We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, as always”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn At Spanish Head
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Lincoln City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We rented a single room and a one bedroom suite next to each other so we had two full bedrooms and a shared living/kitchen---all ocean front. Just beautiful. I will post some pictures of our unit--but, we have heard all the rooms are decorated/look different. Peaceful, quiet, a great place to catch up with visiting family.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OregonFlorist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

306 - 310 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2011

First, let's establish a reference point. If you have never been to the Lincoln City, Depoe Bay area of Oregon, you should know that there are no Hiltons, Marriotts, Sheratons, etc.; at least none that I noticed. The only "brand name" property I saw was Best Western. With that said, you may decide that the Inn at Spanish Head is worth taking a chance. First - let's talk about the good. For views - you WILL NOT find a better place to stay. The resort is RIGHT ON THE BEACH and every room is ocean side. From what I could tell, NO ROOM has a better view over another as the scenery from every vantage was clearly breathtaking. Second, the staff of this full service hotel was very accommodating. Additionally - as one would expect with full service - bell and valet service was available, and my guess is that is fairly unusual in the greater Lincoln City metropolitan area. Also, there was a restaurant offering three meals a day and room service. (While I did not take advantage of Fathoms restaurant, the local residents I worked with in the area all said it was one of the best Lincoln City has to offer – even if a little pricey.) Regarding my room; there was no question that mine was recently renovated. I stayed in a studio (although bigger rooms and suites were available). It offered a galley style kitchen with a new full size stove top, microwave, dishwasher, and ¾ size fridge. It appeared that the microwave doubled as conventional oven, but I didn't try it and can't comment on how well it worked. The countertops were granite. The bath featured modern new tiles that were darker earth tones and the shower had dual heads. While I didn’t look at the mattress, it slept like a new pillow top. There was a large entertainment center with a flat screen TV and a comfortable full size couch and chair. New fixtures and carpet rounded out the room, making the accommodations very acceptable overall. And now for the not so good. Each guest room in this hotel is privately owned; so each is furnished and decorated by the owner. Therefore, you have NO IDEA what level of quality your room will be until you see it. I spoke with the front desk about a return visit and they were pretty honest – stating that the quality of all rooms were good (towing the company line as they should), but not necessarily on par with the room I had. Also, the public areas and exterior of the hotel tells a tale of time. Countless coats of paint in the public areas have finally dulled the crisp edges of millwork and other surfaces. The hallway carpets seem reasonably new, but the sea-foam color that was chosen is reminiscent of the time when the building was constructed and – to me – actually highlights the age of the structure instead of masking it. True to the hotel’s name, the exterior architecture style is Spanish stucco and – like the hallways – takes me back a couple of decades (remember the album jacket for the Eagles Hotel California?) Truly odd is the hotel’s parking – which is located on the other side of the highway. Now normally this would put me off. However, since the thought of a parking lot anywhere near the absolutely picturesque beach makes me cringe and since there is a tunnel providing access to the other side without having the cross the road, it was fine. The walk really doesn’t take long and don’t forget – free valet parking (free = no fee, but plan on a tip) is available. So – should you stay at the inn? Sure – why not. Give it a shot. My sense is that nothing else in town is going to be much better. All rooms look the same in the dark and during the day? Well, you better be on that beach………..

Room Tip: The hotel assigns your room number at the time of booking - so ask specific questions about the deco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dubyac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

The good: Every room has a great unobstructed view of the ocean.

The bad: Parking lot is very far away and the walls are paper thin. No in-room safe.

We checked in quickly and the desk staff were very pleasant. We got to our room and were pleasantly surprised by the great ocean view and well-appointed room. The hotel is older, but looks like it had a recent facelift. There was nice tile throughout and a well stocked kitchenette. There was the odd bit of peeling paint on the cabinets, but it was a decent room. Our deck was practically on the beach and the fresh ocean breeze filled the room. We went down to the first floor and walked straight out onto the beach to play with the kids.

We started to have problems in the evening. The toilet kept running and we had to open it up then jiggle the mechanism to stop it. The rooms on either side of us had adjoining doors and we could hear every noise they made.... and they were extremely noisy. We were surrounded by drunk teens that yelled and partied well into the night. We have 2 young children that were trying to sleep while the drunks yelled and fought. When we called the front desk they sent security down promptly, but it was already 0100 AM.

Overall this seems like it would be a nice place to stay, but it's unlikely we'll come back. There were drunk kids partying in the rooms and scruffy looking men walking around the hotel and grounds with huge bottles of beer. I'm not opposed to people drinking, but our floor seemed like a party zone and our family was stuck in the middle. I wouldn't describe this hotel as family friendly. Stay here if you want to party on the beach and not get a decent night sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warrenonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Absolutely wonderful hotel. Amazing views from all rooms. We enjoyed relaxing on our balcony.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UsFromSaltLakeCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Wow
Its better in person - go there for 3 days and forget.
Room 621 is perfect

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrHibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
5.7 km away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#8 of 35 in Lincoln City
828 reviews
4.6 km away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,784 reviews
3.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lincoln Sands Oceanfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
Best Western Plus Landmark Inn
#10 of 35 in Lincoln City
731 reviews
5.8 km away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,083 reviews
3.6 km away
Shearwater Inn
Shearwater Inn
#3 of 35 in Lincoln City
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn At Spanish Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn At Spanish Head

Address: 4009 SW Highway 101, Lincoln City, OR 97367-1547
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lincoln City
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lincoln City
#12 Family Hotel in Lincoln City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
Price Range: $342 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn At Spanish Head, Lincoln City, is Oregon's only resort hotel built right on the beach. All guest and meeting rooms are oceanfront with floor-to-ceiling windows for spectacular views. Our 10th floor oceanfront restaurant is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner and a seasonal Sunday champagne brunch. Room service is also available. While visiting, enjoy our outdoor heated pool, indoor Jacuzzi spa and recreation room. There is easy access to miles of Oregon's beautiful, public beaches and fascinating tide pools are close by. We are located on the central Oregon coast where you will find a world-class aquarium, numerous golf course, hiking, deep-sea fishing, whale watching, birding, galleries, museums, shopping, surfing, live theatre and many more attractions and activities. Come stay in the middle of it all at the Inn At Spanish Head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Inn At Spanish Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Spanish Head Hotel Lincoln City
Hotel At Spanish Head
The Inn At Spanish Head
Spanish Head Inn
At Spanish Head Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing