We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor for a Comfort Inn. Fridge noise woke us both up.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Newport
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We checked in and the clerk was friendly and tried to steer us to a more expensive unit. We should have listened. We stayed here on 9/17 in room 313 and found the room rather average but certainly OK for a one night stay as we travelled up the OR coast on vacation. We needed some ice right off the bat and the sign indicated an ice machine on the 3rd floor. The machine was gone so down to the 2nd floor. No big deal but an indication of what was to come. At 02:30 in the morning the fridge went into 'defrost' mode. It woke us both up. The noise was very irritating and we were forced to unplug the unit. The thick dust back there was enough to make you gag. YUCK! Obviously this room hasn't been properly cleaned for an extended time period. After washing up, we went back to sleep and reported it to the front desk clerks at check-out. The response from one of the clerks?? "I hate when that happens when I stay in motels." Gee, thanks. Avoid this room as we doubt anything was done about the fridge noise with a response like that. If a light sleeper, you are in trouble. We can not recommend this Comfort Inn and we will not be back even if the noise was corrected. It is 'average' at best. Hard to believe we belong to this chain as club members. Unfortunate.

Room Tip: Avoid room 313 unless fridge noise corrected. Rooms just average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hooked_on_travel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 289 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2011

There was really nothing out of the ordinary about this Comfort Inn. The room was pleasantly appointed and clean. What was outstanding about this location was the staff, especially a young woman whose name is Melissa and the young woman working with her on the night we stayed. These young women were pleasant, funny, efficient, thorough and in our opinion a major asset to this Comfort Inn. Kudos to them both and to their boss! Carl & Valerie Bridges

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vlbridges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortinn1, General Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2011

Thank you for your wonderful remarks about our Guest Service Agents, We all realize that without our guests we wouldnt have a job. The way that our guests view our hotel means everything to us and your opinion is very important. I have passed your compliments on to the front desk and we all thank you for staying at the Comfort Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This is a nice, clean and comfortable hotel. The staff and manager are very helpful. There is no air conditioning in rooms, I used the small fan which helped. Breakfast was cereal, waffles, sausage, eggs and different pastries. We stayed two nights here and enjoyed exploring Newport.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texasgran2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortinn1, General Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2011

Thank you for your recent comments about the Comfort Inn (Newport). we appreciate the fact that you took the time to let others know of your experience. We are very sorry that we do not offer air conditioning in our rooms, it is something we are working on getting the owners to do.
We are glad that you enjoyed Newport and hope that you will stay with us again.
Sincerely
Chuck Cummings
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

My wife & I (over 55) found this hotel to be clean & comfortable. The room was great & we obtained a great rate. The pl.us was that it is very close (3 minute walk)to the Newport beach which is a spectacular beach. Staff were friendly & courteous. The breakfast was as good as any hotel we have stayed in. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyler82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortinn1, General Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2011

Thank you for your recent comments about the Comfort Inn Newport. We are always glad to hear our guests view of our hotel and your opinion is very important to us. I have shown your review to our guest service agents and they were thrilled to read your comments. Please do come back and visit with us the next time you are in Newport, we would love to see you.
Sincerely
Chuck Cummings
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Great location and friendly staff but the rooms left something to be desired. And while it's a non-smoking facility, people just sit outside under your windows and smoke! When I spoke to manager, he said, "I wish there was something I could do", so there was no offer of compensation of any kind. That was a bit disappointing. Probably wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: If you're going to stay there, stay on the top floor so the smokers can't get to you. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RRD11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortinn1, General Manager at Comfort Inn Newport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2011

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our Comfort Inn, We always welcome the suggestions from our guests and because of yours we have moved the smokers urns away from the building to encourage those who want to smoke to stay at least 20 feet from any public entrance or guest room window. I am sorry I was unable to refund your stay and hope that you will consider using the Comfort Inn in the future.
Sincerely
Chuck Cummings
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
2.9 km away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
2.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
0.2 km away
Elizabeth Oceanfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
1 km away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
897 reviews
2.1 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Newport

Address: 531 SW Fall St, Newport, OR 97365-5030
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Price Range: $104 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Newport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Newport Hotel Newport
Newport Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing