We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem”
Review of The Waves

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Waves
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2017

This was our third stay at The Waves. Love this place for location with full view of the beach and location downtown - extremely convenient. Over the years, we have stayed at many places, but this is my absolute favourite. Other points: small kitchen, gas fireplace, smart tv with dvd, wifi, direct access to beach.

Room Tip: Rooms 405 and 406 are good for accessible needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Owner at The Waves, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

TravellingFriends,

Thank you for staying at our little locally owned and 3rd generation family run property once again. I appreciate the feedback and hope to see you on a 4th visit in the near future.

Regards,

Greg Swedenborg
Owner, The Waves Cannon Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 121 of 1,471 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2017

Quiet clean very friendly staff great place to walk around the town or enjoy the beach. Short walk to haystack rock. Will go back. town had plenty of shops and places to eat room offered coffee refrigerator and microwave

Room Tip: we were in a garden room very quiet easy walk to town and to beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S, Owner at The Waves, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Sheryl,

Thank you for staying with us and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback the future guests.

Regards,

Greg Swedenborg
Owner, The Waves Cannon Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

The hotel is made up of several sections; stayed the Waves, room 401. It has a very partial view of the ocean. The room was clean, reasonably appointed. The internet worked well throughout the property. The beach access is about 500 feet away from this room.

Room Tip: Try to get a Waves room with a direct ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kaylaartt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We recently lucked out and got a last minute room in their White Heron location. Location was very close to town and the beach although you do have to wade across the creek which can be bothersome. The room was good sized for two people and the kitchen had far more supplies than we had anticipated. We enjoyed being on the second floor for the view although it had a very small balcony and no direct access to the beach. They could have done a few small things to make the stay more cozy and special but we made do on our own and had a great time. Overall the unit was very nice and we would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MandH_Adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

We met our parents here for a week on the beach. For most of the trip we were in separate units. The property itself is clean, has parking and easy access to the beach. It was also noisy early in the morning with people parking or walking by, trash pickup, work on the units.

Unit 103: My parents stayed here with our daughter. Its a simple king room with bathroom. There was a small bed in the bay window area.No frills room. However, there were skylights and windows high up that let in alot of heat. The bay windows opened, without screens so it was easy for a little one to fall out. No air flow in this room made it hot. No views from this room. Also, we had one night where my toddler accidentally wet the bed. We notified housekeeping and they said they would clean it up and provide new linens. We went up to Seaside for the day. When we returned, the neighbors told us that housekeeping had left the door open all day. They also did not provide clean linens.

Unit 200 (Sea Spray): This was a small studio with barn style ceilings. From the outside it looked tiny, but it was surprisingly roomy inside. When we got in to our room it was all closed up so it was hot and it smelled like urine. I thought it might be the cleaning supplies they use, but our parents room did not smell. Nor did the larger unit we tried. I ended up keeping the windows open the entire time and buying an air freshener. The bed in this room was really comfortable. But with the windows open, we got a lot of noise. It is also above the laundry room and the dryer vents are below the front deck (hot). The room is outdated but was clean (other than the smell).

On the last night of our trip, we upgraded to one of the 2bdrm beach-side townhouse units (416A/B). There was a clear difference in the maintenance and furnishings between the two types of units. While there were areas that needed repainting, the unit itself was equipped with everything we needed, was spacious and we loved the jetted tub and back area with grass.

The staff were friendly. They had video rentals in the office. The place is right above the beach and a 1/2 block walk to the main shopping/dining area. The breeze was wonderful. However, the price for the units was a bit high for what you get. Yes, its on the beach and close to town, but for the price, I expected more TLC in the units themselves. I do wish they allowed dogs. There was a dog staying in the unit next to us, but they claimed it was a "therapy dog".

If I stayed here again, I would choose one of the beach-side townhomes for the upgraded living. While sea spray was a cute little studio, it was out-dated, smelly and the shower was short (about 5'), it would be a great unit for a couple.

Room Tip: Unit 416A/B was wonderful. Beach side is the way to go. Avoid units that face the street if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kim U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
3 km away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,327 reviews
2.5 km away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,681 reviews
2.8 km away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#11 of 15 in Cannon Beach
253 reviews
0.5 km away
Inn at Haystack Rock
Inn at Haystack Rock
#10 of 15 in Cannon Beach
205 reviews
2.4 km away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waves

Address: 188 W 2nd Street, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-2005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range: $153 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Waves 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waves is a unique Ocean Front property in the village center of Cannon Beach. Eight different buildings and five classic cottages offer lodging options from romantic studios to large family suites. Most rooms have kitchens, fireplaces, private decks and are either Ocean Front or Ocean View with a few non-view options. Locally owned and family operated for 30 years, The Waves, has accommodations to meet every budget with an unbeatable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Waves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waves Hotel Cannon Beach
Waves Hotel Cannon Beach
Waves Motel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing