We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stop!”
Review of Sea Lion Caves

Sea Lion Caves
Ranked #10 of 43 things to do in Florence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Considered the largest sea cave in the United States, this site is where Steller sea lions and their cubs take shelter each year. Sea Lion Caves is a privately owned wildlife preserve and bird sanctuary. The Caves has been in operation since 1932 preserving and protecting the wildlife under our care. We are open 363 days a year only closed on Christmas and Thanksgiving day. Our normal hours of operation are 9 am until dusk year round. We are not a zoo and the animals are free to come and go as they please. The sea lions can usually be found at either of four locations on the property; in the Cave, in the water, at the Lookout/rockery, and on other nearby rock ledges. HOWEVER, THE SEA LIONS ARE NOT ALWAYS IN THE CAVE OR MAY BE MIGRATING OUT OF AREA - THEY ARE WILD ANIMALS AND COME AND GO AS THE PLEASE. CALL AHEAD FOR INFORMATION. Self-guided are the rule, but guided tours are available.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 4 December 2017

We agreed that we actually prefer seeing the sea lions from the cliff sides (which is easily done all up and down the coast), but this is worth the stop for the great gift shop and cliff side views. Free fudge tasting with a variety of excellent fudge, which we purchased for later. We also bought some Triple Berry Wine that we liked a lot. Postcards, books, tee shirts, pretty decorative pieces, toys, etc. Nice place to stretch your legs while driving the coast with lots of free parking.

Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"gift shop"
in 154 reviews
"elevator ride"
in 49 reviews
"fudge"
in 37 reviews
"viewing area"
in 65 reviews
"their natural habitat"
in 34 reviews
"sea lion cave"
in 49 reviews
"observation deck"
in 16 reviews
"the cliff"
in 47 reviews
"oregon coast"
in 99 reviews
"bring binoculars"
in 17 reviews
"fun stop"
in 15 reviews
"nice stop"
in 16 reviews
"unique experience"
in 16 reviews
"heceta head lighthouse"
in 40 reviews
"parking lot"
in 27 reviews
"light house"
in 16 reviews
"smell"
in 196 reviews
Filter

147 - 151 of 1,436 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

This was one of the highlights of our Oregon trip. Don’t miss this when you drive the Oregon coast. Very interesting.

Thank HappyEater923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William C, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Lion Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Thank you for visiting Sea Lion Caves and writing about your experience.

We are so happy that we were one of the highlights of your Oregon trip! Nothing makes our day like hearing from happy customers.

Sea Lion Caves. We’re nothing short of wild!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

My wife and I like to see local wildlife and preserves.

It was awesome to be able to see the sea lions in their natural habitat without disturbing them.

Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William C, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Lion Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

Thank you for visiting Sea Lion Caves and taking time to write about your visit!

We are so happy you enjoyed your visit. Nothing makes us happier than hearing from happy customers! We think it is a pretty special place too.

Sea Lion Caves. We’re nothing short of wild!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

I can only say.....once in a lifetime experience....because it has the most horrid smell down there I've ever smelled.

Thank Goldwing89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William C, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Lion Caves, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

Thank you for visiting Sea Lion Caves.

Because Sea Lion Caves is an all natural wildlife preserve and marine sanctuary, everything is real. All of the sights, sounds and smells are real. We are not a zoo, and none of the animals are held in captivity or against their will. This is where they choose to live. The animals come and go as they please.

Our visitors get to see behind the scenes and see what life is like for these marine animals in real time. Every guest at Sea Lion Caves has a different experience. We think that makes Sea Lion Caves a pretty special place.

Sea Lion Caves. We’re nothing short of wild!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2017

Another roadside attraction. If you have been to the corn palace and mammoth caves you must add sea lion caves to your checklist. Be there sea lion, there were for us, loud and smelly, or not, the caves are fascinating. Gift shop and all the ubiquitous tourist trap accompliments, this is the real deal check list place. Enjoy it as you venture along Highway 1.

Thank Cavydad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sea Lion Caves also viewed

Florence, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Sea Lion Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing