We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn Newport(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$108
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
La Quinta
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$300
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$195
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$140
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moolack Shores Inn(Newport)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$151
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Starfish Point Condos(Newport)
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (446)
Filter reviews
446 results
Traveller rating
207
174
51
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
207
174
51
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthird floorfree popcorngreat viewcontinental breakfastnye beachbagelspaved pathocean viewroom was cleanbeach accessoregon coastnice balconyheated poolthe north endshort walkdouble queen roommini fridge
Filter
Updating list...
249 - 254 of 446 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2012

All rooms are ocean view and Nye Beach is just a short walk away. The rooms are very pleasant and roomy and my friend said the pull out sofa was very comfortable. We extended our stay by 1 day--twice--with no problem. My only complaint is that the pillows were very thin. All in all a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconys and an ocean view. There is a washer & dryer available. There are pet friendly rooms
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

The Whaler was everything I could have wished for. Our room on the third floor had a wonderful panoramic view of the ocean from our balcony - and the sound of the waves lulled me to sleep each night. The hotel staff were extremely friendly, providing us with suggestions for restaurants within walking distance from the hotel. The room was clean and well maintained, included a microwave and mini refrigerator to store and reheat out leftover food. The breakfast item choices were good quality and taking them up to the room where we sat on the balcony and ate was a relaxing way to begin each day. We plan to return to the Whaler in the future for future coast getaways.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have a great view of the ocean from the balcony!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

They have everything you need for a coastal getaway and walking distance to Nye beach food & fun. Bed was clean & comfortable. Hotel staff were very accommodating and friendly. We booked two adjacent rooms, as our folks were joining us and check-in was a breeze. We will make The Whaler our first choice for future visits to the Newport Beach area.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room for best ocean front view - new elevator makes luggage transport a breeze! Thank you Whaler - makes a huge difference!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cyndi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Am just about to pack up and leave this gem of a Motel having been for a swim in the pool, a dip in the hot tub and enjoyed a good quality help-yourself Motel-style breakfast.

If that wasn't enough, yesterday afternoon we were on the small deck of our 2nd floor room (1st floor if you're from the UK) basking in the sunshine and watching whales a short way out to sea.

The rooms are large and clean, I'd guess updated in the last couple of years, and the Motel is a short walk from the Nye Beach area.

A great experience and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pay the small premium for a 2nd or 3rd floor room to get a better view of the Ocean
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelJudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

The Whaler is ideally located in a quiet neighborhood, on top of a bluff with a direct view of the Pacific ocean. Across the street is a paved path to a long beach. From The Whaler it is a short stroll to the Nye Beach neighborhood for shopping and dining.

Rooms are simple but quiet and clean. Every room has a small balcony and a great view. People are friendly.

The continental breakfast is no great shakes - basically bagels, muffins, and cereal. No microwave in the rooms, either, although the rooms do have small refrigerators.

We go back every year for a few days. It is a quiet, lovely place to unwind.

Room Tip: They all have great ocean views
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel50S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews