We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Waves(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$257/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Blue Gull Inn(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Haystack Rock(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
US$304
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cannon Beach Hotel(Cannon Beach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ecola Creek Lodge(Cannon Beach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Courtyard(Cannon Beach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grey Whale Inn(Cannon Beach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
GuestHouse Inn(Cannon Beach)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
1
9
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1
9
2
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I decided at the last minute to take a trip to Cannon Beach on Labor Day, I was worried that I wouldn't find a room but I call the Sand Trap Inn and was lucky to find 2 room available I asked the representative what room she would pick and she recommended room 6. It was perfect, it is small but was well laid out. It is upstairs so you don't have to listen to people over your head in the morning. You can hear the people in the front unit but it isn't bad. It is on the back side of the units so it is nice and quiet. It has a small fridge and microwave and much to my surprise it had a basket with glasses, silver wear and bowls that we used for cereal in the morning. I do miss the muffins in the office I guess when they changed the name from Haystack to Costal Lodging they made some other changes. The name change is a bit confusing because the web site is Costal Lodging but everything else still says Haystack lodging. The room was close to the beach so we just had to walk across the street and down the block and we were on the sand. The location is also good for walking into town and if you walk the other direction you are near the glass blowing shop and a really fun hardware store that serves drinks and food. It was a nice place to spend a 3 day weekend. We had fun watching old movies that we got for free every night.

Room Tip: Call and ask for the best room they have available for the time you are there, ask "what room would you stay in and why"?
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lptsoccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

The rate is inexpensive considering its location- walking distance to downtown and to the beach. We stayed in a one bedroom suite. The bedroom is spacious but right above is the second floor's bathroom and you can literally hear them, flushing the toilet and all that specially at night! The kitchen has updated appliances. Flat screen tv in the bedroom and in the livingroom. It has a queen size pull out sofa bed. The bed is very comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ela p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

The Sand Trip Inn has two buildings, north and south, that are a couple of blocks apart. The south building #5 is a one bedroom front main floor unit with large windows, and a parking spot. New appliances in the full kitchen. LCD TV and DVD... they have a few movies in the office half a block north that you can borrow.

The unit is a good size. The old table looks out of place and should be updated as well. The carpet had a few stains and with the beach a block away there will be sand tracked in so a carpet-free path to the bathroom located furthest from the entry door would be beneficial.

Internet and TV worked fine... there is even a tiny TV mounted in the bedroom. The electric fireplace is great as heat is frequently needed in this often damp and chilly part of the world.

There is a little BBQ out front though hanging out next to the highway wouldn't be my first choice... which also means there is some road noise, and as another reviewer mentioned you can really hear your neighbors banging about... some people certainly lack grace and manners... occasionally sounded like a rhino was upstairs. Sound proofing obviously wasn't in the budget here though it's not one of those places you can hear people whispering next door... do rhinos whisper though? :P At $99 a night they could be charging more considering you can pay over $200 to be that block closer to the ocean.

You can walk everywhere in little Cannon Beach quite easily though I do wonder why the vast majority of the restaurants are downtown with all the shops while most of the lodging is stuck off alone in "Midtown". Food next to people would seem logical but maybe that's just me lol.

Get out to Haystock Rock on lovely Cannon Beach for some low tide tidepooling and go to Ecola State Park just north of town as well. Check out the shops and galleries too.

All and all a nice little place. Service was fine if a little rough around the edges, but it usually is in small towns... and the not overly friendly pacific northwest in general.

Room Tip: A number of different style rooms are available so ask to see a couple that may match your needs. As noted hope to get one without a neighbor. Keep in mind Haystack Lodging runs several small lodging units so something is usually available.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wanderer05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

We have been visiting Cannon Beach for 10years.We have checked out other places,but always stay at Sandtrap Inn.
Close walk to downtown,one block from the beach.Rooms have all the amenities we could need.Like our second home.
The folks in the office were very friendly.Can't wait to get back to the beach!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pgaddis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

We came down to spend Canadian Thanksgiving on the North Oregon Coast and found Unit 2 Townhouse at the Sandtrap to be just fine for our three night stay. The Fall special deals are very good, the location fine and the unit clean and comfortable. We would have appreciated a kettle in the kitchen but a minor niggle.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidMJKelownaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews