We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Whale of a View”
Review of The Whaler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Whaler
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My sister and I got away to the Oregon Coast for a few days staying at The Whaler while we explored the area around Newport. We were very pleased with the accommodations. It was nothing fancy -- just quiet, clean and comfortable which kept the price quite reasonable. We were on the bottom floor and had a wonderful view of the ocean. From our small private deck we were not only able to see the Yaquina Head lighthouse in the distance, but were treated to a view of the gray whales passing by on their way north. The Whaler doesn't have a breakfast room but does have a complimentary breakfast you can take back to your room. There were not a lot of choices, but we were satisfied. They also have hot drinks and hot popcorn ready all day until 10pm.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 233 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2012

All rooms are ocean view and Nye Beach is just a short walk away. The rooms are very pleasant and roomy and my friend said the pull out sofa was very comfortable. We extended our stay by 1 day--twice--with no problem. My only complaint is that the pillows were very thin. All in all a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconys and an ocean view. There is a washer & dryer available. There are pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

The Whaler was everything I could have wished for. Our room on the third floor had a wonderful panoramic view of the ocean from our balcony - and the sound of the waves lulled me to sleep each night. The hotel staff were extremely friendly, providing us with suggestions for restaurants within walking distance from the hotel. The room was clean and well maintained, included a microwave and mini refrigerator to store and reheat out leftover food. The breakfast item choices were good quality and taking them up to the room where we sat on the balcony and ate was a relaxing way to begin each day. We plan to return to the Whaler in the future for future coast getaways.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have a great view of the ocean from the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

They have everything you need for a coastal getaway and walking distance to Nye beach food & fun. Bed was clean & comfortable. Hotel staff were very accommodating and friendly. We booked two adjacent rooms, as our folks were joining us and check-in was a breeze. We will make The Whaler our first choice for future visits to the Newport Beach area.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room for best ocean front view - new elevator makes luggage transport a breez...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cyndi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Am just about to pack up and leave this gem of a Motel having been for a swim in the pool, a dip in the hot tub and enjoyed a good quality help-yourself Motel-style breakfast.

If that wasn't enough, yesterday afternoon we were on the small deck of our 2nd floor room (1st floor if you're from the UK) basking in the sunshine and watching whales a short way out to sea.

The rooms are large and clean, I'd guess updated in the last couple of years, and the Motel is a short walk from the Nye Beach area.

A great experience and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pay the small premium for a 2nd or 3rd floor room to get a better view of the Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelJudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 km away
Elizabeth Oceanfront Suites
0.7 km away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
923 reviews
2.6 km away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
0.6 km away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
2,017 reviews
0.8 km away
Waves of Newport
Waves of Newport
#16 of 24 in Newport
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whaler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whaler

Address: 155 SW Elizabeth St, Newport, OR 97365-3943
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#8 Family Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $128 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whaler offers 73 quiet,spacious, hotel rooms,each with private balcony overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Beautiful heated indoor pool & spa and exercise facility. Easy beach access to one of the most scenic beaches on the Oregon coast. The Whaler is adjacent to the Newport Performing Arts Center, and only a short distance away from Yaquina Bay, the historic Newport bayfront, a variety of restaurants, unique shopping and the Oregon Coast Aquarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Whaler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler Hotel Newport
Whaler Hotel Newport
Whaler Motel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing