011 for our babymoon in one of the Southwind king studio rooms. The facility was clean, comfortable, and well situated right in town/next to the beach. Our son was born in July of 2011 and we finally decided it was time to get away for a mini holiday this month (March/2012). We knew we needed more space than we'd had in May so we booked a one bedroom suite at The White Heron Lodge (Victorian) on the second floor. From the moment we walked into the room, we knew we'd made the right choice. The suite is bright, airy, and has a knockout view of the water (it's situated right along the estuary and looks out over the beach). It has a little balcony, a kitchen, a gas fireplace, and a huge bathroom with a deep jacuzzi tub. The bed is comfortable and the furnishings are very nice (as opposed to some of the other places in Cannon Beach that look rather dated). Apparently there are laundry facilities right next door too and soap/change are both available over at The Waves office. I would recommend The White Heron Lodge Victorian highly to anyone, particularly couples with a baby looking for a little more space than a regular guest room would offer.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms offer a fabulous view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbtravelor, Owner at The Waves, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Thank you for returning to Cannon Beach and trying The Waves Cannon Beach's White Heron Lodge property. We find that families especially enjoy this property for the size and location. As your little one grows I hope you will continue to visit us, as a family, to enjoy the beach front lawn, the view, the ocean and enjoyment of this village. Hopefully we will see you soon - and remember we have all the sand toys available for your son's beach experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairview, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We began going to The Waves years ago. It has been a few years in between visits this past time, but it was just as we remembered it, except recently updated. NICE to find it has not gone downhill instead. We enjoy the quiet, sitting in our room watching the ocean. There is no sound except for the waves and the seagulls. There was only one thing we were disappointed about and that was they no longer use wood burning fireplaces, it is now gas. We missed having the wood delivered outside our door and the warm cozy crackle of the fire. But the gas one did provide atmosphere regardless of the authentic fire feel we missed.

Room Tip: we always ask for the beachfront room, top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solana Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2012

The Waves is a fine quality, family-owned & operated motel, right at the beach and a block from the pedestrian-friendly row of interesting shops and restaurants. Although it happened to be cloudy and occasionally drizzly the 3 days we were there, we were able to take relaxing walks on the beach, just across the street, and find some good restaurants nearby. Our room was a welcoming and comfortable respite after 6 days of one-night stays. We enjoyed the cozy and tasteful Craftsman Style furnishings. Would stay there again if ever in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms in 'The Gardens' do not have ocean views, but enjoy the same proximity to beach and pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Wa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Because the weather was so nice, we decided on a last minute road trip. We arrived in Cannon Beach and stayed at The Waves in a King-studio room from Jan 10-12th. The room was terrific. Beautiful views of the ocean, a fireplace, comfy overstuffed chair and a kitchenette. The king size bed was very comfortable - I actually slept through the night without the tossing and turning I usually do!

The location is very close to the beach for long walks and a very short walk to downtown. Because it is winter, a lot of restaurants and shops were closed, but the beach and Ecola Park nearby let us fill our days nicely. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Good job!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meeshamator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
2.5 km away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,506 reviews
2.8 km away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,561 reviews
3.0 km away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,685 reviews
0.6 km away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cannon Beach
224 reviews
0.1 km away
Land's End at Cannon Beach
Land's End at Cannon Beach
#11 of 14 in Cannon Beach
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waves

Property: The Waves
Address: 188 W 2nd Ave, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-2005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price range (per night): $185 - $540
Hotel Class:2 star — The Waves 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waves is a unique Ocean Front property in the village center of Cannon Beach. Eight different buildings and five classic cottages offer lodging options from romantic studios to large family suites. Most rooms have kitchens, fireplaces, private decks and are either Ocean Front or Ocean View with a few non-view options. Locally owned and family operated for 30 years, The Waves, has accommodations to meet every budget with an unbeatable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Waves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waves Hotel Cannon Beach
Waves Hotel Cannon Beach
Waves Motel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing